Introducing myself

Submitted: Monday, Oct 14, 2013 at 17:56
ThreadID: 104713 Views:2139 Replies:4 FollowUps:9
This Thread has been Archived
Hi there, being a new member to this forum, I wish to introduce myself and offer a short resume.
My name is Brian, hence the alias, the 01 bit was the site's idea.
I am a retired Electrical Engineer with many years spent in the design and construction of extra low voltage (ELV) and low voltage (LV) transmission and operating systems.
For the uninitiated - ELV is AC up to 50v or DC up to 120v,
LV is AC from 50v up to 1000v or DC from 120v up to 1500v.
Anything higher than that, I leave to someone else.
Much of my time was devoted to regional pipeline corrosion mitigation involving remote cathodic protection systems with both small and large battery and solar installations plus the implementation of electrical distribution for regional housing.
Being involved in distant work necessitated the learning of many skills and acquiring of numerous licences in order to legally manage and carry out the required tasks.
Thus I also hold a current Electrical contractor's licence plus restricted Builder's and Plumber's licences, but no, I don't want any jobs on the side..
I have spent many decades both four wheel driving and caravanning over much of this marvellous country.
Until recently, being trepidated by retirement, I filled in some of my spare time installing solar on RVs for a local sales outlet or assisting an auto electrician friend when required, so have a reasonable working knowledge of the requirements of RV electrical systems.
Then I learned to relax.... Well maybe not completely, so, apart from repairing a few CPAP machines for a local supplier, I'm now officially unemployed and retired
I trust that I will be able to contribute positively to the forum, and hopefully the old dog is not past learning a few new tricks as well.

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: allein m - Monday, Oct 14, 2013 at 18:22