Thinking of doing the Great Central Rd in a 2WD Territory?

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 19, 2014 at 22:36
ThreadID: 107369 Views:3514 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Mid year, we've decided we want to do the Great Central Road. We have two cars, a 4WD 2009 Nissan X-Trail and a 2WD 2006 Territory. We're not really worried about about our X-Trail - it has A/T tyres, a UHF radio, a bull bar and some spotties. We've taken it off road heaps of times near home, but haven't yet managed to take it out into the desert.

Anyway, we're thinking of bringing our Territory along for the ride with our Nissan on the GCR. Good idea, or not? It's a stock, but it has been on gravel before and handled it pretty well. However, it does have road tyres. Do we need to upgrade anything before we head out? Suspension maybe?

Holly

Reply By: Kris and Kev - Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 06:40

Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 06:40
We did the Great Central last September and it was in fantastic condition, would have been no problems for a 2WD. Although the graders were working the road looked like it is well maintained. It is a great drive. It was a different story if you intend on completing the journey into Qld. The Plenty Highway was in bad condition, but Ok when driving to the conditions, but not really suitable for a 2Wd with the corrugations. Kevin
AnswerID: 530902

Follow Up By: Holly Anne - Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 13:51

Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 13:51
No, we're not going all the way to Queensland! We're heading to Alice Springs for about a week, then probably coming back the same way. And good to hear. We're pretty experienced when it comes to driving on gravel roads and tracks, we just haven't been on the Great Central before so we were unsure what to expect. We usually go out to Kalgoorlie and then stop. So it's good to know they grade it regularly!
Thanks!
FollowupID: 813899

Reply By: Aussie Noel - Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 09:05

Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 09:05
Hi Holly, In the early 70's when we lived in Alice Springs, our next door neighbour used to go back to Perth in his falcon ute that way and it wasn't called the Great Central Road then. In 74 we bought a holden sandman that had been driven that road when it was brand new and it came that way, so don't think that you will have any trouble now as it is regularly graded these days. Cheers Noel
AnswerID: 530910

Follow Up By: Holly Anne - Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 14:04

Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 14:04
That's good. If a Falcon can do it then our Territory certainly can.
Thanks Noel :)
FollowupID: 813900

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 11:52

Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 11:52
Hi Holly,

The road is in excellent condition at the moment and most of it is recently graded. Be aware however that it can change from week to week with corrugations getting quite bad in some spots depending on how long since the graders have been on it. Still usually not a problem as long as you drive to conditions, and carry an extra spare and have tyre plugs, and know how to use them. If anything will stop you, it will be tyres, or driving too fast on the rough patches. Other than that, you shouldn't have anything to worry about :-)

Oh, and most parts of the road used in 1974, are no longer in use.. LOL

Al
AnswerID: 530916

Follow Up By: Holly Anne - Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 14:09

Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 14:09
Yeah, we expect corrugations on any gravel road we travel on. And we'll be sure to carry an extra spare! We got caught out once outside of Newman - never again! Must get some tyre plugs, though. Never used them before so it'll be a learning experience.
Thanks!
FollowupID: 813902

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 22:36

Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 22:36
Hi Holly Anne

Even if not travelling on remote roads such as this, tyre plugs can get you out of trouble, but do learn how to use them properly, and practice it before you leave.

FollowupID: 813941

Follow Up By: Holly Anne - Monday, Apr 21, 2014 at 14:37

Monday, Apr 21, 2014 at 14:37
Will do. Got a few old tyres laying around our property so we'll get some practise before we set out.
FollowupID: 813972

Reply By: wizzer73 - Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 15:53

Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 15:53
A few years ago when I did the GCR I was passed by numerous falcons, commodores, magnas etc that the locals were driving. They weren't in the best condition tho. Even saw an old eh ute or similar towing an old van. Your Territory will have no problems.

wizzer
AnswerID: 530926

Follow Up By: Holly Anne - Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 20:27

Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 20:27
Very reassuring to know that sedans do it regularly.
Thanks mate!
FollowupID: 813934

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 21:24

Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 21:24
yep, most locals cars are 2wd, but also don't last very long ..lol
We've got a couple of backpackers camped here tonight in a Nissan Pulsar though :-)

AnswerID: 530946

Follow Up By: Holly Anne - Monday, Apr 21, 2014 at 14:36

Monday, Apr 21, 2014 at 14:36
Nissan Pulsar? Wow, they're brave!
FollowupID: 813971