Equipment needed for a caravan?

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 01, 2014 at 09:34
ThreadID: 107018 Views:2536 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hi Happy Campers: thanks to ExplorOz, we have sold our camper and ordered a Roma caravan. It's being built and won't arrive until mid-June.

As we are new to caravanning, what "stuff" do we need for the van - eg extended rear vision mirrors, sullage hose (how long?), food grade water hose (how long?), pressure fittings come to mind.

Can you help develop a list for me and other newbies to caravanning?

Thanks and all the best, RayJen

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Mark T6 - Tuesday, Apr 01, 2014 at 10:17

Tuesday, Apr 01, 2014 at 10:17
I am a relative newbie as well (only since December 2013).

You should get (if not buy) a basic "starter kit"....includes the sullage hose and the water hose as well as a short 15Amp power cord and probably a one litre of chemical for the dunny.

It's enough to get you going, the following is a list of what I have bought but the best advice (as I did) is go away for a week and see what you need.....some of these items I had from camping days.

Fold up Chairs
Fold up table for outside dining
Mat for under the awning (I had a C-Gear one that I also use un der my tent)
We bought a Baby Q (and cook outside all the time although not an essential)
Some wooden blocks (for underneath your levellers, a few of different sizes is good), these sources from home for me.

The following are "extra's" we have bought, none of which are essential but all worthwhile.

Trailer A Mate Jack and Jockey wheel (yes your van won't come with a jack....or at least I imagine it won't)...this is a great system, suggest you Google it to see.
A longer 15A power cord (yes sometimes you can't reach the power)
Hose bags (for rolling up the sullage and water hoses and keeping them tidy)
If you plan on travelling "outback", a water filter, you can buy an inline BEST Filter for about $100