Sim in Iridium phone

Hi,

I was looking at getting a sat phone and i know this has been asked 100 times on the forum but one of my mates was using his Telstra simcard in his Iridium phone. However he went to test it last weekend and it didn't work anymore. I am not sure if it's the phone or the service but has anyone tried to use theres in the last few weeks?

I rang Telstra and they told me this feature was not support (but doesn't mean it won't work lol).

I would love to know before i go buy an iridium phone if i can setup a next G account or not.

Thanks in advance for the info

Tiff
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: The Explorer - Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 17:27

Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 17:27
Hi

Mine works - turned on just then, plus I used it all last week. Iridium 9555 + $10 casual Plan - Telstra.

Cheers
Greg
I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

AnswerID: 528812

Follow Up By: tiffanymatthew - Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 17:30

Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 17:30
Thanks Greg, maybe it was due to the fact my mates was a pre-paid
0
FollowupID: 811419

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 17:45

Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 17:45
No worries - yes, pre-paid wont work. Strange that your mate indicated that it did work but now doesn't if he has pre-paid? Based on my understanding it should never of worked.

Cheers
Greg
I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 811421

Follow Up By: Colcam42 - Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 18:11

Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 18:11
Hi all, shouldn't the SIM have Global Roaming turned on to work?
0
FollowupID: 811423

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 18:20

Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 18:20
Yes must be on a plan and global roaming must be activated
Peter
1996 Oka Motorhome

Member
My Profile  My Position  Send Message

0
FollowupID: 811424

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 18:28

Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 18:28
Yes, it needs to have international roaming turned on, and they will not do this with prepaid. Those wanting to get the $10 casual plan now may well be out of luck, as it seems that $25 is now their cheapest casual plan and this only available by phone ie not showing on website.

Maybe it depends on where the satellite it picks up are. I took my prepaid mobile to Bali last time, and used my sister's phone while there. She was fiddling with my phone and found it worked, without international roaming, and still on prepaid.

Motherhen
Motherhen

Red desert dreaming

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

0
FollowupID: 811425

Follow Up By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 19:54

Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 19:54
Call me a PIA but why don't members/ contributors do a search BEFORE asking a question????
All your questions and MORE would have been answered!
Sorry I just had to say this............
Insanity doesnt run in my family.... it gallops!

Member
My Profile  Send Message

0
FollowupID: 811431

Follow Up By: hillbilly80 - Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 20:41

Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 20:41
Mother hen, I concur.
I have just spent 1/2 an hour on the phone with Telstra today inquiring about a sim to go in a iridium sat phone that I am borrowing for our Kimberley trip this year. After being shuffled from department to department and no one really knowing what they were talking about, all I really got was that the cheapest monthly no contract plan is $25/month. The line then cutout, so I can't report anymore info.
I think I'll go into the local Telstra shop for my next line of questioning.
Mick
0
FollowupID: 811436

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 20:57

Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 20:57
Hi Tony

The original question in this instance was if the use of a "normal" telstra sim card still works in a sat phone as the OP had been informed by a friend he was having issues in recent days - no search would have provided an answer to this specific question.

The simple answer was - Yes a Telstra sim still works. The fact that the OP indicated that his friend's sat phone previously worked indicated to me that his SIM was post paid with roaming enabled so I initially didn't mention either of these requirements.

One or two subsequent responses did indeed mention the need for post paid/roaming (as detailed in many previous threads - I assume this is your issue?) but it wasn't a "question" from the OP. Happens sometimes.

Cheers
Greg
I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 811437

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 21:48

Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 21:48
Mick, while members here know the trick works, Telstra staff who are contracted to sell different plans will probably not be allowed to acknowledge, or may not even know about the trick. You are buying a SIM for a mobile phone on the cheapest plan available to have on hand for occasional and emergency use. They need not know what sort of phone you will be using it in.

"Mother hen, I concur.
I have just spent 1/2 an hour on the phone with Telstra today inquiring about a sim to go in a iridium sat phone that I am borrowing for our Kimberley trip this year. After being shuffled from department to department and no one really knowing what they were talking about, all I really got was that the cheapest monthly no contract plan is $25/month. The line then cutout, so I can't report anymore info.
I think I'll go into the local Telstra shop for my next line of questioning.
Mick"
Motherhen

Red desert dreaming

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

0
FollowupID: 811438

Follow Up By: hillbilly80 - Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 21:59

Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 21:59
Copy that motherhen, I'll use your approach when I go to my local store.
Mick
0
FollowupID: 811441

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 22:22

Friday, Mar 21, 2014 at 22:22
...also keep in mind if you are a new Telstra customer getting international roaming activated (as previously explained in other threads..sorry) may be hindered until they confirm your bill paying abilities (i.e. a few months "probation"). I just rang up and got it activated straight away but have heard others have had problems.

Cheers
Greg
I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 811443

Follow Up By: Villatranquilla - Saturday, Mar 22, 2014 at 12:10

Saturday, Mar 22, 2014 at 12:10
I activated 'global roaming' on line for my post paid Telstra phone
0
FollowupID: 811471

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 01:36

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 01:36
Hi, every one mentions using a telstra sim, will not other providers sim cards work as well?
I have a TPG service, will that work in a iridium 9505?
Cheers,
Will
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

0
FollowupID: 811820

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 10:50

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 10:50
Hi

My understanding is that Telstra sims work because they have a deal with Iridium to use their satellites/system. Other "normal" mobile phone providers don't..so my conclusion is that their sims wont work in an iridium phone.

Optus have satellite plans that utilise the Thuraya satellite network but I have never heard of anyone getting a Thurya Sat phone to work with a "normal" Optus mobile phone sim, which is not to say its not possible, just never heard of anyone trying.

You can also get satellite sleeves for Iphones..which turns them into a satellite phone but you need to be on a Thuraya/Pivotel Satellite Phone plan (maybe other options?) which sounds like the normal sim is given the flick.

Cheers
Greg
I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

1
FollowupID: 811861

Follow Up By: Member - RUK42 (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 12, 2014 at 20:46

Saturday, Apr 12, 2014 at 20:46
I have used the Telstra $10 casual sim before but that was a couple of years ago. I don't think it does any good to go into the Telstra shop and say you want a sim for a sat phone. I don't think it's the company line to say it works if indeed they know anything.
However I notice that all Telstra pre-paid sims now come with international roaming turned on as standard so maybe they will work - just need someone to try it.
cheers
Kevin
Suitcase
Prado SX and a little van

Member
My Profile  My Position  Send Message

0
FollowupID: 813326

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Apr 12, 2014 at 21:28

Saturday, Apr 12, 2014 at 21:28
If it has international roaming, it would have to work Kevin. A few years ago they told me they wouldn't do international roaming on prepaid because by the time the charges reached them from some countries, the prepaid had been used and often the number disused.

They later struck a deal and would add some countries to prepaid.

Oddly enough I was asking for when we were going to Bali. Next time we went my sister was fiddling with my phone and found it worked on prepaid in Bali.

Mh
Motherhen

Red desert dreaming

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

0
FollowupID: 813336

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Apr 12, 2014 at 21:48

Saturday, Apr 12, 2014 at 21:48
...Not sure that's the whole story..will need (as Kevin indicates) some one to test in a sat phone to prove pre-paid + roaming does work (apparently contrary to previous reports as far as I can figure).

Plus...not sure pre-paid is a good choice even if it does work. If your credit runs out in the middle of nowhere, how do you recharge? No problem if you are on a holiday in Bali (use Skype - cheaper)...but different elsewhere.

Cheers
Greg
I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 813339

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Apr 12, 2014 at 22:01

Saturday, Apr 12, 2014 at 22:01
Hi Explorer

As it is the necessity for international roaming, if the card has full international roaming, not just the few selected countries which they made the agreements with back when I was looking at it (but not for sat phone then) it would have to be OK.

I can ask them about international roaming and if they can do it, I will try it in the sat phone.

Good point about credit expiry. When we were travelling I used the computer for most of my communications, but occasionally I needed to make a phonecall when I didn't have an email address. Cost me $20 every time as the one month credit period had always run out. I worked out I could then change to an offer where $60 would give twelve months credit. Worth it to know I have credit for twelve months.

Mh

Motherhen

Red desert dreaming

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

0
FollowupID: 813340

Reply By: Mark T6 - Saturday, Mar 22, 2014 at 16:54

Saturday, Mar 22, 2014 at 16:54
Works a treat, been doing it for years, but beware BLOODY expensive if you need to make a call....$4.00 a minute.

But gee handy to have....I just have the second hand 9505 in my glovebox, if needed just pull it out, take the SIM out of my wifes phone, turn it on, hooks up to Irridum...and away we go!!
AnswerID: 528889

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Saturday, Mar 22, 2014 at 17:48

Saturday, Mar 22, 2014 at 17:48
Yep, that is all well and good but I imagine that would be damn tricky to do with a broken arm or if your vehicle has just rolled. That's why it is in my opinion better to always have a sim in the Sat phone and ready to go.
Just saying, not having a crack. Situation to think about anyway.

Cheers
Peter
0
FollowupID: 811487

Reply By: Rod D1 - Saturday, Mar 22, 2014 at 20:56

Saturday, Mar 22, 2014 at 20:56
I got a $10 casual plan only about 2 weeks ago.
I couldnt find it on the Telstra website so I went into the shop and asked for it.

When I mentioned that I hadnt been able to find it on the website I was told that they didnt really advertise it.

Also be aware that if you are a new Telstra customer you will have to provide a $300 bond to activate global roaming.
I was told I had to pay it when I rang to activate it even though I have been a Telstra customer for about 15 years. I went back to the shop and they sorted it out for me.
AnswerID: 528899

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Sunday, Mar 23, 2014 at 10:12

Sunday, Mar 23, 2014 at 10:12
Interesting................I went to the local Telstra shop yesterday and the cheapest post paid casual plan I could get was $25.00 per month.

Did you get a post or pre paid casual plan Rod D1?

Cheers
Peter
0
FollowupID: 811536

Follow Up By: Rod D1 - Sunday, Mar 23, 2014 at 11:49

Sunday, Mar 23, 2014 at 11:49
I got a post paid plan.
I just had a look at the paper work. I got mine on the 28/2 so about 3 weeks ago. I wonder if it has been discontinued since then.
0
FollowupID: 811553

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Sunday, Mar 23, 2014 at 12:40

Sunday, Mar 23, 2014 at 12:40
Maybe, but I did ask the assistant how long ago they stopped the $10.00 plan as I have had a few previously. He told me "about 2 years". I have purchased my last one about 23 months ago.

Anyway I guess $25 for one months use is nothing to grizzle about in the scheme of things.

Peter
0
FollowupID: 811557

Follow Up By: zane p - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 14:16

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 14:16
Please excuse my new to forum and sat com ignorance. What size SIM card do the iridium handsets take. e.g. could you swap sim from a Samsung Note 2 for example (25mm x 15mm : "micro sim"). The thinking is to use a Telstra post paid SIM in my every day phone for every day use, then global roaming for when placed in the Sat Phone as discussed here or am I missing somthing?
0
FollowupID: 811727

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 14:23

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 14:23
Hi
Think they all take original "big" sims but you can get adapters for micro sims so its not a problem.

Cheers
Greg
I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 811730

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 14:31

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 14:31
Our 9500 takes the full credit card size sim, but I think the rest take smaller sized sims. As said you can get adaptors to go from any size to any size.

Cheers
0
FollowupID: 811732

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 14:50

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 14:50
Sorry wasn't aware of the credit card variety..my reference to "big" was postage stamp size e.g. sim for Iridium 9555. My generalisation was obviously incorrect.

Cheers
Greg
I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 811735

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 14:56

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 14:56
All good Greg, nothing stays standard for long.

Peter
0
FollowupID: 811737

Reply By: Member - fawkesp - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 18:35

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 18:35
Tiff,

I have a sat phone (Iridium) and I hire the sim when we go away. I rang Telstra last week to ask about a casual plan and they advised that they only offer casual plans on mobile sims, not for satellite access.

For sat sims, minimum they could offer was a 2 year contract @ $35 per month.

They suggested I speak to a mob in Darwin called Satellite Hire (http://satellitehire.com.au/) who rent out satellite phones and/or sims. I have rented a sim for our June trip @ $30 per week plus calls - more than happy with that!

I trust this helps.

Peter.
AnswerID: 529099

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 06:07

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 06:07
I don't see what you are happy about, $25.00 for 1 month sounds much better than $30.00 for 1 week. I don't know what your call costs are so that would have to be factored in.

At the Telstra shop you don't tell them it is for a satellite phone, all you want is a $25.00 month casual post paid plan with international roaming activated.

Regards
Peter
1
FollowupID: 811821

Reply By: zane p - Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 03:34

Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 03:34
More a new post than a reply. actually I wanted to ask Skulldug how things are going with his experience of the latest Iridium 9575 "Extreme" but it seem I cant post a rely/follow up to his original post.

Can anyone confirm if the Telstra GSM SIM trick works with that modle Iridium (9575 Extreme)?

And does anyone have any experience with the "online tracking" function of this phone?

Zane.
AnswerID: 529222

Reply By: Shelbyright - Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 11:03

Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 11:03
i have an Iridium 9575 Extreme, and just got the Telstra $10 casual plan and i havent got it to work. i called Telstra and have confirmed that data roaming is activated.
no luck so far.
AnswerID: 530740

Follow Up By: K&FT - Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 13:07

Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 13:07
Shelbyright it is not data roaming you need activated it is "international roaming" this is so the phone can access the satellite network.

frank
0
FollowupID: 813694

Follow Up By: Shelbyright - Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 16:47

Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 16:47
Apologies Frank, that was a miss print, meant to write International Roaming is activated.

Cheers
0
FollowupID: 813709

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 18:22

Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 18:22
Hi

Does the sim work in a normal phone ?

Cheers
Greg
I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 813713

Follow Up By: Shelbyright - Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 20:33

Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 20:33
Ok, it works!
Iridium 9575 Extreme, and yes Telstra need to be called twice to confim roaming is enabled.

by the way you also have to ask afew times over for the $10 casual plan, it still exists but they dont promote it.

now I need to know if I need to inlcude any area codes etc. In the dialed numbers?

Cheers
0
FollowupID: 813723

Follow Up By: Shelbyright - Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 20:37

Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 20:37
By the wayyo dont have to pay the $300 bond if you put in a business name. Must provide ABN.
0
FollowupID: 813724

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 21:01

Thursday, Apr 17, 2014 at 21:01
Hi

Good stuff..

Area code for home numbers is required (e.g. 08 ) ...no code required for Mobiles, just type number (maybe different if overseas).

Keep in mind it is expensive ..plus you pay for people ringing/sms'ing you..and recorded messages from missed calls (even if you don't access them) ..so something to be wary of.

Cheers
Greg
I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 813725

Follow Up By: zane p - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2014 at 15:15

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2014 at 15:15
Thanks for confirming it works with the 9575 iridium Shelbyright. Have you also experimented with the emergency "one touch button" functions yet? e.g. Do the emergency button functions (auto text message sent to a handful of your predefined contacts, and/or the GEOS service) still work when using a Telstra GSM SIM card?
0
FollowupID: 814487

Sponsored Links

Popular Products (13)