Comment: Caravan & Camper Battery Charging

Hi All.
Like many I am kind of new to this type of thing and we've just purchased a cheap camper and have heaps of things to fix and improve. We are about to go on a 4 week trip from Sydney through to Cook Town and will obviously need to look at power. We have a 160W portable Solar system to use to power up the battery when at camp, but just wanted to see what others have used when travelling to maintain the battery ie - DC-DC charger or a straight charge from the car's alternator?
We’re only running a 80L 12v fridge/freezer, LED lights, water pump for sink ...so not using a lot of power in theory.
Also wanted to know how people monitor their battery/ies and if anyone has tried any cheap ebay led monitors or built their own system up (not wanting a system that will cost the earth! or that asks for a pee sample to see how many electrons just left my body! ) I am thinking that we will just need something to tell me the charge going in (from solar mainly), what charge state the battery is in and possibly something to warn when charge drops too low
Really appreciate any ideas, suggestions and corrections with my thinking
Thanks Brad
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Chris_K - Wednesday, Aug 14, 2013 at 16:59

Wednesday, Aug 14, 2013 at 16:59
Hi Brad

There are a couple of threads about solar power & DC-DC chargers on the ExplorOz forum - we have one of these little things in our camper...great for peace of mind, and checking where your hard earned amps are going:

http://www.nasamarine.com/proddetail.php?prod=BM1Compact

Not bad value for money either...

Cheers

Chris
AnswerID: 516398

Reply By: Member - Wozikev - Thursday, Aug 15, 2013 at 14:59

Thursday, Aug 15, 2013 at 14:59