hand winch, boat winch, tavern winch

Submitted: Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 14:59
ThreadID: 10389 Views:3950 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
G'day all,
question regarding winchs. Hving just been to the Queenbeyan 4x4 show and not having the moolah for a PTO winch, can I ask you opinions on hand winchs, best type etc. A mate has suggested a cable-puller, which is rated to 6000lbs, as a form of emergency recovery winch, what are the thoughts on those?
Then theres the boat-winch debate. Even though rated to 6000lbs, they are only 2000lb pulling, and 6000lb rolling, but will they be good enough to pull a paj out of a bog?
Appreciate any comments.
Rds
Fieldmouse

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 15:10

Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 15:10
Super Cheap & Bunnings had electric winches for around $100... dont know how good they were tho.
AnswerID: 45997

Reply By: Roachie - Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 16:05

Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 16:05
Fieldmouse,
I'd be very cautious about going too light when it comes to winching. Winch manufacturers always quote their very best figures about their product. A 6000lb winch would only be good for that figure in ideal condtions and only on the first layer of cable on the drum. Your Paj would severely test such a winch rated at 6000lb if it was bogged in mud or stuck on the side of a hill.
When you say "PTO" winch , do you actually mean an electric winch. There aren't too many vehicles these days which have the capability of having a PTO (Power Take Off) winch fitted. Some Landcruisers Troopies and some patrols, and landrovers etc can I believe. PTO's work off a drive shaft from the motors Transfer case.
Most winches you see are leccy jobbies.
My recommendation to you would a minimum of 8000lb electric winch or a tirfor style handwinch.
AnswerID: 46005

Reply By: GOB member vic - Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 16:11

Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 16:11
good day field mouse
in the first line is that tavern winch or tavern wench imagine a 03 gu 4.2tdin the picture
as i am having trouble sizing the picture
AnswerID: 46008

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 16:23

Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 16:23
Gob he want's a turfor to pull a tavern wenchRegards Bob
Where to next
FollowupID: 307946

Reply By: Alex H - Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 23:41

Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 23:41
G'day,
I'd go a tirfor or tirfor style hand winch - assuming you're reasonably fit and don't have a history of heart problems...
They are more versatile than electric winches - can pull in many directions - and are generally cheaper.
I use a Beaver, and I've never had to use the snatchblock (Landrover Defender wagon - over 2 tons with all hte cr#p I carry)
Alex
AnswerID: 46093