Camper Trailer

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 17:26
ThreadID: 107493 Views:3858 Replies:16 FollowUps:16
G'day all

I am in the market for a new "go anywhere" camper trailer.
What would you suggest?
I am currently looking at TVAN, are they as good as advertised?

Also with whom should I insure said unit?
If you wanna get to heaven first you must raise a little hell
OMD

Reply By: Member - dj880 - Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 18:19

Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 18:19
Hi Phasar
We have had a TVAN for more than 3 years and it has taken us to many out of the way places. Never had an issue and would recommend one. Unfortunately, Ours is for sale at the moment due to a lifestyle change.
AnswerID: 531349

Reply By: Kanga1 - Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 18:21

Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 18:21
Hi Phaser, we have had 2 Tvans over the years and an Aussie Swag. The Tvan we would buy again with no hesitation should the need arise, they have the best trailer suspension of anything I have towed. They have all the features we wanted, and are very easy to live with. Ours was insured with QBE from memory. Cheers, Kanga.

Tempus Fugit

Kanga.

AnswerID: 531350

Reply By: Cheeky1 - Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 19:07

Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 19:07
Hi Phasar we have had the conventional style camper and the Tvan. Incidentally, the conventional one was made by Track Trailer as well. Both had the MC2 suspension and we took them both on many outback tracks. We carried bottles of wine and stubbies of beer in them both, along with many other things in glass jars etc. Never had anything break!!! We went for the Tvan because it gives you the opportunity to slip into the bed compartment without the need to set up the tent. Handy for pulling up late on the road and/or if it's raining. We loved our Tvan - I still miss it...
It will go wherever you vehicle goes.
Camper trailers all have their limitations so we've progressed to a small off road caravan now. But if I was in the market for a c/trailer again, I wouldn't go past a Tvan.
Cheeky1
AnswerID: 531357

Reply By: Member - Wildmax - Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 19:45

Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 19:45
Yep, we feel the same about the TVan. Have had a MkIII Canning for more than two years now and been up the Cape, all around the Gulf and this year off through various deserts to the Kimberley.
As others have said, it will go pretty much anywhere your vehicle can manage - same track width as my Hilux, and we matched rims and typres. There are a wide range of set up options depending on time and weather conditions. We've had no problems at all with ours, and Track Trailer have been good to deal with.
Ours is insured with CIL.
Go for it.....!
Wildmax
2018 Hilux and Black Wolf 210 tent - for the outback tracks less travelled
Formerly an AOR Eclipse and a TVan

AnswerID: 531362

Reply By: Member - Andrew L (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 19:51

Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 19:51
another vote for the Tvan, had ours 3 years...taken it to some awesome places, wherever my Crusier can go, the Tvan can follow.

Deep in Karijini N.P.

I now have a Bushtracker caravan...and am finding it hard to convince myself to sell the Tvan..
AnswerID: 531363

Reply By: rocco2010 - Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 20:10

Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 20:10
Gidday

Don't own a Tvan but have travelled with people who do and they are a fine thing.

What do you tow with? In my on going research into camper trailers I have read reports that an optioned up Tvan may test the ball weight limits on some 4wd utes.

AnswerID: 531366

Follow Up By: Member - Wildmax - Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 23:40

Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 23:40
That ball weight limit is really only an issue if the option you're referring to is the full storage box (to take fridge/generator) on the draw bar - in which case you probably need a heavier vehicle. Otherwise no problem towing with the various mid-sized utes.
Wildmax

FollowupID: 814377

Reply By: Member - Graham N (SA) - Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 21:01

Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 21:01
Hi phasar,
We have owned a T-Van now for six years and have done over 80 thousand ks, stayed in it 380 nights and towed it to all kinds of places and on some pretty rough tracks. We did have a problem with the suspension, but I'm sure that was a maintenance issue that caused the problem.
I have kept a record of what we have done for such things as servicing wheel bearings etc.
We have ours insured through RAA here in S.A.
Graham
AnswerID: 531369

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 22:49

Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 22:49
I just went through the exercise and bought a Cameron camper - http://www.cameroncampers.com.au/
I have been very happy with it.

I have never owned a TVAN but everyone I have spoken to who owns one speaks highly of them. To me they did not suit my purposes as much as the Cameron and the Cameron was a lot better priced.

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 531381

Reply By: pling - Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 23:10

Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 at 23:10
Like you I wanted a camper trailer, but which one.
I have now purchased a second hand Canning T Van and love it.
My wife claims I have been looking for 10 years, but not quite correct.
I have been a tent man for 45 years, but now wished I had purchased a T Van 40 years ago.
Magic to set up and sleep in.
AnswerID: 531384

Reply By: Sigmund - Monday, Apr 28, 2014 at 13:26

Monday, Apr 28, 2014 at 13:26
Re insurance, CIL specialise and state auto associations usually have policies. A key question to ask is whether contents behind canvas are insured.
AnswerID: 531412

Reply By: Member - Peter G20 - Monday, Apr 28, 2014 at 14:47

Monday, Apr 28, 2014 at 14:47
Hi phaser
I see you live in WA.
Go and have a peek at WA camper trailers in Balcatta.
We are presently using their Eureka model and are 4 months into an around Oz trip.
It's been great.
We had a close look at the T Van and the Ultimate brand. Both impressive but expensive.
We found the hard floor camper lay out is by far roomier and being locally made you can see the people who built it if there are any issues.

Pete
AnswerID: 531415

Reply By: KevinE - Monday, Apr 28, 2014 at 22:00

Monday, Apr 28, 2014 at 22:00
I watched a TVan demo at the recent caravan & camping show in Adelaide; it took an eternity to put the jolly thing up!
AnswerID: 531441

Follow Up By: Member - Wildmax - Monday, Apr 28, 2014 at 22:07

Monday, Apr 28, 2014 at 22:07
A lot quicker than most CTs on the market
Wildmax

FollowupID: 814449

Follow Up By: KevinE - Monday, Apr 28, 2014 at 22:13

Monday, Apr 28, 2014 at 22:13
I've owned 2 different CT's & it was way slower than either!

In fact, it was slower than the one I want to supersede because that one is too slow.
FollowupID: 814451

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2014 at 17:58

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2014 at 17:58
It can be as simple as opening the back hatch and hopping in. We never use the awning for our travels and my partner can open it, and close it fully in less than 5 leisurely minutes...and she frequently does the job!
FollowupID: 814498

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2014 at 18:08

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2014 at 18:08
What's the hurry?

FollowupID: 814499

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2014 at 20:34

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2014 at 20:34
Which campers were slower Kevin?

FollowupID: 814573

Follow Up By: KevinE - Thursday, May 01, 2014 at 07:21

Thursday, May 01, 2014 at 07:21
Hi Peter,

I was at the CV & camping show and watched the demo of a TVan being erected. The demo was tediously slow.

Hi Shaker,

When touring & putting the CT up and down a lot, I find that putting a slow to erect camper up gets old very, very quickly.

Kevin.

FollowupID: 814592

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Thursday, May 01, 2014 at 09:40

Thursday, May 01, 2014 at 09:40
Howdy Kevin,

I wouldn't take that video as gospel, we have had our Tvan for 7 years and seriously it takes about 4mins. Without the annexe of course.

We rarely use the annexe unless we are staying put for 3-4 days but do use the shade sail often which takes maybe 3-4 mins extra.

FollowupID: 814597

Follow Up By: Member - Wildmax - Thursday, May 01, 2014 at 11:25

Thursday, May 01, 2014 at 11:25
Correct..........and only about 30 seconds if you want a quick overnight stop and just pop the hatch and clip the insect screen around the opening.

We've been tenting and in camper-trailers for 30+ years and nothing we've had beats our current set up for flexibility and go-anywhere ability.

Wildmax

FollowupID: 814601

Follow Up By: KevinE - Thursday, May 01, 2014 at 20:08

Thursday, May 01, 2014 at 20:08
"Howdy Kevin,

I wouldn't take that video as gospel, we have had our Tvan for 7 years and seriously it takes about 4mins. Without the annexe of course."

Hi again Peter :)

I'm glad about that as the guy who was doing the demo (live demo with a trailer, not a video) made it look extremely difficult!

Kevin.
FollowupID: 814644

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 10:02

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 10:02
Kevin, thank god someone siad it (and I'm going to get flamed here !!!)

I've watched that whole floor - drop canvas from the lid set up and pack up under the lid a number of times, and I thought it looked awkward. Having to reach up under the open lid to put the canvas away put me off that whole set up.

Get the sleep without opening the annex bit, but something about Tvans just doesn't root my boot.

But what do I know......
FollowupID: 814890

Reply By: Bryan (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2014 at 11:55

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2014 at 11:55
Hi Phasar,
we have a camprite trailer and love it.
we've been out to the carnarvan ranges multiple times with it, and all sorts of places I would not take many of the lighter built trailers. It goes anywhere the patrol can go. built very solid. One of the best things for us is it sleeps 4 up of the ground.
A friend has hired one a couple of times when they traveled to the middle of Aus and Birdsville.. they couldn't fault it for handling and abilities either.
they are built in WA, so you can go to see them in Wangara.
Ours is insured with GIO.

hope this helps
Bryan
AnswerID: 531468

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2014 at 17:54

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2014 at 17:54
Another vote for the TVAN, had ours 5 years and happy to take it anywhere we want to go.

Extremely easy set-up and a number of options as to how you set it up. previously owned a Kimberly Kamper, and whilst a good solid unit, In my opinion the TVAN is superior in a number of ways...

It is insured with NRMA.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 531493

Follow Up By: phasar - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2014 at 14:37

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2014 at 14:37
G'day

Lots of replies to my original question.....Thanx.

I see that we are insured by many different companies.
Next question is.....

Who will cover me when camper is on it's roof
150 km west Carnegie on the Gunbarrel?
OMD

FollowupID: 814558

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2014 at 17:20

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2014 at 17:20
A comprehensive policy is designed to cover for accidental damage or loss.

Read the PDS of the companies you are willing to consider, and if the intended uses are not excluded, than you can rely on the fact that it is included, that is how the law sees it.

Gunbarrel Highway or Pitt Street Sydney will make little difference to the insurer providing you meet the terms and conditions of the policy, that is your obligation to them. Their obligation is to provide the cover they outline in the PDS - too many people try to overcomplicate this by asking for clarification in writing! A policy that says we will cover you anywhere you are legally allowed to be means just that, no need to ask them is it applicable to the Gunbarrel Highway (for instance).

In fact, clarification is more likely to dilute insurance cover rather than improve it.

For the most part, insurance terms and conditions vary little between insurers as they are bound by similar re-insurance terms and conditions.

Good luck with your deliberations...and of course due your own due diligence.
FollowupID: 814563

Reply By: Member - DingoBlue(WA) - Thursday, May 01, 2014 at 19:55

Thursday, May 01, 2014 at 19:55
Check out Big Foot Campers in Midland. Excellent value as supplied. Can afford to up specs if required as base price is approx12k
Rather a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy!

AnswerID: 531603

Reply By: phasar - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 22:07

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 22:07
Thanx for all the replies, you maybe interested to know
that I am now the proud owner of a new 2013 Murranji Tvan.
OMD

AnswerID: 531780

Follow Up By: The Landy - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 08:38

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 08:38
I'm sure you well be pleased with your choice...

Any trips planned fr it?

Enjoy...
FollowupID: 814889

Follow Up By: Member - Wildmax - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 19:45

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 19:45
Good choice - you won't regret it. Happy travelling.
Wildmax

FollowupID: 814969

Follow Up By: phasar - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 20:56

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 20:56
Cape York and Anne Beadell Highway this year.
Would also like to go to Maralinga at the same time if not too difficult.
OMD

FollowupID: 814989