v8 landcruiser ute wheel track

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 19:36
ThreadID: 103449 Views:15144 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
Does anyone know of any legal solutions the wheel track issues with the new utes , other than different off set in front and rear wheels?

Also....does this problem exist with the VDJ76 series too?

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 19:58

Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 19:58
What is the issues? Those that own them have no problem with it and does not effect performance on or offroad.
Spacers are illegal, if you run different offset rims you can't rotate tyres and will need to carry extra spares. I have heard of people replacing the rear axle with I think it is a 80 series? To adjust the wheel track.
AnswerID: 515504

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 20:06

Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 20:06
The issue is the front and rear wheels have a different track........I have read on other forums that in sand, it is like dragging a big bucket and increases fuel consumption? Makes sense too.
Those who said they have fitted spaces reckon it makes a noticeable difference, its illegal though. And yes, rotation would be a problem,that's why I have asked the question.
FollowupID: 794787

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 20:16

Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 20:16
Hairy I have one and whilst have have not done any beach driving yet I have driven in the Simpson Desert and I could not tell the difference.
Have a look over on LCOOL, one of the guys there just towed a trailer down the Hay river track and out to Birdsville and was wrapped with its performance
A couple of guys over there have toyed with widening the track but for all the others it is not even discussed as it is not a problem.
FollowupID: 794788

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 20:22

Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 20:22
I sure it wouldn't be a series problem and they would still be a very capable 4wd, but I think you would have to try it to know the difference. The people Ive heard from who have fitted spaces reckon its a remarkable difference.
FollowupID: 794790

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 20:31

Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 20:31
Fair enough Hairy, there has been a couple of horror stories of shearing off wheel spacers on heavily laden cruisers offroad which would not be a good result.
FollowupID: 794793

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 20:41

Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 20:41
Yeah...your right. Ive read a few of those too
FollowupID: 794796

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Tuesday, Jul 30, 2013 at 11:08

Tuesday, Jul 30, 2013 at 11:08
I think for the occasional possibility of using an extra half a litre on the beach, I'll leave them as they are .. :-)

Al
FollowupID: 794879

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 21:38

Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 21:38
Hairy, If you're running 750R16 on split rims you might notice it , especially on the 76series because of the shorter wheelbase (as the tyres are only 190mm wide and tend to "railroad"). But if you're running the wider tyres - 265 or 285, the difference becomes unnoticeable.
Nobody I know who runs a V8 78/79series thinks its an issue.
AnswerID: 515509

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 21:55

Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 21:55
It’s not an issue Hairy.
Since 2008 I have run both skinnies and fatties on a V8 Troopy in sand with no performance problems.
It’s a matter of a poor tradesman blaming his tools
Pulled a new Range Rover out a sandy hole the other day – must admit it wasn’t the 4WD’s fault.
It had low profile tyres and the driver had it in snow mode.
AnswerID: 515511

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 21:58

Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 21:58
Should have added - I wished it was a Nissan
FollowupID: 794800

Reply By: Paul M28 - Monday, Jul 29, 2013 at 06:23

Monday, Jul 29, 2013 at 06:23
Hi Harry
I have a 2012 v8 ute been to moreton and Fraser Island heaps of times fully loaded as well and trust me you will not notice any difference and who every told you it was like pulling a bucket of sand is full of it ,I also run 265/75R 16 hope this helps
AnswerID: 515515

Reply By: braggy - Monday, Jul 29, 2013 at 07:30

Monday, Jul 29, 2013 at 07:30
Anybody else ever noticed, that unless you are going dead straight the rear wheels don't exactly follow the front wheels track
AnswerID: 515519

Reply By: Rockape - Monday, Jul 29, 2013 at 07:30

Monday, Jul 29, 2013 at 07:30
Hairy,
back to your question. We had 78 series ambulance that had been modified with a wider track. I would be very expensive but it can be done legally.

It was supplied be some firm in Western Australia. I think Bhpb ordered a few.

AnswerID: 515520

Reply By: member - mazcan - Monday, Jul 29, 2013 at 12:20

Monday, Jul 29, 2013 at 12:20
hi hairy
I think you will find if you do extensive research on vehicle specifications that there is hardly one vehicle on the rd that doesn't have different widths in the front and rear tracks
every name brand I can think of form 4wds and cars etc and even trucks all have this irregularity
I have never delved into why this is so
but there must be a more fundamental reason for it other than stupidity and/or an irish versus chinese tape measure problem
there must be some one in the world or on here who might know
spacers are illegal and put all the weight out on the end of your studs causing them to snap off which would be much more of a concern to me than having different track widths
I have owned several different brands of 4wds and driven in all types of conditions sand mud etc and I can honestly say that the track width differences has never shown itself to be a problem despite the fact from an early driving age I was aware of this inbuilt feature even on my 1928 oldsmobile that was passed down through the family
the only time ive had a tracking problem was when my pushbike frame got twisted
some blokes worry about keeping their beer cold
and some worry about bugger all???
stop worry hairy and have a beer or wine until you get the staggers your tracking concerns may then prove to be a problem
AnswerID: 515535

Reply By: gbc - Monday, Jul 29, 2013 at 20:03

Monday, Jul 29, 2013 at 20:03
If it isn't a problem, why did they invent super singles for canters etc?

Try towing a trailer in sand with a different track width - of course it makes a difference.

Follow enough NPWS utes on Fraser at high tide and you'll see how much fun they have with them - they crab up the tracks like an old diahatsu or an f100 trying to follow in landcruiser wheel tracks.

AnswerID: 515564

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 29, 2013 at 21:10

Monday, Jul 29, 2013 at 21:10
Mick O has just had Multi Drive in Geelong build him a new rear axle to the same width as the front.
Mick has only just had it done and is currently in the WA deserts, ask him about it when he returns.
Be interesting to hear his view when he returns, can't tell you what it cost as it was the first one they have done.
Mick had spacers and had one shear off, he writes about it in his blogs.
Mick seems to think given his chassis extension and weight it makes a difference in his vehicle.
Just remember that the track on the pre V8 series Toyotas is also different front to rear, as said earlier in this thread its not uncommon.

I have a new 78 Series due in a month and have researched this issue for quite sometime including discussions with many members of my 4wd club who have owned a number of Toyotas and are very experienced in offroad driving.
The consensus, it makes absolutely zero difference to the offroad ability of the vehicle or the fuel consumption. In fact the new V8 is more fuel efficient than the TD6.

As for tracking in soft sand, or other loose surfaces every vehicle I have seen in this situation never tracks straight, they all slide around particularly with soft tyres, it's the nature of what we do.

AnswerID: 515570

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Jul 30, 2013 at 21:03

Tuesday, Jul 30, 2013 at 21:03
Thanks for that. Ill be interested to hear what Mick O has to say
FollowupID: 794921

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Jul 30, 2013 at 21:05

Tuesday, Jul 30, 2013 at 21:05
Thanks for all the input everyone.....much appreciated.
Ill take it all on-board and keep it in mind when I eventually decided what I'm going to buy.

Hairy
AnswerID: 515628

Reply By: Mick O - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 19:21

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 19:21
G'day Hairy,

late to the fray on this one as I've been out your way. Yes the difference between front and rear stance on the V8 Tojo's is 100mm. It is an issue when driving off track in particular and acquaints to pushing a third tyre through the dirt.

Many, including myself have run spacers of up to 50mm on the rear but this does have issues legally and more importantly for your insurance in particular. The standard steel spacers can be very dodgy with enough slop to cause issues as I can attest to. I had custom aluminium spacers made by Galpro Engineering in Adelaide to 40mm. I had them made extra tight to fit snugly ob the rear hub and leave enough of the hub housing to act as a spigot for the wheels. Much lighter and a much better fit than those steel spacers offered by other mobs. A full 50mm spacer means the rim centre sits level with the outer edge of the hub. Not good in my mind.

Once bitten, you never really get over the feeling of unease with the spacers so I finally coaxed Multidrive into using mine as a test bed for the axle widening. They extended a rear diff housing to match the front wheel base, laminated and strengthened the diff housing and made up a set of new axles to suit. Then it was simply a matter of transferring my diff and lockers into the new diff. All done in a day at Geelong. Very happy with the result and the front and rear stance are now the same meaning better stability, less rear skip (especially if you are running skinnies on splits) and better tracking.

As I said, extremely happy with the result which is engineered and accepted by the VicRoads. Insurance co. Were happy with the eng cert as well. Darryl at Multidrive Technologies is the man to speak too.

AnswerID: 517003

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 21:16

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 21:16
Forgot to ask you today, did they keep your old axle housing on a change over type basis and did they offer any indication of pricing?

FollowupID: 796505

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 24, 2013 at 11:10

Saturday, Aug 24, 2013 at 11:10
Great info! Thanks Mick.
FollowupID: 796542