ideas for auto 4x4s

Submitted: Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 17:17
ThreadID: 10398 Views:1864 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
hi all, just reading up on some truck stuff the other day and an idea struck me, to give retardation on auto equipped fourbys you could fit a magnetic retarder onto the back of the trans case like a handbrake can be fitted. these have variable resistance and can be got in 12v dc configuration. anyways had a squiz on the net and found this - http://www.torquepower.com.au/frenelsa.htm . Have a look , may be a good project for someone with an auto ( Truckster ??) whatta ya reckon.

Cheers allMoo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 23:10

Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 23:10
Hey you can get the Exhaust brake thing from Qld, thats another option! except its $1100!
AnswerID: 46084

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Feb 10, 2004 at 17:50

Tuesday, Feb 10, 2004 at 17:50
Yeah, but this idea retards the driveline, the exhaust brake doesn't help the fact you have got an auto.. These units are used heaps on garbo trucks etc, so they can obviously take a bit of punishment. What price is removal of the pucker factor worth ??Moo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)
FollowupID: 308089

Reply By: Eric.- Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 23:17

Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 23:17
Just had a look and sent a inquiery , looking forward to there reply Venus Bay
AnswerID: 46085

Reply By: Jon - '88 TD42 GQ - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2004 at 10:19

Tuesday, Feb 10, 2004 at 10:19
I've always wondered why 4b manufacturers don't offer a manual torque converter lockup facility. As I understand it most torqe converters lock up to prevent any slipage over a certain speed. Surely it wouldn't be that hard to put a switch in the cab to turn it on at low speed and make it behave like a manual - you stop it you stall it, but no runaway. Disengage at the bottom of the hill and voila!

There has to be a good reason why they can't, given how little I know about mechanicals it's probably quite obvious!

AnswerID: 46125

Follow Up By: StephenF - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2004 at 15:33

Tuesday, Feb 10, 2004 at 15:33
The Landrover Discovery does just that. Press the "Mode" button in low range and it acts like a manual. It stays in whatever gear you've selected (up to the point of stalling or over-revving) and the torque converter locks up to give the same engine braking as a manual.

Stephen.
FollowupID: 308076

Follow Up By: Jon - '88 TD42 GQ - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2004 at 15:46

Tuesday, Feb 10, 2004 at 15:46
It would be Land Rover wouldn't. I always thought it was a fairly obvious thing to do, glad at least one manufacturer did as well - though I'm not at all surprised at who!

FollowupID: 308079

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Feb 10, 2004 at 17:59

Tuesday, Feb 10, 2004 at 17:59
I would have thought that locking the convertor and then dropping the engine speed to near stalling would slow the oil pump in the auto enough to lose line pressure and hence lose control of the g/box, leading to possible runaway situ.. But then again i'm no tranny tech and it could possibly be done , if the landy can do it then it would be worth while seeing a copy of the electrical schematic for the trans, and having a squiz at the maint manual / parts blowout for the trans. If the trans is standard style , then it may just be a matter of manipulating the control of the convertor and the solenoids in the box..

Anyone know a landy service tech ????Moo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)
FollowupID: 308091

Reply By: Eric.- Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 00:33

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 00:33
Bradly I just got a reply for one of there units , it's only $15,000.00 so i ordered afew just incase some of the forumits wanted one lol Venus Bay
AnswerID: 46265

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 10:25

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 10:25
Holy batshiza batman, No wonder it hasen't already been done :-0 . I asked truckster what price the pucker factor was worth , seems that price is fairly hefty......

Hmm maybee we need to look at the auto lockup modification options above, You don't know anyone at a landy dealer do you eric ?? Cheers mate.Moo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)
FollowupID: 308185