Snowmobiling in the wilds of West Yellowstone (Video)

Submitted: Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 14:19
ThreadID: 106637 Views:1694 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
MINUS 36 CELSIUS…WHAT THE! A variation of 74C in just 24 hours certainly (39C to -36C) makes for a different family vacation. How you can go from heat exhaustion to the risk of frostbite is an education and also a bit of fun.

To give you an idea of how cold it was, our GoPro cameras would not work, their batteries getting so cold that they would only discharge for a very limited time. To take your glove off or have any flesh exposed to the elements for more than 30 minutes was to invite frostbite.

Yep, it was certainly different but an amazing experience thanks laregly to our good pals (and International EO members) Scott and Gaby who travelled down to West Yellowstone in Montana from Ontario hauling 4 band new Arctic Cat Sleds. I think I prefer the desert and my quad though ;-)

More to come in the blog including a look at Yellowstone National Park in the midst of Winter.

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 14:50

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 14:50
Hi Mick

Very different of our deserts.......you would not want a Grizzly to come of those trees...lol

AnswerID: 528035

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 15:16

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 15:16
Thankfully the most of them were sleeping the winter away Stephen. Mind you I reckon I might have looked like one occassionally. Looking forward to a desert sojourn or two though.

FollowupID: 810473

Reply By: pop2jocem - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 15:31

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 15:31
Not too sure but I thought masochism was a medically diagnosable and treatable affliction....lol.

When we were the dealers for the Polaris brand (the other Ettien spelling? brother) we were offered a ride on one of their snowmobiles somewhere in the norther states of USA.
Sounded good on the surface, but would have been in their winter.
Minus 100 degrees, frozen extremities, snow drifts with big rocks and stumps inside, did I mention minus 100 degrees (;=0)

Looked like fun though, if you didn't mind a few fingers and other odds and ends snapping off...(:-((

AnswerID: 528037

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 17:00

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 17:00
You learn to be quick about a few things out in the forest that's for sure!

;-)

FollowupID: 810478

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 20:46

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 20:46
Yeah, I heard that you always put your back to the wind and never shake more than 3 times unless you want to invest in a Shewee..(;-0)

FollowupID: 810502

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 16:37

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 16:37
Were there any flies Mick?

AnswerID: 528043

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 17:02

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 17:02
Strangely enough Alan.....Nope! I did hear a high pitching whine every now and then but realised it was the good wife driving from the pillion seat again! Thank god it was too cold to put her helmet visor up lol.

FollowupID: 810479

Reply By: SDG - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 17:34

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 17:34
Always wanted to do the White Christmas thing at least once, and yep, even after hearing about their recent cold temps still interested.

My bet is your not going to say it is cold here in a few months. Just under 0 would feel like a spring day.
AnswerID: 528048

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 20:55

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 20:55
I will never complain again SDG!

FollowupID: 810503

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 20:20

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 20:20
G'day Mick O,

Just one question pal, what did you do come 'happy hour'???

Guess, maybe sit around a hole in the lake..or perhaps a weeny bit of service
on the 'Cats'..........you know, the usual stuff -repair this, plug that etc.

Oh and for din-din was it a nice cool ale followed by a can night...lol

Must be different that's for sure..........looks like a great time was had by all.

MJ
AnswerID: 528054

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 21:00

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 21:00
Man I do worry about you mate. The bar at the West Yellowstone Holiday Inn had $2 Scotches...yes you heard it right TWO BLOODY DOLLARS. We haven't seen those sorts of prices since 1971! You could say that I invested as much as $10 to $12 per night as did Scottie on that bloody dark rum!

$2.00 scotches, Gud gless America Hic.

FollowupID: 810504

Reply By: pop2jocem - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 20:49

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 20:49
Somehow sitting around having happy hour singing campfire songs in my best falsetto imitation of the BeeGees didn't quite do it for me.

AnswerID: 528056

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 21:16

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 21:16
Good stuff Mick.
Such a great experience, so much fun except for the cold :)

AnswerID: 528063

Reply By: PajeroTD - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 19:14

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 19:14
That's awesome Mick. Can't watch the video yet. When I first joined this website a few years ago now, I was still living in Melbourne, but now I live in Idaho Falls about 90 mins south of West Yellowstone. (I don't have a Pajero anymore either BTW, F-150 now). I still haven't been to the park in the winter so haven't done the snowmobile thing there yet. I think they have a free weekend coming up when they open it to cars, so I hope to go again then. I am jealous you got to do it in the snow and on a sled. It's a great part of the world for the outdoors, and Yellowstone is truly magical. Pity you didn't get to go real riding in the mountains and really open up the sleds, but that's a whole 'nother experience. You mentioned you have a quad, I have a Polaris Sportsman 850 Touring that I LOVE to ride on trails all around Idaho. I really believe all adventurous Australians would love this part of the world. Glad you had a great time!
AnswerID: 528128

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 21:49

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 21:49
Cheers on that. Have always enjoyed Montana and the Dakotas. Least populous states so that's always good for me. Amazing scenery and getting a look at Yellowstone in the winter from a snowcat was an absolute bonus. We just sold our 150 over there. Its sale helped pay our way. Turned out extremely well.

Mick

FollowupID: 810578