Patrol Electrical Probs
Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 16:19
Viper 172
Can anyone suggest a fix? I have a 99 Patrol GU DX (ex Telstra) 4.2 Diesel -recently the Daytime Running Lamp system, Instrument Lights and Tail Lights stopped working. All other electrics are fine. Headlights work fine when switched via the binnicle, and brake lights are ok too. Checked the under-dash fuses, but all ok, and only the tail lights have a marked fuse. There don't appear to be under-bonnet fuses or relays relating to any of these systems. Anyone know where this fuse or relay is?
Reply By: Roachie - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 16:32
Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 16:32
There is a bank of fuses behind the battery and beside the fuel filter, under a blue plastic cover.....or at least there is on my ST 4.2l and the 3lt model as
well. Can't remember exactly which fuses are there, but they are some "ordinary" ones such as
hazard lights etc, which you would expect would be under the dash.
I'm curous about the "Daytime Running Lamp system"....??
Reply By: flappan - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 16:42
Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 16:42
My 4.5 has a similar under bonnet fuse box as it sounds on the diesel.
Would be having a squiz there.
According to NRMA , there are no vehicles in Aus with daytime running lights (this was last year sometime). I doubt the 99 variety would have them.
Follow Up By: Roachie - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 16:49
Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 16:49
I reckon it's probably a Telstra feature.....I have noticed most Telstra vehicles do run with their lights on during the day....probably some sort of OH&S policy. I always thought they just did it themselves (ie: the drivers), but it would make sense to have it wired up automatically I guess, to save the driver forgetting to turn the lights on.
Follow Up By: flappan - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 17:02
Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 17:02
Yeah, I checked into it a bit more. I stand by my comments that prior to 2003 , no vehicles had DRL's.
However, most certainly after that , vehicles were, and a couple of
places were retrofitting them as part of OH & S , so yeah, it makes sense that Telstra Vehicles would have them.
Of course, I'm assuming they are "proper" DRL's (at max 25w) and not glorified Fog Lights . . .
Follow Up By: Roachie - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 17:19
Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 17:19
The Telstra vehicles I've seen, just seem to have their headlights on (ie: 55 watters)..
;
Reply By: Viper 172 - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 18:11
Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 18:11
Thanks Roachie & Flappan,
Yeah, I reckon the feature is a Telstra Mod -there's a sticker on the dash "warning" that the vehicle is fitted with a Daytime Running Lamp system. I just thought it was standard on all Patrols. It uses the headlights like you thought Roachie (none of those dicky little low-slung fog-light things)
I had already checked out the two fuse/relay boxes behind the battery -the fuses were ok, but not sure about the relays. Guess I could
check them by doing a swap out. None in either box were marked Daytime Running Lamps, or Instrument lights tho. This one might be a job for the Auto Electrician...
Thanks anyway
Follow Up By: Member - Tim&jan - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 18:45
Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 18:45
why dont you talk to nissan they are good over hear in the west at sorting out that minor stuff?gu bush basha
Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 19:13
Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 19:13
I had a same prob , fuse,s all ok . took me a while to find the prob . Try cleaning the fuse blades , that was my prob , no trouble since .Why go overseas when you can ExplorOz
ERROL
Follow Up By: Viper 172 - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2004 at 09:36
Wednesday, Feb 25, 2004 at 09:36
Thanks Errol -will try the blades
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 21:05
Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 21:05
Goto an Auto Sparky and get the system removed! No more problems.
Follow Up By: Viper 172 - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2004 at 09:35
Wednesday, Feb 25, 2004 at 09:35
I would Truckster, but I'm a lazy bugger and I like the headlights to come on and turn off without me asking...
Reply By: Member - Matt- Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 21:55
Tuesday, Feb 24, 2004 at 21:55
G'day Viper, I've got a 98 ex telstra patrol and on the week end had a similar prob. Headlights worked via the switch, but there was still no tail lights or dash lights. It turned out to be my fault cos while fixxing the spotties and cleaning the connections on battery positive I let the power supply lead for the daylight running system disapear amongst all the other crap, and not reconnect. Now all is good. Follow that lead from the battery and there is a 15 amp fuse in a holder on the way to the brain box of the day light system, good luck, mat
Follow Up By: Viper 172 - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2004 at 09:34
Wednesday, Feb 25, 2004 at 09:34
Thanks Matt,
I knew someone on the
forum would have seen this prob before.
Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2004 at 08:08
Wednesday, Feb 25, 2004 at 08:08
Maybe your truck was made by Volvo.Fidei defensor
Rosco