v8 landcruiser diesel

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 17:56
ThreadID: 105290 Views:5746 Replies:7 FollowUps:33
Hello learned ones out there,Mr Nissan has decided that Aus doesn't need a decent diesel engine for his 4by's,other than Navara 550,my Patrol (2000) is getting on so thinking of upgrading to the opposition,how good are these turbo diesel 200's,power and torque look good,just got to accept ridicule from mates already toyoted,but hey not a lot of options in the bigger wagons,always had Nissans boohoo

Reply By: achjimmy - Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 19:00

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 19:00
Mate there total sh1+.

They use tonnes of oil and fall a part. Before someone else advises go here http://www.ohwhatalemon.com/
He thought they were so bad he bought another one.

Or register at lcool and have a read in the 200 section amongst all of us who love them!

Yep a few issues but overall I think they are supberb.
AnswerID: 522195

Follow Up By: Racey - Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 19:08

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 19:08
The site your supposed to go to doesn't work. If you want the real truth go to the landcruiser owners website200 series landcruiser owners website.

Sure some of the 2007 vehicles had some oil issues which have been corrected. I have a 2007 model which does use some oil when towing, but not enough to get excited about.

Happy Cruiser owner
FollowupID: 803161

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 20:00

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 20:00
Apart from the fix by Mr Tojo. Running them on fully synthetic oil solves the issue. In fact Mr Tojo sent out a service bulletin to this effect to all dealers. Interestingly enough it can't have made it to Katherine Toyota as they changed back to semi-synthetic at the 20K service and it used 1 litre in 15K. Run full synthetic and there's no need to add any between services. But then again the Katherine mob listed on their work sheet that they changed the fuel pre-filter element as well as the main jobby ............. it doesn't have a pre-filter ?????

The 70 series only has a single turbo as against the 200 with 2, mainly due to the limitations of the gear box torque capacity I gather. Same donk but the 200 puts out poo loads of more grunt.

They're basically a very lazy engine which should have a significant life span due to the low stresses ....... I hope.
FollowupID: 803165

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 20:26

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 20:26
I would go the Toyota, the only thing that would concern is the high cost of servicing and maintaining one over a few year period. Michael

FollowupID: 803168

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 20:49

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 20:49
Gday Michael,
The LOW cost of servicing figured in my decision to buy.
10,000k intervals @ $210 fixed price for the first 6 services.
Can't go far wrong there.
Also, wheel bearings, timing belt and valve clearances are no longer service items, saving heap of effort.
FollowupID: 803174

Follow Up By: Member - VickiW - Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 20:57

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 20:57
I'm not sure that they're bad on servicing costs. Toyota have a fixed price service for the warranty - my 76 is about $300 for 3 years and I think the 200 is a bit less. Even over a longer period I gather they're pretty good.
I am an ex patrol person & felt bad at changing - but haven't regretted the change for a moment.
FollowupID: 803175

Follow Up By: achjimmy - Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 21:04

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 21:04
Yep the only thing you will object too is the price of entry. Other than that they are fantastic.
FollowupID: 803176

Follow Up By: Geoff in SA - Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 21:37

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 21:37
hey Jimmy
I too had the saem delima
I now have a 6.5 ltr V8 turbo Intercooled nissan patrol
Mine is a 2007 model and Mr Brunswick Diesels did the conversion

Its a brute of a machine and I would put it up against the tojo any day

http://www.brunswickdiesels.com.au/

have a look
give them a call

May be a lot less than an upgrade esp if you have lots of stuff on yr nissan already

FollowupID: 803182

Follow Up By: Ross M - Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 22:01

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 22:01
Geoff in SA
And so it should, it is one whole "AMAROK" bigger than the Toyota so the difference should be, very significant, over and above the Toyota.
FollowupID: 803185

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 22:59

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 at 22:59
G'day Phil and Vicki . Good to hear, an hour less in the workshop will save a $110 these days. I've had 2 new 4.2 TD Patrols but my current one has just passed 10yo and 360,000ks and hasn't cost a zac other than normal servicing. I will have to do something in time and the Landcruiser is the obvious choice. Regards, Michael

FollowupID: 803192

Reply By: olcoolone - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 07:58

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 07:58
The 200 is a great 4x4 and a comfortable capable long distance on and off road vehicle that leaves the others in it's wake.

People who don't own them harp on about this and that but the problems are very rare...... look at Patrols cracking the chassis and destroying engines, people still buy them as they think a 200 is overpriced for what bit is....... so are Rolls Royces when compared to a Kia.

Engine oil usage is the norm these days as less ring tension equals less fuel consumption equals less wear.

The things I don't like about the 200 is the transmission, the ding dongs and power limiting of the engine in some situations.

After driving the 200 you will soon learn how much of an effort the others are to drive.
AnswerID: 522228

Reply By: cookie1 - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 08:37

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 08:37
I bought a 200 GX after a lengthy stint owning & driving Patrols, it was Nissans attitude that made me change in the end. My Patrol was only 12 months or thereabouts old when I changed and I have not looked back. Just come back from the Vic High Country and just climbed up Billy Goat with very little effort - no lockers like everyone else.

AnswerID: 522230

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 09:14

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 09:14
I recently purchased a 79 Series Dual Cab after years of driving Landrover Defenders, owning two 110’s and a 130 dual cab.

And yes I realise I open myself to calls that I was coming from a “low base”, but to be sure, I’m still able to shoulder a few Landy jokes here and there, or heaven forbid Toyo jokes now…

But to be honest the Landy’s had served me well, especially the Defender 130 from a size and load carrying capacity. Unfortunately, we ended up with some problems with the 130 that caused us a loss of confidence for long-range touring and we elected to upgrade. As a general “work-horse” it was still fine…

When deliberating what our new vehicle would be it came down to our requirement for a vehicle that had a substantial load carrying capacity, twin cab chassis so we could build a canopy onto it and importantly fit the three of us into it. Reliability was a big consideration, and to a lesser extent towing ability.

We elected to by-pass the new breed of Defender 130s for a variety of reasons, but for the most part, felt we wanted something with more power and a wider spread dealer network across Australia…

I often read reports on the forum about the nuances of various vehicles, what is good, what is bad, and it always leaves my thinking that if one had the advantage of going to all vehicle manufacturers’ and picking the best bits of all vehicles on offer and having it transformed into our own personalised requirements it would be great – but (generally) it isn’t possible and if it was cost would be the barrier.

So it leaves no option but to make choices based on what suits your own personal requirements the best and what vehicles are on offer at the time. Importantly, if it is in the budget or price range of your total spend.

Hence the reason why we now have the Toyota 79 Series Dual Cab. And yes, it has some short-comings, but hey, I’ve got plenty myself, so we’ll make good company over time…

As an aside, I’m still agonising over whether it is still “The Landy” – I’m bound to upset both Landrover and Toyo drivers alike if I refer to it as such!

Cheers, Baz – The Landy (still)
AnswerID: 522232

Follow Up By: garrycol - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 12:06

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 12:06
But Baz the original post is about a 200 series not a 79 series - completely different vehicles. So what is your point that is relevant to a 200 series?.

Garry
FollowupID: 803210

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 13:20

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 13:20
And Garry, you have something positive to contribute?

Other than criticising Baz for posting the process involved with going away from a brand he owned and found to meet his needs.

FollowupID: 803217

Follow Up By: TOAB - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 14:07

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 14:07
Baz,
What were the problems that caused you to lose confidence in them?
Brett.
FollowupID: 803224

Follow Up By: allein m - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 15:19

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 15:19
Hi landy nice new rig you have got there

FollowupID: 803239

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 16:34

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 16:34
Hi Toab

We rebuilt a 1995 TDi300 Defender in 2006 and seemed to be plagued by problems with the engine that was reconditioned at the time.

Potentially it was a combination of problems arising from not being suitable for the expectations we had of it, and possibly being let down on the servicing side, in the end we simply lost confidence in the vehicle to provide the reliability we were looking for.

With this in mind and an eye to the travelling we want to do over the next few years, we elected to look for an alternative.

Hopefully the Toyota 79 Series will provide the reliability and platform we are looking for to undertake the travel into remote areas…

And noting that the Defender 130 is a good capable vehicle, but in the end it did not meet our expectations.

Alien, Thanks….

Cheers, Baz – The Landy

FollowupID: 803248

Follow Up By: allein m - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 18:41

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 18:41
I forgot to say almost back to the days of the big dust storms here today lots of wind and dust all over
and it will get worse because water board want to put a big increase in the water costs over the next 3 or 4 years to improve the system

crazy the way costs are going up the less people will want to move here so in the end we will have a fantastic new water system with few people to pay for the upkeep

yes the water is crap as it is but in the long run I would be happy with bottled water from woolies
FollowupID: 803259

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 10:06

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 10:06
Maybe Nissan knows something Mike !

The new patrol has got off to a bad start with many saying no good because it doesn't have a diesel without being able to analyse that statement and put valid reasons against it.

First you have to establish that any car can do what you want but then I have noticed that many evaluate cars primarily on say fuel use as opposed to say cost of running a car.

The new Nissan seems to be now picking up as its realized that for some applications its ahead of the competition.

But the series 200 is a great car and has no endemic issues with power or torque etc.

I like them - but of course one's experience can make you cautious and I have seem them stuffed !

I think I also posted about my neighbour who left one forever on the Canning and took a helicopter home, bogged the brand new replacement next to us and proceeded to snap the CV joints (for 2nd time) apon attempted extraction but a 3lt Patrol saved the day.

So back to the cars - if it fits your critera then 200 series is high up on the list
but new Patrol might to, its looking like it will be cheaper to run as just a car
(recently here new a new Patrol was $69k).

If towing a big load the Patrol uses more fuel, but the Patrol and its 300kw outperforms the cruiser, and this is an equation which would have to be worked out.

For me, in my descision of 200 series or GU 4800 Patrol a factor was size/weight as the Patrol was clearly cheaper to own.
I thought the GU Patrol was already a big car to take bush but the 200 series or new Y62 patrol are just enormous and fat and this means everything has to match like bigger winch etc etc.

So as always define your critera carefully and without bias.

Peoples real reasons often defy logic, while recently I posted about 2 friends buying 100 series together my neighbours just dumped their 18 month old Prado and Tiguan, and got 2 new Klugas.

As far as I can tell their main reason was the 2 new cars are colour matched and have consecutive number plates !

AnswerID: 522236

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 11:45

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 11:45
QUTOE-[ The new patrol has got off to a bad start with many saying no good because it doesn't have a diesel without being able to analyse that statement and put valid reasons against it. ]

Unfortunately this is also true for many so called expert 4x4ers who are still in the dark ages.

The only reasons we went to diesel was 1) availability of fuel in remote areas and if need from friends traveling with use of from trucks and earthmoving equipment 2) the so called fire risk of petrol vehicles and the catalytic converter setting fire to the surrounding areas stipulated by some of our customers.

The only real concern for me is fuel carrying capacity and the option of aftermarket tanks and GVM upgrades on the new Patrol.

There is no real advantage of a diesel over a petrol these days due to fuel costs and vehicle purchase prices plus there are still many service stations who only have one diesel pump and in some cases none at all.
FollowupID: 803207

Follow Up By: garrycol - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 12:09

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 12:09
But nobody wants a Patrol 4800 petrol - except yourself
FollowupID: 803211

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 12:59

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 12:59
Thats good CoolOne - we all have different requirements and the best we can do is to seriously consider the real issues we each face and us least make a logical imformed descision.

However I have to admit its a lot of fun getting the mates to-gether and inviting them to test out the talk.

Have a special hill put aside for just those occasions.

FollowupID: 803213

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 17:06

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 17:06
You're Nissan's best sales person for petrol Patrols Robin. I'll give you that.

"The new Nissan seems to be now picking up as its realized that for some applications its ahead of the competition."

This is a relative statement, picking up from nearly zero to almost zero is as about as positive as it gets though I think.

My friend just picked up a new Navara this week. He asked me to help as he needed to drive his old one back from the dealer. It was a big Dealer in SE Melbourne. While chatting I asked the sales person how many Y62's they had sold. He said 4. That's 4 in 10 months and they still have 2012 build in stock ( in November!) and are dropping $40K off the price and they still don't move. He said he believes that Nissan have sold less than 200 Australia wide. You can't exactly call call that high growth. He said almost every single customer walks the second they hear petrol only and the sales guys don't even get excited when someone asks about it any more.

Nissan have released the face lift model overseas, but aren't doing it here because they have too many old models in stock.

I believe the cruising fuel use is about 16l/100km but at 32l/100k towing 3T and use of 98 octane WOW!

Gimme my diesel.

FollowupID: 803250

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 17:30

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 17:30
Now BooBook - was that you I saw on the current Y62 Patrol thread, not far from someone who said his Y62 kills his diesel as below.

" Trip distance 970KM total fuel used 113L. That works out to 11.6L/100Km. Could only dream of those sort of figures with the GU CRD. Go the 62!!!

FollowupID: 803251

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 17:57

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 17:57
Yep I am sure you would have seem me there.

I didn't say that though.

I do agree that the fuel figures of some of the users on the forum have impressive fuel use for a petrol V8, but they are stock. It does go up with the normal accessories like lift, bull bar etc etc. Some others have reported 18 plus and 25 to 28 around town. I recall someone talking about their wife with a soft foot getting 25 ish. But I am sure you will agree that the sample size is very small indeed and except for 1 or 2 owners most are still stock. I guess there are 10 - 15 owners on the Patrol forum yeah? Also many CRD owners are reporting 16 - 18 l/100km on the road, and it seems to vary a lot, so that vehicle is not a great reference. Check the CRD fuel use threads.

My diesel went up too. I used to get below 10l/100k but rarely see below 12 or even 13 now with all the added crap on. I get 15 towing 1.1 ton generally.

Anyway my point was on the road, the fuel use doesn't seem bad, but load them up with a van or off road and the economy goes out the window explaining why they generally aren't selling.
FollowupID: 803256

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 18:09

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 18:09
Hi BooBook - no certainly was someone else - and he seems like a very happy owner.

Mind you we had someone on here a year or 2 ago who changed his 3lt for a 4800 Patrol and used less fuel towing.

It does seem hard doesn't it to get real valid data under the circumstances that we might use the car.
It was 4wd action who reported no difference on their comparo Simpson trip an they aren't easy on the juice.

If I could actually believe some of these posts I'd think again but it does seem that just the car is a pretty good 200 series match and at $69k one could be tempted.

FollowupID: 803258

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 19:26

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 19:26
Robin for $69K you could sure buy a lot of juice if you had the Petrol.

FollowupID: 803266

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Nov 29, 2013 at 19:07

Friday, Nov 29, 2013 at 19:07
BooBook, If your getting 15l/100k towing 1Ton, what would you be getting towing 3ton?,...Can't see you doing much better than the petrol?

FollowupID: 803353

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Friday, Nov 29, 2013 at 22:15

Friday, Nov 29, 2013 at 22:15
The Magazine article got 18.5l/100k for same van, same trip from memory, compared to 32. I am sure someone will check that.

I believe the average is 19 - 23 for 3.5ton on lcool but I may be corrected on that. I don't tow that weight.

I guess that's the point, petrol use seems to go up a lot more when towing or under load.
FollowupID: 803364

Reply By: Ron N - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 16:14

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 16:14
There's a vast amount of advantage in owning a diesel as compared to a petrol, if you want to do serious amounts of heavy-duty towing.
A petrol V8 towing at highway speeds will keep you poor, and keep you worrying whether you can make it to the next servo.
AnswerID: 522264

Reply By: howesy - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 20:06

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 20:06
look up alternator issues and starter motor issues on google, alternator placement leaves it open to mud and water with several reported cases of blocked brushes (no charge) but apparently they can be pulled out roadside and cleaned if you are prepared with the right tools and mechanical knowhow and god help you if you have to replace a problem starter motor. Minor issues but the alternator one would be a nuisance
AnswerID: 522282

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 20:43

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 20:43
They have done some changes late in 2012 and fitted a breather pipe to fix the issue.
A Toyota mechanic on another forum I frequent said with their age is getting a few starter motor replacements through their workshop, he said now that he has done a few it now only takes him three hours to do one
FollowupID: 803277

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, Nov 30, 2013 at 08:16

Saturday, Nov 30, 2013 at 08:16
I am going to bet Howsey that you don't own a 200 and your primary source of information for this is the internet. I read this often on general forums from 3rd parties who don't own one, however neither issue has come up as a common issue on LCOOL with about 2000 frequent 200 owners. It has happened, but it is no where near a common complaint. I think there have been a couple of cases of each in 6 years as guess.
FollowupID: 803375

Follow Up By: howesy - Saturday, Nov 30, 2013 at 16:54

Saturday, Nov 30, 2013 at 16:54
Your right my primary source was internet,,,,and why did I look it up??
because of the work ones that got alternator issues after a few months driving through the muddy paddocks and after reading about the starter motor I would have to agree when I looked it is a real pain if you have to change it,, so its based on experience too,, just send your money C/- P.O Box 4067 Warrimoo,,, How much was the bet? I forgot LOL
FollowupID: 803410

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, Nov 30, 2013 at 20:19

Saturday, Nov 30, 2013 at 20:19
howesy posted:
'Your right my primary source was internet'

Well there you go!
FollowupID: 803437

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Tuesday, Dec 03, 2013 at 16:04

Tuesday, Dec 03, 2013 at 16:04
howesy,

I did my own 'internet research'.

I went back to 2007 on the Landcruiser owners forum LCOOL. There are about 2100 Landcruiser 200 owners on that, posting all sorts of issues. It has about a hundred posts a day.

In 6 years with 2000 owners there is exactly one complaint of an alternator failure. It was a warranty claim.

So there you go. You don't own one and are aware of lots of failures, but of 2000 owners over 6 years, only one person reported a failure.

Hmmm who should people believe. Check yourself if you don't believe it. In fact if you did internet research, that would be the one and only place worth looking.
FollowupID: 803601

Follow Up By: howesy - Tuesday, Dec 03, 2013 at 17:42

Tuesday, Dec 03, 2013 at 17:42
It's quite obvious u r one of the people they refered to in another post that can't accept an opinion that differs and just walk away preferring to try and attack or discredit .
Read my postI said " several reported",,,,,,,,,,,,, fact
I also say I looked it up after work failures, 2 trucks, 2 failures,,,100% failure rate if u look at that way but I'm a realist I know that is bad luck and the way they are used, I've even known 80 series and others to get mud in the alternator. It's a smallthing but it's a fact that can affect them especially with a low mount, the mounting positions of thealternator and starter were all I mentioned, which is by no means basing the vehicle but starting a fact to consider, you obviously have one you lovevery much or you wouldn't be carrying on like I made a personal attack,, I won't be replying again I hope u can get over it and just enjoy your vehicle
FollowupID: 803604

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Tuesday, Dec 03, 2013 at 18:28

Tuesday, Dec 03, 2013 at 18:28
howsey what I can't accept is uninformed opinions and non factual statements. Opinions are great.

I have one opinion in this case but it's best left unsaid.
FollowupID: 803606

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Tuesday, Dec 03, 2013 at 19:53

Tuesday, Dec 03, 2013 at 19:53
I can tell you about a raft of vehicles that have alternator and starter motor problems when submerged.

General off roading on muddy roads will affect the 200 just the same as any other 4x4.....

Have a look on some of the forums about people going to Loveday and playing in the mud...... only to be trucked home at the end of the day with big recovery and repair bills.

If you want to play in the mud expect to pay dearly..... idler pulley bearings, air con pulley bearing, alternator bearing and housing, starter motor bearings and housing, blocked radiators, oil coolers and air con condensers, premature brake and clutch friction material wear and corrosion from acidic dirt and water.

BTW the number of Nissan Patrols I have done with noisy compressor pulley bearings far outweigh the 200 series problems.
FollowupID: 803613