Waeco 50l on 12v

Submitted: Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 00:42
ThreadID: 106937 Views:2078 Replies:6 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all.
Our Waeco has ceased to work on 12 volt most probably due to a failed internal fuse. I have checked that 12v power is reaching the fridge but it's just not working.

Question is do I get the fuse (presumably) repaired or as an alternative purchase an inverter to run the Waeco on 240v when it's in the tug? Also if I did go the way of the inverter what size would I require?

I would appreciate any help or advice in this matter as I'm a complete novice at electricity in any form, though I have been told by a wise man that you can't see it and that it can kill you.

Many thanks

John
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Crusier 91 - Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 08:49

Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 08:49
I'd get it fixed and purchase a inverter just in case the fuse goes again whilst touring.
AnswerID: 529293

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 08:56

Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 08:56
I'd get it fixed. You never know what caused it and the fault might migrate to the 240V side and you won't have any fridge then.

Phil
AnswerID: 529295

Reply By: Member - Matt M - Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 09:10

Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 09:10
Hi John,

As the others have suggested, better to get it fixed. If nothing else, running your fridge through an inverter is a terribly inefficient way of doing it in terms of power consumption.