Working our way around Oz

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 07:49
ThreadID: 10350 Views:2017 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Guys

My wife and I are considering 'up stumps' and spending a couple of years wandering around the country.

To help pay our way we are thinking of picking up odd jobs here and there.

We are only at the consideration stages and are looking for any info re the availability of work.

Have any of you done this recently and what pitfalls issues are there that we should consider.

We have just turned 50yrs young and are relatively fit, but not spring chickens.

Any info greatly appreciated.

CheersPT
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Diesel1 - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 09:49

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 09:49
G'day Paul,

I guess the availability of work depends entirely upon your skills and whether or not you are prepared to have a go at just about anything within your capabilities. I am a diesel mechanic by trade and I generally pick up work within my field of expertise, but I have always had an open view to doing anything if it produces a cash injection into the bank account.

A couple of years ago my wife and myself got work in the fruit picking industry (mangoes) and even though it's possible to earn some quick money, we worked our butts off for a miserable $10.50 an hour.

In looking for work when you are on the road, I have always used the local pub as the best place to begin - there is usually somebody looking for a bloke to do a bit of work.

Diesel 1
AnswerID: 45818

Follow Up By: Member - Paul T- Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 10:14

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 10:14
Diesel 1

Thanks for your reply. My wife and I are both nurses so if there are local hospitals we would probably pick up casual work, we are also pretty skilled with our hands and not averse to getting them dirty so fruit picking is certainly one avenue.

Off course the real beauty of starting with the 'local' is the taste of some cold beer.

Thanks again
PT