Tyres

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 16:31
ThreadID: 10456 Views:1814 Replies:15 FollowUps:9
Dear People

I would be interested in any feedback on Cooper ST tyres. The Grandtrek's on my GQ are up for replacement and my wife is asking about the ride quality on bitumen of the Cooper tyres. I would imagine the ride would be harsher as they appear to be a stronger tyre. (unfortunately the majority of klms is still on bitumen)

Reply By: Roachie - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 16:40

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 16:40
I run BFG Muddies on my Patrol and they are okay, but a little noisy and skittish in the wet (what bloody wet....my tyres haven't seen a wet road for 3 months!!).
I have a mate with a 3lt Patrol who is just about to change his Cooper ST's over and get BFG All-Terrains.
I don't think there will be much difference in the ride "harshness"; a lot depends on what pressures you're running them at. If your Grandtreks are a highway based tyre, you can expect the ST's to be a bit noisier, but not as bad as the more aggressive mud terrain/STT's
I would certainly recommend the All-Terrain type tyre (or Mud Terrain if you do any serious off road work). Whether you choose Cooper, BFG or Goodyear Wrangler etc is a personal choice.
When my muddies wear out, I'll be getting another similar set; although I'll be checking prices of BFG, STT, MT/R and possibly even the Hankook Mud Tyre too.
AnswerID: 46361

Follow Up By: Davids - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 17:19

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 17:19
Thanks Roachie.........appreciate the feedback
FollowupID: 308233

Reply By: Willykj - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 17:27

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 17:27
Hi Davids

I run a 99 Jackaroo with Cooper ST's & the majority is on the black stuff.

Presviously I had AT's & the ride is just as good - certainly at very low speeds you feel the tread but at normal speed - no difference. They are a little noisier but nothing to worry about. I have been very happy with the ST's & on wet bitumen I have had no problems - in fact probobly better then AT's.

Trust this helps - I have done approx 10K so far - my off road is usually limited to forest type roads & soft sand - the ST's are great,

Willy
AnswerID: 46371

Follow Up By: Davids - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 12:45

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 12:45
Thanks to everyone..................I really appreciate your input
FollowupID: 308337

Reply By: Graeme - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 17:39

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 17:39
Hi David

I have a 2000 Prado & have travelled about 12000 km on Cooper ST's - about 1/3rd of which has been on gravel/dirt (Northern Flinders, Innamincka & The Strezlecki, Camerons Corner, Darling River Run etc).

They are a little noisy on bitumen & handle well on all surfaces & aren't too bad in the wet on bitumen - only negative so far is they pick up rocks!!!

No chipping (which was a major talking point earlier this year).
AnswerID: 46376

Reply By: chrisfrd - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 18:16

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 18:16
Love them!
AnswerID: 46381

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 18:19

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 18:19
I have 285/75 Cooper ST's on my Patrol. Only done 8,500km but reckon they are great so far. Wear is even, grip is good on-road, great offroad, but are a bit noiser than BFG T/A KO's. I spend most of my time on the blacktop unfortunately :( and the noise factor is only noticeable if the window is down. Don't notice it in the cab with the windows up, but can detect it if really trying to hear it.

I had several sets of BFG T/A KO's on my old 80 series, but would NOT go back to the BFG's now. Has several problems with them that I never had on the earlier non KO range.

But as said before by others, some swear by the BFG's, some swear at them. Same for the Coopers. I have found the Coopers work for me and IMHO would recommend them over the BFG's.

MarkNissan 2003 GU 3.0TD
Windsor Rapid Offroad
AnswerID: 46382

Follow Up By: Roachie - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 11:50

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 11:50
Did you run 265/75's before the 285's? If so, did you notice much difference in gearing/hillclimbing on highway etc?
I have been running 265/75's on my 4.2 T/D and am a bit hesitant about going up to the 285's in case I have to "pedal" it up hills.
Your thoughts would be appreciated.
FollowupID: 308328

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:50

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:50
Hi Roachie, unfortunatley (or perhaps fortunately:) I drove straight from the Nissan dealer to the tyre shop. There was less than 20kms on the odo when the coopers went on so do not have any real expereince with the 265/70 bridgestones.

The 285 tire size has the effect of a 7% increase in gearing and when test driving the GU it always felt undergeared, hence I thought it a good move to go up a size.

But the 3.0TD has the 4.1 diff ratio compared to the 4.2TD with the 3.9 diff ratio. Given the 4.2TD effectively makes no more power than the 3.0TD, you are already 5% higher geared than me, add the 7% for the 285's and you come in at 12% higher than a standard 3.0TD.

If it were my 4.2TD, I would want to test the 285's before buying to see the effect on gearing, as I wouldn't want to go up 12% on the 3.0TD from standard. But the increased off road ability of the 285's would make me try real hard to get it to work.

Are you in Perth?, no dramas swapping the tyres for a quick run to feel the gearing effect (makes it easy with a rattle gun...;)

MarkNissan 2003 GU 3.0TD
Windsor Rapid Offroad
FollowupID: 308423

Reply By: Patroleum - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 20:27

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 20:27
We,ve also got ST's. Slightly noisy but handle the rough very well, traction in rain
has so far been great and they fill a void between BFG AT'S and BFG MT's.

So far great

AnswerID: 46397

Reply By: Diamond(due to duck season) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 20:44

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 20:44
gday davids.
i had cooper s/t traded them in on some cooper h/t now trading them in on some s/t again.
briliant tyre.
cheersdue to duck season coming
ive decided to hide out
love jemima puddle duck
back after the season
AnswerID: 46403

Follow Up By: uther - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 21:23

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 21:23
dump the duck will ya
FollowupID: 308267

Follow Up By: Diamond(due to duck season) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 17:52

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 17:52
sorry uther but the duck stays.
cheersdue to duck season coming
ive decided to hide out
love jemima puddle duck
back after the season
FollowupID: 308362

Reply By: Member - Martin- Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 21:11

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 21:11
we run 285/75 Cooper ST tyres on our GU they are a great tyre on and off the road. Traction off road is fantastic in mud ,sand or the pea gravel that we get here in WA. On the road they have good traction in both wet and dry conditions, you do get a little bit of road noise but it is not to bad and when you put on a more aggresive tyre you have to expect a bit of noise. I rotate mine every 10000kms and so far they are wearing alot better than the Bridgestones i used to run.
AnswerID: 46408

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 22:56

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2004 at 22:56
I got Cooper ST's on the Terrano 2 .... Whne I fitted them I was very surprised how quiet they were on the bitumen & quite smooth. As you already know ..great in the bush!
AnswerID: 46419

Reply By: Pluto - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 00:46

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 00:46
David,

You won't regret getting a set of STs. I've had them on the GU for nearly 20,000 and they are wearing very well. They are showing a lot of sidewall wear, but considering how much time they spend running deflated, that's no big surprise. They are no noisier than most ATs but they still handle well on the bitumen, especially in the wet.

PlutoGet out there & have Fun!!!
AnswerID: 46427

Reply By: Rod - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 12:13

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 12:13
Have 235/85 16 STs on a LR 110 for 3 years. Took them round Oz in 2001 and had one flat from an nail in Darwin. Very happy with wear and grip. Not good in real greasy mud (mine clogged a little easily for my liking) but an excellent tyre otherwise. No chipped lugs as reported by some.

The do not bag easily on the sidewall (good in rocky country) so they need to be let down a lot in sand.

When they finally wear out, I intend buying another pair.
AnswerID: 46447

Reply By: rads - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 13:15

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 13:15
Have the 285/75/16's Cooper on a 100 series. Done approx 30,000kms (including CSR). They are wearing very well. A bit noisy but O.K. Previously had BFG A/T 33x12.5x15 on a 80 series. Also had no probs.
AnswerID: 46453

Follow Up By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 14, 2004 at 21:36

Saturday, Feb 14, 2004 at 21:36
Rads ,
I have a 100 series and I the standard tyre is 275 / 70 R 16 . Do you reckon I should put on 265 / 75 or 285 / 75 . I am going to get 10 ply for
staked tyre avoidance . Maybe the 265 would make the sidewalls a bit more vulnerable - what do you think ?
FollowupID: 308669

Follow Up By: rads - Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 11:44

Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 11:44
G'day Mike
I would definately go the 285's, especially for sand or rock work. The Coopers are very good for sidewall protection as they are quite stiff. You will lose a little power and the speedo will be slightly out but it's still worth it I beleive.
Brad
FollowupID: 308872

Reply By: DavidAT - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 13:43

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 13:43
Go with the Coopers, I have a GU wagon which I tow a bogie trailer with 80% of the time. I have a set of 285/75 R16 on and have done about 15,000km on them. It is looking promising that I'll get at least 50,000 out of them, hopefully more. For me that is great when you consider that I only got 30,000 out of the previous set of BFG All Terrains. They ride fine by me, little bit more road noise, but it is worth putting up with. Give 'em a go, I did and don't regret it.
AnswerID: 46591

Reply By: gyprock - Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 22:42

Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 22:42
I have the "ST" on my landrover discovery, I have just had them replaced free off charge, because the lugs are chipping and the shoulders are cracking where the lugs meet the sidewall.
Coopers have been very helpful and I can only recommend the company, even after having a full set of tyres poop themselves.
The "ST/C" or the "STT" have been offered to me as better replacements for where I am operating. Apparantly the company has identified that some ST have suffered Shoulder problems when operated in some regions. They informed me the ST/C is the same as the ST with a better compound for my region.
I have been rapped with the performance of the tyre( apart from there shoulder cracks, but Im reassured this has been addressed by thee company), and now I am rapped with the dealer network support offered by the company. Just listen to the dealer if he recommends a certain style for what use you describe to him.
And look on the internet for the main dealers in each state, they are full of good info and helped me way more than I expected when my tyres started to fail. The internet list 1800 phone numbers for the head dealers

AnswerID: 47398

Follow Up By: Allfour4x4 - Saturday, Feb 28, 2004 at 18:48

Saturday, Feb 28, 2004 at 18:48
Gyprock,
So did you end up with ST/C's if so what do you think? Althuogh it is probably a little early to tell.
Glenn B.
FollowupID: 310371

Reply By: gyprock - Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 13:54

Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 13:54
No, I talked to the guys from Coopers in Brisbane, and it was decided that I would benefit better from the STT. These were decided because my car is rarely of the dirt up here and the issues of road noise really dont come in to play. The Coopers rep agreed that because I run AT during the dry I would be best maximising the STT abilities during the wet.

I have to say the Factory support for the problem I had has been beyond my expectations ,,, I'm one very happy customer. I am learning quickly with all the products we purchase,, especially in the 4WD world that not all the dealers do there brands(factory) justice. I almost condemed Coopers to the "never buy again basket". I am glad I decided to contact the main rep for the state because now I have a good set of tyres and there dealer further south of me is re-educated.
AnswerID: 48647