TOYOTA work mate tray back

Submitted: Friday, Mar 14, 2014 at 10:46
ThreadID: 106698 Views:1933 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
Good day guys,

I have a work mate with a fiberglass canopy .
I would like to convert it for camping ,
I may have to get a small additional trailer and make something up ,
the tray is approximately 8ft cross ft 6ft ,I would appreciate any thoughts on this matter , its only for my wife and myself ,
thanks guys .

Reply By: John and Regina M - Friday, Mar 14, 2014 at 14:15

Friday, Mar 14, 2014 at 14:15
A bit of information about which options u would like incorporate would b helpful.
AnswerID: 528316

Follow Up By: chris - Friday, Mar 14, 2014 at 14:18

Friday, Mar 14, 2014 at 14:18
all options but not a van THANKS
FollowupID: 810831

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Mar 14, 2014 at 19:40

Friday, Mar 14, 2014 at 19:40
You don't mention a budget, but my preference (and what I did for 8 years) was to mount a tradies canopy (with full height side opening doors). Get great access to everything.

But if you want to keep your fibreglass canopy.....I've got friends with that setup - they manage with a false floor - use the space underneath to store their gear and foam mattress on top. It's not what I'd do - I preferred to roll out a swag or pitch an easy tent.
AnswerID: 528342

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Mar 14, 2014 at 19:44

Friday, Mar 14, 2014 at 19:44
Also forgot to say is that nobody I know ever needs to tow a simple trailer behind a traytop - if you need to do that, you might be taking too much stuff. Some people have a camper behind a traytop as their "bed-on-wheels" but that's usually just a nice indulgence rather than a necessity.

FollowupID: 810861

Reply By: The Bantam - Friday, Mar 14, 2014 at 19:55

Friday, Mar 14, 2014 at 19:55
What sort of fibreglass canopy are we talking about here..I assume we are talking about a flat aluminium tray.

OH and how long are you and the MRS.

AnswerID: 528344

Follow Up By: chris - Saturday, Mar 15, 2014 at 10:22

Saturday, Mar 15, 2014 at 10:22
Good day
the canopy is only 1 meter high 7 ft 6 long 6 ft wide
I am 5 ft 8
The canopy is a flixi glass with lift up windows on the sides
with a tail gate whit lift up rear window
FollowupID: 810903

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Saturday, Mar 15, 2014 at 23:04

Saturday, Mar 15, 2014 at 23:04
The other thing to consider is what you want to spend.

I agree that the flexyglass canopies do't have the best potential.

Iff the shelf the Australian Work and Leasure and the 3XM have the best potential...that is..next to a custom build.

I have seen many options.....but to sleep two inside the canopy, you will have to take most of ya stuff out unless you go for a high canopy ad sleep on top of your gear.

For two a simple light camper trailer is a real option...if anybody can sell you one.

Or a roof top tent.

FollowupID: 810957

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Mar 15, 2014 at 10:12

Saturday, Mar 15, 2014 at 10:12
You'll need fly/mozzie screens for all windows, a 12v fan and line the interior of the f'glass canopy with marine carpet, or similar. If you don't do this, it'll be like sleeping in a rain forest.

AnswerID: 528377

Reply By: Gene E - Saturday, Mar 15, 2014 at 12:21

Saturday, Mar 15, 2014 at 12:21
G'day Chris. The flexi glass isn't the best canopy for your needs but could be made into something good. There more of a tradie type of canopy. Privacy equals security so blocking out the windows with curtains would be a good start. With a simple false floor of 3- 400 u can create good storage space making draws or just large slide out tubs but keep the top for sleeping. I might have to build a canopy for a mate soon and he said for camping he wanted to get an already made camper trailer kitchen with draws, sink, cooker etc measuring 1200x 300 roughly I think to drop out of the side of his canopy. Yours could be just mounted on a slide or even a heavy hinge at one end to swing out from under your bed. I luv canopies as your imagination can run wild.
AnswerID: 528386