Large thermos for soups/stews

Submitted: Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 10:46
ThreadID: 107669 Views:1998 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Looking for a large thermos to put in soups and stews. Have got small ones for the children but need something that holds a litre or more for the adults.
Kind Regards

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 12:51

Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 12:51
Richard,

Stanley make a wide neck thermos, can't remember the exact size, but definitely over a litre, as well as their normal sizes. Imagine you would also be able to get no-name brands too, but spare parts may not be available for the el-cheapo ones.

Have you looked at the Dream Pots and similar cooker type products? Haven't used them, but there's been threads on here numerous times, with their good and bad points.

AnswerID: 532101

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 15:03

Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 15:03
Yep

A Dream Pot is worth considering. Not only heaps you tucker hot, but cooks it as well.
FollowupID: 815303

Reply By: Hino - Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 14:40

Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 14:40
Reminded me of this joke. All the best !!

An Irish lad has gone over to England for the first time and is hitching his way around when a truck stops to pick him up. He opens the door to hop in, then points and says “I’m not getting in, you’ve got a bomb on your seat.”
“That’s not a bomb, that’s a Thermos flask,” said the driver with a laugh.
“What’s that for?” asked the lad.
“For keeping hot things hot and cold things cold, I’ve got chicken soup in it.” Said the driver.
“What a great idea.” Said the lad as he hopped in.
Before he went back home to Ireland our lad bought himself a Thermos flask.
He was back home and went around to pick up one of his mates to take him to a footy game but his mate said “I’m not getting in, you’ve got a bomb!”
“That’s not a bomb, that’s a Thermos flask, it’s for keeping hot things hot and cold things cold.” Said our lad.
“What have you got in it?” asked his mate.
“ Tomato soup and ice-cream.”
AnswerID: 532105

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 15:52

Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 15:52
Better re-run that one tomorrow, in Friday Funnies, Hino.

Classic!

FollowupID: 815306

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 16:50

Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 16:50
Keep our head down. The 'fun police' here get a bit precious if you post any humour on any day bar Friday. Luckily I didn't laugh when I read it, but will do so tomorrow. ;)

The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 815310

Reply By: Member - Grundle (WA) - Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 18:22

Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 18:22
Hi Richard,I have the large thermos(about 1 ltr)Works well.

AnswerID: 532116

Reply By: Nev (TAS) - Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 21:39

Thursday, May 08, 2014 at 21:39
Hi Richard,
lots on fleabay. Prices are all over the place. Following deal looks interesting as is stainless steel which my family prefers.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/2X-TRAVEL-FLASKS-THERMOS-STAINLESS-STEEL-BOTTLE-1LTR-WITH-CUP-HANDLE-NEW-/201085729014?pt=AU_Picnicware&hash=item2ed1a4b8f6

Rgds
Nev
AnswerID: 532127