Work and Play

Submitted: Friday, Nov 29, 2013 at 12:58
ThreadID: 105314 Views:1758 Replies:6 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
Hi everyone, I'm a Carpenter by trade and currently sub contract to builders and when possible my own work. I currently have a land cruiser ute, I've been working on to do a touring trip from. What im looking at doing is putting on a alloy canopy for camping(holidays part of the trip) and towing my tool trailer (working part of trip ) and head to alice springs from there and head up to Darwin and eventually get to cape York before the wet season hits . im looking at heading west in late January 2014. ill be dropping off my trailer in cairns before i go to cape

Question, how hard is it to find work out in remote places as a tradie? I find the more west you go the less information is available on the internet.
Is accommodation hard to find, and what's a rough price, id be looking at a weekly rental? for a short stay and a month if the work is there.

Would it be a reasonable assumption to assume if i worked half the trip it would pay for the holiday half?

Would love to hear any feed back big or small, especially from any tradie in construction!!

Thanks
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Friday, Nov 29, 2013 at 15:05

Friday, Nov 29, 2013 at 15:05
Without going into detail but if a property owner want an entertainment deck built she wants a new kitchen installed it is a headache to find someone that will do it start to finish.
If you do a good job the word of mouth will set you up.
Do some canvassing and you may find you have no time to make it to the cape.
I know a carpenter who is never out of work.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

My Profile  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 522326

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Friday, Nov 29, 2013 at 15:22

Friday, Nov 29, 2013 at 15:22