Recovery Treads, Treds, Max Traxs Etc

Hi All and Merry Xmas! Have any of the 4x4 magazines done any articles on recovery tracks at all. I haven't bought a magazine in years! regards Michael

Reply By: Keir & Marg - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 18:20

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 18:20
Recently made some up by chopping up a milk crate and fastening the pieces together with big, strong cable ties. The end results fold up and can be carried inside the vehicle, just in case someone wants to pinch these works of art!!
AnswerID: 523350

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 20:18

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 20:18
What a great idea!

Do you think the cable ties will hold when push comes to shove?

FollowupID: 804735

Follow Up By: Phil B (WA) - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 20:44

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 20:44
Hi guys

I doubt they would be much good in mud, they would just slip I would think.
MaxTraxs etc aren't smooth so there is some grip.
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 804736

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 20:55

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 20:55
Heaven forbid that someone would want to pinch a hot milk crate!

Classifieds: FREE BOOKS

FollowupID: 804737

Follow Up By: Ron N - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 21:02

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 21:02
I trust you used, legally-acquired milk crates, and not stolen ones?? [:-0

Being in possession of even a busted milk crate is still " being in possession of stolen property" - unless you can produce a receipt for the purchase!
FollowupID: 804738

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 21:02

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 21:02
Milk crates are way too valuable to be chopping them up. Or do you have a supply?

FollowupID: 804739

Follow Up By: Member - Rosss - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 21:21

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 21:21
Ah the good old trusty milk crate, the most versatile piece of construction equipment ever invented.
FollowupID: 804740

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 22:05

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 22:05
I "lent" a couple to one son for his work van. Needless to say I never got them back, I may well cut him out of my will for that!

FollowupID: 804743

Follow Up By: Dr Hook - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 12:03

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 12:03
Kier & Marg: they work well in mud too.
re joining the milk crate pieces: not just ordinary plastic cable ties, use the Stainless Steel zip-ties - they work great but are expensive and if you cut off the excess end, its razor sharp.
I changed to using ordinary screw-up (steel) hose clamps, 2 per join (to stop the track twisting) and loose enough to fold easily
Hook
FollowupID: 804753

Reply By: duck - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 23:20

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 23:20
Michael I don,t bother with the mags much myself as it's usally a case the more you advitise the better the write up of your product
But Ive used max tracks for years, my son has a cheaper brand they work but not as good. The old max tracks did crack on the fwd edge but the new ones are a lot better. A simple hint if you are using them in sticky mud spray the back of them with a oil/silicone spray & they won't hold the mud when you go to lift them (heavy & hard to get the mud out)
It's vince with the nissan 6 wheeler if you want to try some give me a call
AnswerID: 523366

Follow Up By: Tony F8 - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 08:21

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 08:21
Oh no, now we have enviromental issue with the residual oil left on the ground. Goodness me, what's going on, so far in this short thread, we have had a thief and a eco terrorist, whats gonna pop up next.
Merry xmas.
Tony F8
FollowupID: 804747

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 08:30

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 08:30
Tony, you missed the lawyer, who informed us that 'Being in possession of even a busted milk crate is still " being in possession of stolen property" - unless you can produce a receipt for the purchase! '.

I see a new business opportunity opening up, providing fake receipts for otherwise stolen milk crates. Fake ID's for school kids was just not paying enough!!!

Merry Christmas.

Jack

The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 804748

Follow Up By: Tony F8 - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 08:40

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 08:40
It may look to the uninitiated that I may have forgotten the lawyer, but my only mistake you honour was grammatical, in so much as not using the plural of thief, to cover the lawyer aswell.
Chers.
Tony F8
FollowupID: 804749

Follow Up By: duck - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 09:16

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 09:16
Tony f8
I did mean a vegi based spray oil not your used engine oil
FollowupID: 804751

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 09:48

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 09:48
And manufactured from organically produced vegetables one would hope.
Merry Christmas as well.
Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 804752

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 13:21

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 13:21
You may sneer at my warning - but dairies employ private detectives to find stolen milk crates - because it costs dairies $3.5M a year for their milk crate losses.

Here on the left coast, Brownes Dairy employed a detective who went through the industrial areas like a dose of salts. The fine was $100 a crate! Pretty expensive "free crates", wouldn't ya think?

Once the word got out, the blokes in the industrial areas were throwing out crates like they were infected with the plague.
Of course, once things settled back down to "normal", and the detective went elsewhere, milk crates gradually returned to regular "non-dairy" use!

Just ask Bunnings what it cost them to have a few Chep pallets propping up stuff! - and why they now have HUGE signs at every Bunnings store, saying, "NO CHEP PALLETS ALLOWED ON THESE PREMISES".
It cost Bunnings $13.5M to settle the Chep lawsuit!
FollowupID: 804761

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 14:50

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 14:50
Gday Vince, Hows life in the south? How's that awesome Patrol performing these days? Do you get a chance to use it much? Michael

FollowupID: 804768

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 17:12

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 17:12
I've never quite understood this - I'm sure it's illegal to pinch display cases or any other goods from your local stores but nobody sees fit to warn us of this.

I have three milk crates that I got my young fella to scrounge of the local restaurant that he works for. Not really expecting a bang on the front door???
FollowupID: 804775

Reply By: Member - Ross N (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 11:19

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 11:19
Hi Michael
I have Maxtrax which I have only used in sand but found them effective & easy to use.
Before purchase I looked at the rubber roll up ones but discarded that idea due to weight
I am sure I have seen an article in 4x4 Mag not long ago but my better half makes me
declutter regularly so out go old copies
AnswerID: 523377

Reply By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 11:50

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 11:50
Has anyone bought (as opposed to "borrowed long term) used (as opposed to heard from the mates barbers 3rd cousin twice removed) those metal with holes punched in debogging mats that the army had bolted to the sides of their Landrovers?

Only problems were distinguishing between a bogged and a broken down Landy and the fact that they "lubricated" them as you used them. (;=)))).

Yes I have owned a Landy some time ago...lol.

AnswerID: 523378

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 19:10

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 19:10
Pop - Are you talking about this stuff? Yes, I did acquire a couple of sheets, and it's pretty useless, overall.
It's too smooth to provide any degree of tyre grip, and you need that gripping ability.

I never ever saw any of the stuff, for the time I was in the Army and RAE (2 yrs) - however, it might have been used by the RAASC or perhaps the SAS.

It's now available new, in aluminium, and it's called Mantec matting - made by Mantec in the U.K.
However, the Mantec website is pretty light on supplying details about it. Just shows it's probably not one of their "top-selling items".

This product looks about as practical as you can get - with tyre traction ribs, light weight, and easy storage.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7t1e2vY_Rpo#t=44

IMO, a length of expanded aluminium mesh will get you out of a bog as effectively as all these "dedicated" bog mats.

FollowupID: 804783

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 23:27

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 23:27
Yeah, that's the stuff Ron. Never used any but saw some bolted to the side of an SAS LRPV (6x6) many years ago. Also saw some pics of a vehicle a few guys were setting up for a Sahara Desert crossing and they had a few lengths tied down on the roof rack.
I've got a set of Maxtrax that have only been used in anger a couple of times and then on beach sand. Got me out of the sh1t.
I got the impression looking at those debogging mats that they would be ok in sand. Mud maybe not so much. Personally mud driving is something I try to avoid.

FollowupID: 804796

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 23:57

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 23:57
It's interesting that this plate (or planking), was consistently referred to by the American military in WW2 as "steel landing mats" - as that was their primary designed use.
They were inducted into use as bog mats as an afterthought, from what I can see.

The planks were more commonly called Marsden Matting, it was known in official U.S. Army parlance as PSP (Perforated or Pierced Steel Planking).

During WW2, there were actually 5 types of American "steel landing mats".
These were; PSP, Light bar-and-rod, Heavy bar-and-rod, Irving Grid, and Sommerfield.
The Irving grid was a plate with a criss-cross pattern - and the Sommerfield was just like a heavy netting, reinforced with short longitudinal steel bars, that could be rolled up.

WW2 Marsden Matting was fairly readily available in the 1950's and 1960's and started to become scarcer in the 1970's.
It's strong stuff, but too heavy to carry around on a light vehicle. It was designed to be laid and to stay laid, as aircraft support areas and runways - not as a portable bog mat.

For this reason, PSP was constructed with bayonet hooks at 90 degrees along its edges, which were slid into corresponding holes in the adjoining plate, thus interlocking the plates.
The plates were then locked completely together with a spring clip.

Many a farm or station still has WW2 Marsden matting in use as stockyard panels.
Over 2M tons of PSP was produced by the Americans during WW2.
Some was also produced in aluminium, for ease of air transport. It was then called PAP.
I don't think it was a large quantity, because aluminium was in high demand for aircraft construction during WW2. I've never seen any in aluminium.

Here's a photo from the U.S. War Dept, Aviation Engineers Technical Manual, showing the 5 different types of landing mats.

http://oi42.tinypic.com/16k8844.jpg

FollowupID: 804799

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 12:54

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 12:54
Actually, an old mate who was a truckie and who used to haul Adelaide to Darwin in the days when the Stuart Hwy was just a fabulous future dream - reckoned the best de-bogging mats he ever found .... were scrap radiators, that he was carrying!

He used them many a time to get through the worst patches of the "military North-South road".
I guess he also gained a certain amount on the scales, due to embedded sand and dirt, when he went to sell them to the scrappies, too! A win-win situation! [;-)

Of course, the problem today is that copper radiator cores (I guess there are still a few around) are getting more difficult to find, as well as expensive ($3.50 kg the other day at the scrappies) - and I'm not sure these new-fangled aluminium cores with plastic tanks would stand up as well as copper cores, under the wheels in a bog! [;-)
AnswerID: 523383

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 13:36

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 13:36
Hi Michael,
While the max tracks, trees ect are good I bought sand ladders, ( fibreglass grate used in corrosive, flammable areas. These are very popular I'm Europe and a lot cheaper. In addition you can use them for bridging as they support the weight of the vehicle. The club I'm with bulk purchased 8 pr at $ 117 a pr. bac in those days max tracks were $300

In saying all that, I've only used them once in 3 years to help someone else out
AnswerID: 523386

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 14:47

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 14:47
Thanks to everyone who replied with a sensible "reply" :)) Michael

AnswerID: 523388

Reply By: Member - silkwood - Tuesday, Dec 24, 2013 at 19:04

Tuesday, Dec 24, 2013 at 19:04
I used bread crates (longer than milk crates) which I obtained legally (thank you very much). Joined with hose clamps after the first use busted the cable ties. Only used them once after that, they were fairly average in loose sand.
Purchased Treds and have used them three times. Each time they have been great (twice on sand and once on bauxite "ball bearings"). Can't see much difference between them and the max tracks- other than they appear to be a little stronger and they cost a damn site less. Before I purchased them I read lots of reviews/opinions and any I found bagging the Treds turned out to be owners bias with no real data to back it up. Not knocking the max tracks (they appear to work well) but I bought the Treds for $169 (1100 long) from Ray's on special.

AnswerID: 523481

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Dec 26, 2013 at 17:59

Thursday, Dec 26, 2013 at 17:59
Gday Michael,
I travel in company of others, so haven't seen the need to buy a set myself, as we usually tow/snatch or winch.
But I've played around with Maxtrax on other occasions. Problems I've seen are the knobs can get smoothed off by spinning tyres. Also they easily disappear into soft sand, so others who use them tie a long rope to each of them so they can be found! I have no experience with the Treds so don't know whether they share the same problems.

Hope you've had a good Xmas and a few days free!!
Cheers, Phil
AnswerID: 523538

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 27, 2013 at 21:26

Friday, Dec 27, 2013 at 21:26
Thanks again to all who replied! Michael

AnswerID: 523577