Trailer height

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 10:05
ThreadID: 105985 Views:1965 Replies:2 FollowUps:9
Hi guys,
Just noticed on our maiden trip with the camper, that the height of some of the trailers are a bit more than mine. Can I just change tyres to give me extra height or do I need to do something else. Very new to the camper trailer game so go easy on me please ??

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 10:49

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 10:49
Depends a bit on the type of suspension and the tyre and wheel combination. Do you need the extra clearance or is it just "keeping up with the jones's"

If it's a solid axle a lot of people sling the axle under the springs rather than on top of them.
AnswerID: 525261

Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 10:50

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 10:50
"If it's a solid axle a lot of people sling the axle under the springs rather than on top of them." And Leaf Springs of course!
FollowupID: 807144

Follow Up By: shortylook - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 11:37

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 11:37
Ha ha, no mate I'm not a keep up with the "jones" type, I can't afford it. It would just make the stabilizer legs easier it put down. It has 15" rims on it ATM, but I have some landcruiser rims at home that are 16 so I was going to try them. I figure a inch of height will make it heaps easier.
FollowupID: 807148

Follow Up By: gbc - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 11:56

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 11:56
The main thing to watch is the drop length of the canvas from the trailer to the ground. Lift a camper too high and you join the club of people who have to dig a hole or deflate their tyres to get the tent to sit correctly.
FollowupID: 807150

Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 12:05

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 12:05
As with most things these days there are "legal Issues" with putting larger wheels and tyres on any registered vehicle, so it might be worth a check with your local authority on what their rules are. NSW seems to be one of the toughest these days.
FollowupID: 807151

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 12:51

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 12:51
Matching your trailer wheels/tyres with your vehicle to aid the spare situation is more important to many people Shorty.
FollowupID: 807156

Follow Up By: Ross M - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 13:13

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 13:13
Besides the height issue, bigger dia rims usually means bigger dia tyres to get that height, but the clearance between the current size tyre and the guards may be severely diminished and the bigger tyres will rub or burn the guards or even wear them right through.
Not good for the tyres either.

So a careful look at ALL relevant factors is essential before deciding on a change.

FollowupID: 807159

Reply By: Krooznalong - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 14:13

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 14:13
G'day Shorty
Don't worry about what other trailers look like.

If your trailer's ground clearance isn't an issue (and usually it isn't with CTs) and it tows nice and level you're probably best off leaving it alone.

Would suggest that you make sure the tyres are LTs if you're going off the beaten track.

Whilst matching CT and vehicle tyres is a good idea it isn't essential.

Also yours is the hard floor isn't it? If so changing the tyre height can affect how well the floor sits on the ground. And on that point, carry a few bits of wood to stick under the floor where it doesn't touch the ground - I have found it quite a rare occurrence to find nice level/flat ground.
AnswerID: 525271

Follow Up By: shortylook - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 15:29

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 15:29
Cheers mate, will probably just see how I go. I was interested in matching tyres to have a couple more spares, but that's a bit away as the ones on here are brand new, with our trip they have dome 2000km all up.
FollowupID: 807169

Follow Up By: Krooznalong - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 15:40

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 15:40
So how have you found the world of CTs?

I've had 2 in last few years after a lifetime of tenting. One soft floor and now a hard floor.

Still in two minds - the CTs are good in some situations but a pain in others. Can't say I particularly like towing - makes poking around a bit more problematic. Certainly better in foul weather.

The current one is a cheapy - different brand to yours. I just couldn't come at paying as much for a CT as for a small car so went the cheap route figuring I could fix any issues. Had to do a few mods and now happy with it.

Have never bothered to match all tyres - I just carry plugs, tubes and repair gear and so far so good.

Suggest you just get used to it over a few trips - work out what works and what needs fixing and then make changes.
FollowupID: 807172

Follow Up By: shortylook - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 17:02

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014 at 17:02
Mate, we have always tented it or unit/house. My wife and me love the camper trailer. So big so comfy and bloody great in wet/wild /windy conditions. I have a few little things to do that we want to make it suit us, but apart from that it's a triple thumbs up from both of us. I was going to match tyres but I have repair kits like yourself, bit more clearance would be ok, but that's easy to do talking to my 2 cousins.
FollowupID: 807179