Solar Options

I have just returned from an amazing 12000km trip on the Canning & Gunbarrel with mates! Awesome. Now back to less adventuous trips with the wife but determined to do some free camping to christen the bush oven!! I am fairly new to this so in need of advice. Given that I can run heaters and fridges on gas, what is the best solar setup for the rest? I am thinking of having portable panels that can be directed to sun so: are some brands better than others, do I just wire it up so I plug it into the van's connection, how big should I go (150?), and should I get fixed of flexible? Very subjective questions, but I need to start somewhere. Opinions?
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 15:45

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 15:45
Andy,

How long is a piece of string? :-)

Before we can help we need to know a bit about your setup and your power needs.

What 12V appliances will you be using, how many amps or watts do they draw, and how long will you use them each day?
You have a gas fridge, so that's a biggie out of the way.
What about things like an inverter for charging camera batteries, phone, laptop?
Camp lights?
Do you have a van or camper? How long will you be running the internal lights each day?
etc.
How big (in amp-hours) is the van or camper battery?

My first guess is that with a gas fridge your 12V power needs are going to be pretty modest, so you may only need a smallish portable system, but it depends on how you use your gear. Give us a few details and we'll take it from there.

Cheers

FrankP

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 515322

Follow Up By: Member - Chris_K - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 16:35

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 16:35
Andy