Cape York camp spots

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 19:19
ThreadID: 10658 Views:1814 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Has anyone got any good spots to camp along the road to Cape York, including the diversion to Weipa? We will be taking the Old Telegraph Track. Going in early September. Also, where is the best place to camp at the Cape itself? Thanks.

Reply By: basecamp15 - Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 19:58

Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 19:58
Coen camp ground is a good place to stop and it's free.
It's about 7-8 hours from Cairns which is also a good thing as you'll get there at a reasonable time.
Next stop is Weipa itself or you could stop at the creek about halfway along Batavia road (shortcut coming back from Weipa to go North). Archer River is not far from Coen so you might visit this on the way back.
Next one up is Moreton on the Wenlock River but I've heard some bad stuff about there recently with rubbish and stuff.
Twin, Elliot and Fruit Bat Falls are worth a look. Lots of creeks to camp on. I haven't actually gone this far....yet, but they're definitely worth a look.
Old Mapoon, 85 km north of Weipa is awesome.
Cheers, Mark.
AnswerID: 47357

Follow Up By: LynnP - Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 20:28

Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 20:28
Thanks, Mark. What's awesome about Old Mapoon?
FollowupID: 309335

Reply By: bretto - Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 20:54

Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 20:54
We went up there in September/October 18 months ago and the camping was excellent at Cullen point. We fish so were in Heaven. One arvo we caught over 100 fish right off the campsite, mostly queensfish and Blue Salmon. Mamolita Creek just opposite the point is full of good fishing spots and we managed to land our fair share of Barra, I got two over a metre long. The fishing is not hard so you don't have to work to get them i.e. more relaxing.
Fees were $5/person per day plus a vehicle levy of $30/car per day OR week. A bit strange that but it made the decision much easier for us to stay a whole week!! The local shop gave the same prices as Woolworths in Weipa or thereabouts (some items cheaper) and the lady up the road sold the cheapest ice you could get your hands on anywhere!!
I hope to get back there this September School holidays for a repeat dose. Hopefully the alcohol restrictions will not be in there yet as I like to have a beer on the beach at sunset over the water with a line out!!
Cheers, Mark.
AnswerID: 47365

Follow Up By: LynnP - Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 21:06

Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 21:06
You've made my husband's mouth water!!! He has only caught 1 barra in his life, on the Pentecost River, near El Questro. It was a pretty big one, but not that big. What are the alcohol restrictions you are talking about? We like to have a beer/wine at night on the beach too...
FollowupID: 309337

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2004 at 12:49

Saturday, Feb 21, 2004 at 12:49
What did you do with all the fish?Regards Bob
Where to next
FollowupID: 309525

Reply By: basecamp15 - Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 21:28

Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 21:28
That's weird. I replied under a different name, a mate of mine, sorry about that.
Unfortunately the government has imposed big restrictions on alcohol in communities on Cape York. Some places like Aurukun are completely dry so no alcohol whatsoever. Fines can be up to 75 grand and loss of vehicle so it pays to check before hand, even passing through is a no no. At this point in time mapoon has not come up with a plan, hopefully they'll allow some to be taken in but we have to wait and see.
Realistically it will kill some communties livelihood if they go completely dry, I cannot see the harm in taking in a couple of cartons in for a week.
One thing we didn't do last time was travel along the beach via car to Janie Creek about 13 km South of Cullen Point. Apparently another great spot.
Cheers, Mark
AnswerID: 47371

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 21:59

Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 21:59
I may well stand corrected here, but I think you'll find it's the communities themselves which have introduced prohibition.Fidei defensor

Rosco
FollowupID: 309351

Follow Up By: Troopster - Friday, Feb 20, 2004 at 17:30

Friday, Feb 20, 2004 at 17:30

Just reading through your last message on your mates name. Where about's on the Cape are these places you are talking about. The thought of catching fish in front of your campsite sounds pretty good. I am going in the first week of June. Will these places be accessible around this time.

Hope you can help
Geoff.
FollowupID: 309447

Reply By: basecamp15 - Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 22:09

Thursday, Feb 19, 2004 at 22:09
Rosco I think you'll find the government forced them to adopt the policy. each community was able to set certain limits on how much was allowed into the community. With some communtities I believe some pressure was placed on them to adopt a pretty strict policy because of the current conditions.
Cheers, Mark.
AnswerID: 47382

Follow Up By: Nomad - Friday, Feb 20, 2004 at 00:30

Friday, Feb 20, 2004 at 00:30
Like I said in another thread, - one rule for them and none for us!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 309383

Reply By: JimB - Friday, Feb 20, 2004 at 07:39

Friday, Feb 20, 2004 at 07:39
G'day LynnP,

I reckon the nicest places are off the main drag, can e-mail you a couple of pickies. Places like Chilli Beach, Vrilya Point, Pennefathers. The Moons guide to Cape York will show you some great spots. Good spots on the OTL as well but they get a bit of traffic through the peak season.

There are a few places to camp not far from the top - Seisia, Punsand Bay is really nice. You should go for a drive through Sommerset and down the coast track. Thats' what living is all about.

JimB
AnswerID: 47414

Follow Up By: LynnP - Friday, Feb 20, 2004 at 10:10

Friday, Feb 20, 2004 at 10:10
Thanks Jim

Would really appreciate it. Where do I find The Moons Guide to Cape York?

e-mail address: lpayne@msj.nsw.edu.au

Lynn
FollowupID: 309401

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce (San Diego) - Friday, Feb 20, 2004 at 11:22

Friday, Feb 20, 2004 at 11:22
Lynn,

Ron & Viv Moon's Guide to Cape York is available on this site in the shop area, also get a copy of the new HEMA Map of Cape York in the map section,

Good places to camp include, Chilli Beach, Somerset, Elliot falls, Bramwell Station.

Bruce

FollowupID: 309406

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Feb 20, 2004 at 17:24

Friday, Feb 20, 2004 at 17:24
All of the above are good but dont tell everyone.

www.capeyorkconnectiomns.com.auCape York Connections
AnswerID: 47456

Reply By: basecamp15 - Sunday, Feb 22, 2004 at 20:49

Sunday, Feb 22, 2004 at 20:49
We released all our fish for the week except for about 5 which we ate. Mapoon is accessable year round and while the fishing might not be as good in June, it'll be nice that time of year.
Cheers, Mark.
AnswerID: 47617