HF Radio

I am aware that there are many threads concerning HF Tranceivers.
I have a Barrett 2050,it was installed in Northern Territory some 12 months ago when my wife and I were traveling around Australia.
We joined VKS737 as part of the installation and membership of this tranceiver.We had an option of an extra 12 months and did so,BUT find now that for $125:00 well we just dont use it any more,but we are looking at other options.I had some Amateur Radio Frequencies installed and also some other benefits as well.I am an Amateur Radio Operator,and do suggest that when and if one purchases one of these tranceivers that you get yourself an Amateur Radio license,pay the extra $100:00 and have Amateur Radio frequencies installed.
I am a Amateur Radio Operator and have used these frequencies as well as the VKS737
We have this Barrett along with the tuner and also we found that the 9' stainless steel whip antenna was a better than the supplied two piece 4' solid one that was supplied.
We have found that since installing this HF tranceiver we have had the need to help out at least two people who were broken down and also the need to get first aid assistance for another broken down and injured passenger that also had only a phone and nothing else.Sat phone is totally useless in some parts of Australia,as is cell/mobile phone BUT the HF comes into its own.
There are about three or four other organizations around,so I would suggest that you check out all organizations before settling for one HF company.
There are two main types of HF Tranceivers,the Codan and the Barrett.I chose the Barrett as there is a dealer in WA and they are willing to assist 110% of the time.
My wife and I are on another trip later this year,when we are heading up the centre of Australia from our current location of Peak Hill.We will continue to use the Barrett,its just a matter of which club we are a member of.