Driving from Perth to Sydney with a dog

Hi guys
I'm re locating to Sydney and driving over with my dog and a friend around NYE this year. I was wondering if anyone knows how easy it is to find places along the way where we can stay with the dog? I guess we can camp if camping grounds may be the easier way to go, neither of us however have done much camping!! I'm new to all this so do caravan/camp grounds usually allow dogs? Ideally we'd like to stay in road houses, B&B's or motel, but said dog might have to hide in bag?!!
We can take about 10 days so I'm also trying to find a nice route to take so any suggestions would be most welcome. I think we'll like to head straight out east to Kalgoorlie to start with.
Thanks all

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: cruiser 3 - Friday, Nov 08, 2013 at 17:09

Friday, Nov 08, 2013 at 17:09
Hi Jess
We have done that trip a couple of times with our dog and have never had a problem.
However we have our own caravan and sometimes stay in van parks and other times just stop at rest areas.
I have found it fairly easy to find a caravan park that will allow my dog but I think that most places only allow them in your own caravan or tent and not in their cabins or overnight vans.
Be a responsible dog owner and pick up after him or her and dont try to sneak him/ her in where they are not allowd.
Travelling with your dog (best friend ) is rewarding and by doing so responsibly ensures that we will continue to be allowed to do so.
Have fun
AnswerID: 521131

Reply By: Andrew D. - Friday, Nov 08, 2013 at 18:09

Friday, Nov 08, 2013 at 18:09
Fly the dog and get somebody to collect for you at Sydney.
Stress free on you and the dog.
AnswerID: 521136

Follow Up By: landseka - Saturday, Nov 09, 2013 at 11:51

Saturday, Nov 09, 2013 at 11:51
We flew a dog from Adelaide to Perth a couple years ago, trust me that dog was stressed, frightened and filthy from sitting in his own crap for hours, Never again.
FollowupID: 801805