STOLEN camper trailer from Newcastle area...

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 10, 2013 at 20:52
ThreadID: 105076 Views:3247 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Our faithful 7 x 4 camper trailer of seven years (plus camping gear) was stolen from our front lawn at Bolwarra Heights last weekend, it had a coupling lock and heavy duty Abloy lock fitted, but the lousey mongrels dragged it 30 mtrs up hill and onto the road and left a intravenous needle on the lawn in its place in the early hours of the morning while we were sleeping. I guess they would have lashed it roughly onto their vehicle and taken it away to a shed for an ID change. It was a basic high sided black trailer with two batteries fitted and no camp kitchen on the tailgate, but the canvas design has blue sides and a grey top 10' room made by 'Coffs Canvass' which we had made with two door entries directly opposite each other, very handy set up and not too many I have seen like it.
Eventually it will be used around campgrounds and caravan parks somewhere, we will certainly enjoy visiting as many as possible over the next 20 years or so in our travels keeping an eye out for it (love camping in this great land of ours!), but if you see something in your travels that could help us, please email or phone me on 0431234797, thanks Paul and Sandra.

Reply By: Member - johnat - Sunday, Nov 10, 2013 at 21:41

Sunday, Nov 10, 2013 at 21:41
Paul/Sandra,
That absolutely SUX!
I surely hope that it has been reported to the police, and that you've posted that message on every single forum of which you are a member, regardless of whether it is related to camping/vanning etc or not!
The wider the distribution of this message, the better are the chances of you getting your pride and joy back in a reasonable condition.
Whether you'd be happy to use it afterwards is, of course, a whole other question!

Wishing you luck with the recovery of your camper
AnswerID: 521236

Follow Up By: me POD! - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 18:51

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 18:51
Thanks John, I have listed in a few already and the stolen caravan website etc, agree the more sites the better.... hence ExplorerOz !
Unfortunately its like finding a needle in a haystack but will give it our best shot.
Regards, Paul.
FollowupID: 801966

Reply By: Axle - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 07:50

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 07:50
G/Day, We reside on the Central Coast so will keep a close eye out...Just plain useless lowlife !!, that have no respect for anything....Chin Up & hopefully it turns up somewhere.

AnswerID: 521243

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 13:39

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 13:39
Paul, Sandra,
That's bad news, contact the Campertrailers Group on their web site >Campertrailers.org< they have a section for stolen camper trailers. I reckon the more coverage the more chance of getting you camper back and the 'oxygen thieves' caught. Mike
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 521253

Follow Up By: me POD! - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 19:08

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 19:08
Thanks Mike, will do.
FollowupID: 801967

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 14:23

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 14:23
Paul, any photos would be of great use to the punters here.... much easier to spot if you have a image in your head.

Also keep an eye out on ebay, Gumtree, and Caravan/Camper sales - they're most likely going to try and shift it...
AnswerID: 521256

Follow Up By: me POD! - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 19:17

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 19:17
Yep, keeping an eye on them for sure Scott.

Not sure if I can post photos here as am not a full member of ExploreOz?? :--(
I have photos and info on our facebook page though...

[url=www.facebook.com/paulsandra.odonohue]

Thanks, Paul.
FollowupID: 801968

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 19:37

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 19:37
Pauls Trailer
FollowupID: 801971

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 19:39

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 19:39
FollowupID: 801972

Follow Up By: me POD! - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 20:09

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 20:09
Thanks for copying that pic over Scott, much appreciated. Thats the trailer a few years back, and with the rego plate prior to the druggos 'borrowing' it.... Their is another on my facebook with photos of the tent section made by Coffs Canvas:

Camper Trailer opened....

Regards, Paul
FollowupID: 801976

Reply By: exilebean - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 16:17

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 16:17
The bleeding little fooks!! I’m in the Newy area and will keep a look out and will forward a link to this thread to a few fellow keen CTers. Photos would be very helpful if you have them. Maybe stick a pic and blurb on FB too and get people to share it around, if you already haven’t done so.

Keeping my eyes open and fingers crossed for you guys.
AnswerID: 521260

Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 17:03

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 17:03
The photos would be handy, and I can then post across to other (non-caravan) fora - more eyes the better!
FollowupID: 801954

Follow Up By: me POD! - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 20:12

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 20:12
Here we go, try my facebook page pics....Camper trailer opened....

Thanks guys, circulate it at much as you can, all very much appreciated. Paul.
FollowupID: 801977

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 21:24

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 21:24
Hi Paul and Sandra,
Sorry to hear the bad news. Hope you get a lead on it from this heads up

I copied and pasted your pic from your face book page
Cheers, Bruce.

At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 521276

Follow Up By: me POD! - Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 21:32

Monday, Nov 11, 2013 at 21:32
Seven years of great memories....., the latest was Fraser Island a couple of weeks prior to being nicked, thats why it was in my front yard as I was going to wash the salt spray from the canvass the next morning. Was a perfect set up in the sand dunes near Eli Creek for a week!
Ta Bruce.
FollowupID: 801979

Reply By: Member - mike g2 - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 10:01

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 10:01
just cruising older posts and catching up..sorry to see your nice unit was pinched-sign of the times. its like other gear that used to be safe outside your van in a park..no longer. agree with all previous comments. for varmits to get the $ , unit will re-appear in a local paper, industry mag, Inet, gumtree, out front of someone's place etc.. trailer may get a repaint but that top is unique colour as is set up. may help with recovery. would it show up as stolen in transport dept data base when rego on-sold? ( un less plates changed) what about axle number? . I have a heavy duty master lock and 1/2 inch cable on my gear as brother had found thieves came with bolt cutters , so chains+ standard lock were easy pickings. I see wheel clamps now being promoted for security.
wish you the best in recovering. insurance ? also try emailing the pic and brief story to as many c/van parks and 4x4 clubs etc..as you can for putting on their noticeboards.
MG.
AnswerID: 521966

Follow Up By: me POD! - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 08:25

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 08:25
Thanks for your comments and suggestions Mike, yes it is a shame we have to go to higher security measures to protect our homes and possesions, it must come with standard life requirements these days... I thought the coupling lock with Abloy HD lock would have been suffifient in the front yard of our quiet surbarban area, but I in hindsight a good wheel clamp would be better, but anything can be cut off with a battery operated angle grinder from Bunnings these days so we just have to live with theft unfortunately.
Happy travels to you, Regards, POD.
FollowupID: 802905