Inverter Generatorsy - How quiet are they really???

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 22, 2004 at 21:56
ThreadID: 10714 Views:2165 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
I was at bunnings on the weekend and at the entrance they had a pedestal fan running. I had a look at teh fan and was then surproised to see that it was powered from a $198 - 2 stroke generator thats noise could not be easily disquished above the fan. It was situated just inside the entrance and 4 to 5 metres away it could not be heard.

I have a Yamaha invertor generator that I reckon is noiser. Is my genny just a bad one or is the hype about the invertors being the quieties just that - HYPE

Sean

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Sunday, Feb 22, 2004 at 22:21

Sunday, Feb 22, 2004 at 22:21
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm... an interesting hypothesis. But isnt the price dropping on generators.. 850 watters for around $140....at "the Warehouse" dont know how long they last but dirt cheap
AnswerID: 47637

Follow Up By: Member - Peter- Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 07:41

Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 07:41
An old rule of thumb. You get what you pay for.

I dont think the power output would be all that clean (power spikes) and remember to look at peak versus continuous rating. I just went thorugh the exercise and opted for a battery and christie generator.

Depends on your needs though.

FollowupID: 309654

Reply By: paul - Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 12:39

Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 12:39
yep, luv my batteries and christie battery charger. Had a honda EU10i, great little unit but bugger me if i want to run it for 8 hours a day to put in 64 amps into my batteries. And you can buy an aftermarket exhaurst system for the 50cc model that reduces the noise significantly.
AnswerID: 47707

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin (NSW/ACT) - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 16:24

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 16:24
Can you provide some information on the aftermarket exhaust system please. I have one of the early ones and it's pretty noisy.

Kevin - sitting here, thinking of there
------------------------------------------
2002 GU Patrol ST 4.2TD
2000 15' Supreme Getaway
FollowupID: 309823

Follow Up By: paul - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2004 at 11:49

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2004 at 11:49
I believe any exhaust place with a workshop can make one up but this is the place in brisbane i was referred to:

Christie Battery charger exhaust

$120

detachable

Lawnton exhaust shop

20 Paisley Drive, Lawnton Qld Tel: (07) 3205 4342

FollowupID: 309923

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin (NSW/ACT) - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2004 at 18:12

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2004 at 18:12
Thanks for that Paul. I called them up and they have made a few locally - they cut the exhaust shroud and extend the pipe with a right angled elbow and a new 6" pipe which goes into the ground or some container filled with coarse sand, apparently helps to reduce noise.

I think I can do that myself.

KevinKevin - sitting here, thinking of there
------------------------------------------
2002 GU Patrol ST 4.2TD
2000 15' Supreme Getaway
FollowupID: 309972

Reply By: Member - Jim S (VIC) - Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 12:49

Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 12:49
bought one 12 months ago could not be happier and with bunnings you shouldnt have any waranty problems.for $200 go for it only picture i could find that wouldnt
annoy/upset/confuse/stir any one
unless your a snail
AnswerID: 47709

Reply By: marklynn - Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 13:32

Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 13:32
A mate of mine bought a four stroke cheapie one of these & it's a ripper. Am going to buy myself one

AnswerID: 47712

Reply By: Groove - Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 17:13

Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 17:13
What seems quiet in a bunnings store is not quiet in a bushland setting at night. Generators while camping should be banned banned banned.

Even a low hum is enough to spoil a peacful nights camping, buts that just me.

AnswerID: 47741

Follow Up By: ThePublican - Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 18:26

Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 18:26
So tell us all that you dont snore.
FollowupID: 309714

Follow Up By: sean - Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 20:08

Monday, Feb 23, 2004 at 20:08
The post is about the the differences in generators.

Can anyone answer the question .

Sean
FollowupID: 309722