Fuel consumption on the Canning

Planning for a CSR trip later this year and I'm a little concerned over fuel supplies. We are traveling north from Wiluna. I understand that the only fuel stop is at Kunawarrijtji which is approx half way. We have a Ford Ranger PX with a standard 80 litre tank, I'm carrying extra diesel in jerry cans but I was wondering how much I needed to take and what kind of fuel consumption I would expect.
Any advice would be appreciated.

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 08:56

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 08:56
In a quite heavy 100 4.2TD we are planning on 25 L/100 and expect to get about 20 L/100. There are three possibilities for fuel, Kunawaratjii, the Capricorn fuel dump at well 24 and just off the track at Parrngurr west of well 22.

AnswerID: 532206

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 10:09

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 10:09
Just a minor correction, it's Well 23 for the fuel dump.
FollowupID: 815409

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 10:18

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 10:18
Strange, but not that it matters that much. My Westprint map shows it as Well 23. As do the Hema great desert Tracks and their Ruddal River NP maps show it as 23.

I would gather that in ordering from Capricorn one would find out for sure.

We will be using the one at Kunawaratjii store. Going to stop for a shower so may as well do it all at once. And by then the ice blocks would have run out.

FollowupID: 815410

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 14:38

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 14:38
Look at your original reply, you typo'd Well 24!

FollowupID: 815427

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 14:46

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 14:46
I had it all upside down mate. Just me.

Watching Pat Callinans video of the Canning at the moment. On "ONE".

FollowupID: 815429

Follow Up By: Penchy - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 07:30

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 07:30
I have that DVD at home and watched about the first 15 minutes before I had enough of that bloke, all I can see when watching him is Russell Coight.
FollowupID: 815558

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 08:04

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 08:04
Maybe change your ways then. I watch the shows for the places to go and things to do and see, not to listen to the presenters.

Like that 4WD Adventure wankers. Biggest hoons and environment destroyers but they do go to good places.

FollowupID: 815562

Follow Up By: Penchy - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 17:43

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 17:43
Got a sandy mangina Phil?
FollowupID: 815604

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 09:33

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 09:33
Three years ago I did it in a 3 lt patrol towing a tvan average was 17 lt/100. Same as the consumption on the hwy going to halls Creek to start the track.
There were three other vehicles not towing and they used 100lts billiluna to well 33. They were a 2.8lt patrol and 2 X cruisers.
you are going slow for a long time between dunes so the average ends up being quite good.
alan
AnswerID: 532209

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 09:54

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 09:54
I did the CSR last year and I allowed for the same fuel consumption as I would use fully loaded at top highway speed. Then allowed for extra just in case of incidents - like getting bogged or the sands where a bit softer than normal.

For a VDJ 79 toyota ute - heavy (really heavy) I allowed 25lt/100km. It is about 850 from Billaluna to Kunawarritji community. Really nice communities with a fair range in the shop and easy to get fuel. I did this stretch on my two 90lt tanks with spare. Then it is about 1100~ km to Wiluna. I used the 2 x tanks plus 2.5 jerry cans. This included being bogged a bit and checking out every well.

I could expect you could do better economy than me. The best advice I received was to estimate what you use fully loaded at highway speeds. Seemed to average out with the slower going on the track but hard going on hill climbs.

Serendipity

AnswerID: 532211

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 11:15

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 11:15
Same issue with the heavy car. But when you travel with all the "stuff" and try to be self sufficient it just grows hey!!

We have the main 90 lt tank plus 125 litres in a duel water/fuel tank and will have two jerry cans on the rear. I hope that I do better than 25 l/100 as planned. We were initially thinking of getting a drum at well 23 but are hoping that I can save fuel on the bottom half but if Billiluna is closed it will be close coming from Alice and then swing down the CSR.

Luckily we aren't in a rush.

FollowupID: 815414

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 10:03

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 10:03
Hi nzdave
The CSR Trek note on this site advises that for a diesel vehicle allow consumption as follows for Wiluna to Halls Creek.
4cyl 317 litres
6cyl 338 litres
8cyl 330 litres

These distances might help
Wiluna to Kunawarritji is 980Km's
Kunawarritji to Halls Creek is 850Km's

This post although old is still relevant - it may help
Canning distances

Also dont forget to get a copy of Work Completed Canning, available at the ExplorOz shop.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 532212

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 10:15

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 10:15
When I did it in a Discovery TD5 towing a Pioneer Argyle camper trailer, I had 80 litres in the Disco & 120 litres in Jerry cans.
I shared a 200 litre drum at Well 23 with another vehicle & following my policy of never drive past a diesel pump in the Outback, I purchased a further 80 litres at Kunawarritij which took us all the way to Halls Creek, as Bililuna was deserted when we pulled in there.
AnswerID: 532213

Reply By: Wayne NSW - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 10:37

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 10:37
I have always worked on 20lt/100km+ for a diesel.
This will vary with driving style, weight, and sand conditions.
You might have some say that they only used X amount to get through but do you really want to run out of fuel when you get to Billiluna or reach there with the fuel warning light on?
Better to have a bit more than a bit less.
The other consideration is the amount of usable fuel from the tank not how much it can hold, there is a difference.

Fuel is available from Well 23, Capricorn Roadhouse fuel dump, but must be ordered and paid for well in advance. We have put our in now for mid July. It is the cheapest fuel on the Canning.
I know that I will not get the full drum of fuel (200lt) into the tanks when I get there, and rather than leave any behind I will take empty jerry cans with me and use them for excess fuel. Don't forget a hand pump and a Mr Funnel to keep the fuel clean.

AnswerID: 532216

Reply By: Member - DingoBlue(WA) - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 10:51

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 10:51
Calculate based on consumption at highway speeds (or 20lt/100km). You'll have heaps. No need to worry about the Capricorn fuel dump as you can carry adequate to get to Kunawarritji. Fill up at Kunawarritji and you'll have enough to get through to Halls Creek. Best not to rely on Bililuna being open.
The 'highway speed' theory I've confirmed many times including 'Gunbarrel, Connie Sue, Simpson, and last year the Canning. Being a bit prudent I usually use the 20lt/100km just to make sure (vehicle 100 series TD).
Vehicles on the Canning included my L/C, a petrol 80 series, 79 series diesel with camper pod and a Nissan Navara diesel (the less said about that the better!). All vehicles returned nearly identical consumption to highway running.
Rather a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy!

AnswerID: 532218

Reply By: DiscoTourer - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 11:13

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 11:13
We averaged 15.2 litres per 100 fully loaded. North to south.

Tyres pressure play a big part. Higher pressures equals higher fuel consumption in sand.

We were able to carry enough fuel from Kunawaritji to Wiluna, and then on to Meekathara.

Off again next year with a trailer then so will budget on 25 litres per 100 to be sure.

Brett....

AnswerID: 532219

Reply By: Danna - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 11:32

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 11:32
Hi nzdave1
We drove CSR in 2008 and there was NO fuel drop from Capricorn Roadhouse.
Actually the side at well 23 was clean, and I mean really clean, not even greasy
marks were left on the ground.
Only fuel available was at Kunawarrijtji.
Unless Capricorn Roadhouse didn’t start drop-off fuel again, they don’t do it.
I would call there just to make sure …….
Cheers Dana

AnswerID: 532220

Follow Up By: Wayne NSW - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 11:40

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 11:40
Danna,
You are talking about what happened 6 years ago, I am talking about 10 months ago. A big difference.
There was a problem back then, there truck was burnt out, but it is up and running with the new owners of Capricorn Road house.

FollowupID: 815417

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 13:06

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 13:06
Yep we got our fuel from Well 23 in 2012 and had no issues

FollowupID: 815423

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 14:39

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 14:39
Dana, we got fuel fine @ well 23 last year aorund July. 6 years is stretching the advice a bit too far.

NZdave - fi you don't use the drop @ well 23, then given it's over 1000ks from Wiluna to Kunawarrijtji, for safety and excursion on side tracks you would have ot conservatively allow for at least 1200ks.

You've got to factor in your own vehicle fuel usage and the weight of the extra fuel and supplies.

Each vehicle is different so if oyu're going to carry your own fuel, it pays to lean to the conservative side...

There was a rash of stolen fuel form well 23 about 3-4 years back, but haven't heard of any thefts recently.
FollowupID: 815428

Reply By: Member - mechpete - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 14:47

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 14:47
you people are missing out on all the fun .
my petrol GQ averaged nearly 30lts / 100 down to CSR in 05
mechpete
AnswerID: 532226

Follow Up By: Member - Fab72 (Paradise SA) - Sunday, May 11, 2014 at 12:56

Sunday, May 11, 2014 at 12:56
I feel your pain Pete.
My "Fuel efficient" 4 cylinder 1.8 litre petrol Pajero io averaged 17.2 litres per 100 on Googs Track recently.
OK....so it's nearly half of your figures but I bought the little car on the presumption that it would be fuel efficient. Wrong. My sacrifices in size and power have saved me nothing. When you read above at how people get 20 litres/100 in a full sized rig (albeit diesels) I kick myself for choosing the small car option.

Fab.
FollowupID: 815489

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 06:57

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 06:57
I'm planning 25/100 in a Toyota 79 Series dual cab with TVAN in tow for the Anne Beadell and Sandy Blight Junction. If I do better, great, but I find going very conservative is the way with fuel planning...

Better to finish with more fuel than planned, than less...

Enjoy your trip...
AnswerID: 532313