Toompine Pub - SW Qld

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 19:19
ThreadID: 106921 Views:1817 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Anyone been to Toompine lately ? Pub & campground still open ?

Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 20:43

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 20:43
Hi Steve,
Sorry can't help with your query, but will be watching the answers as we hope to be out there in about two weeks.
Checking out the Camps book the phone number is / was 07 46564863
Rob M

AnswerID: 529194

Follow Up By: Member - Stevo_62 - Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 06:56

Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 06:56
Will be there tonight and update you in next few days
FollowupID: 812057

Follow Up By: Member - Stevo_62 - Monday, Apr 07, 2014 at 17:58

Monday, Apr 07, 2014 at 17:58
Yep pub is still open and has free camping & showers . Big party the night I was there to send off current publican , new one due in next few days
FollowupID: 812873

Reply By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 21:42

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 21:42
The pub without a town!

No, not been there lately, but a couple of years ago it was great. Good camping and a couple of lovely young Texans behind the bar. Hope it hasn't changed - though the Texans have probably moved on :-(

AnswerID: 529206

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 22:29

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 22:29
Went through about May/June last year and had a top night. There was an article in the local rag not so long ago about the manageress (Jonesy??) pulling the pin after quite a few years. AFAIK they're still open for business but I suppose Google remains your friend.
AnswerID: 529213

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 07:50

Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 07:50
G'day,

Toompine is still open for business.

Check this or the upcoming bit of fun over Easter - http://www.queenslandholidays.com.au/destinations/outback/things-to-see-and-do/toompine-quickshears/index.cfm

AnswerID: 529229

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 08:13

Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 08:13
Sorry but that link doesn't take you directly to the event.
Type Toompine into the location box and it will take you to Toomplne.

Hoo roo.
FollowupID: 811954

Follow Up By: Member - Stevo_62 - Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 06:58

Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 06:58
thanks Mate , will check it out tonight & let you know if beer is cold enough !
FollowupID: 812058

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 07:17

Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 07:17
Give me half a chance and I'd join you for that beer.

We'll be through there later this year so save a seat for me.
FollowupID: 812060

Follow Up By: Member - Tony Z (NSW) - Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 13:20

Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 13:20
Don't know if it's still open but as said earlier had a great time there on the way to Birdsville races last year. Nice French girl behind the bar, gave us good info as it was our first time out that way and also run into Lisa Curry and her hubby there. Top stop off (day) had by all
FollowupID: 812086

Reply By: baz&pud (tassie) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 13:39

Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 13:39
Steve,
We were there July last year, free camping, and a great night in the pub.
Worth the visit.
baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 529245

Reply By: Villatranquilla - Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 18:04

Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 18:04
there was a bit of a story about it in the last outback magazine
AnswerID: 529264