Tanami Track

Hi, a newbie here
I am doing Gibb River Rd this year
We plan to drive up the centre to Alice and heres the dilema
Do I continue north to Katherine and turn left or do I take tanami track and great northern to Broome
Driving 2012 landcruiser 200 series and towing 23.5ft off road van with air suspension
I've heard the tanami is the worst gazetted rd in australia and recently heard its not that bad
any thoughts??
thanks
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 15:30

Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 15:30
Rusty,

My first thought was why have the 200 series and off-road 'van, if you don't plan to use their well documented credentials?

Tanami road conditions can vary from week to week, and can be as varied as peoples' comments. If you didn't want to try that route, the Buchanan H'way from Dunmarra, Top Springs to Timber Creek would be an interesting alternative. I've travelled that way in a Holden ute.

Enjoy the trip,
Bob.

Seen it all, Done it all.
Can't remember most of it.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 526951

Reply By: Krooznalong - Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 15:53

Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 15:53
Ignore what you hear to a large extent. What one person considers rough another doesn't. We've always checked things out for ourselves and would have missed out on some great stuff if we'd heeded what others said. We always listen politely but then make up our own minds.

In any event - a big downpour half hour after someone has come though could severely wash out a previously "good" track/road.

So go see for yourself - you have a capable setup. Drive to conditions, adjust tyre pressures, take it easy, enjoy it.
AnswerID: 526954

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 16:29

Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 16:29
You have invested in the gear for such roads, as others have said..go for it. I have