Paying for fuel cards and fuel at Billiluna

Submitted: Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 11:12
ThreadID: 107811 Views:5289 Replies:12 FollowUps:14
Firstly before anyone says Google is your friend etc. The Billiluna store has gone over their data budget and I cant ask them. The responses date back to the 2000's and nothing recent. This is typical of the internet with most data not dated or so old Adam or Eve wrote it. Also I searched the Exploroz forum with "billiluna fuel cards" in a text search. In that response he didn't get a helpful answer.

With that in mind what is the story? Does Billiluna have any card facilities? Any cards at all.

We will be coming up the Tanami and swinging south down the CSR at Billiluna.

Please bear with me in being slow at responding. Off to the footy for the rest of the day. Go Parra.

Reply By: equinox - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 11:27

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 11:27
Phil, Billiluna has normal eftpos and credit card facilities, don't know about fuel cards.
Also Icecreams, meat, small stores etc.....

AnswerID: 532618

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 21:36

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 21:36
Thanks mate. We will be fine.

I know about the ice creams an likewise necessities!!!!

FollowupID: 815926

Reply By: Mick T3 - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 11:50

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 11:50
I've seen people using the WA concession $500 fuel cards at Billiluna 18 months ago. No mobile phone tower.

Watch out for the dogs. Six of them attacked me on a back street. An Aboriginal woman hit the biggest one with a thick branch and this slowed them down, but didn't stop them.

It is a wonderful town and far less dangerous than Balgo (Wirrimanu). Watch out for that water buggalo that hangs around the creek bed outside of town. The horses are wonderful, the ones that survived the helicopter culling a few months ago.
AnswerID: 532619

Reply By: Member - Andrew L (QLD) - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 11:56

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 11:56
For those out of the way places, community shops and fuels, I have cash...just in case the eftpos etc is out of action.
AnswerID: 532620

Follow Up By: John and Regina M - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 13:27

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 13:27
X2
Cash is your friend in the bush. He said it himself. If one of their systems is down then possibly more.
FollowupID: 815902

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 22:06

Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 22:06
x3 - remember lobbing into Kunnawaritji in 2008 or so and the Sat connection was down - cash or no fuel - much better connections now, but teckernology can still be fickle ....
FollowupID: 816017

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 13:48

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 13:48
Hi Phil,

Here is a link to our 2009 blog in which we tried to explain the Billiluna fuel payment system. Hopefully it has improved since then!

Val.

AnswerID: 532627

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 21:38

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 21:38
Thanks Val and tell John it's about time for a coffee.

FollowupID: 815927

Reply By: DiscoTourer - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 14:02

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 14:02
On the two occasions I topped up at Billiluna, eftpos was out of action. But I always carry a decent amount of cash when outback, so was fine. Traveling buddy had enough for Kunawaritji, but not enough for Billiluna so I had to lend him the cash too....did not want to leave him and his family behind.

Brett....

AnswerID: 532628

Reply By: pepper2 - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 15:04

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 15:04
Used to use caltex fuel cards....have fuelled up in two seperate places displaying caltex sineage on the building only to find out that they had changed from caltex to another brand a considerable time previously but not changed signage..cuoldnt use the caltex card..not caltex problem but easy to get caught.
Always carry spare cash...
AnswerID: 532631

Reply By: The Explorer - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 16:30

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 16:30
Hello

Also...From the website (view the cached content if the link to the actual page doesn't work)

"You are strongly advised to phone during office hours (weekdays) to check on availability of fuel: Tel 08 9168 8988"

AnswerID: 532636

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 22:04

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 22:04
Thanks Greg. We will arrive around midday and don't mind waiting. Only have to get to around well 46 for the first night. May even stop before then if needed.

Thanks mate

FollowupID: 815930

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Monday, May 19, 2014 at 10:18

Monday, May 19, 2014 at 10:18

Slightly OT but from Billiluna to Well 46 in an afternoon is a long way. I went through in 2011, got away from Billuna about midday and took two nights to get to Well 46.

The road from Billuna to Well 50 where camped the first night was very currogated the next night was between 46 & 47 because there was a lot to stop and look at that day.

Billuna to Well 46 may be a long ask.

FollowupID: 816050

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Monday, May 19, 2014 at 10:47

Monday, May 19, 2014 at 10:47
Thanks Alan.

As said we may even stop before then. No particular schedule. We only have 15 days to get from Billiluna to Wiluna. Hospital, school and work commitments are restricting our time away from Canberra. But it may turn out to be a good survey for a future trip. Not all of us are free to go anywhere, anytime.

It's only about 200K and we certainly don't want to travel at 20KPH on currugations nor will we be doing 80 KPH. So we shall see. And before you have a heart attack, we don't intend to do the whole Canning at 80KPH either. It's not a race but we don't have limitless time.

FollowupID: 816051

Reply By: Member - blackbird1937 - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 16:47

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 16:47
Hi. If we go to the outback we have to expect to pay cash for fuel etc as cash may be the only thing accepted. We have been in many places where the computers are down, no mobile service, radio or tv. I grew up on a farm in that environment plus no running water so it does not worry me. The trouble is many travellers want to visit the outback but complain about the roads, dust, lack of services. I have stepdaughter who thinks anything less than five star is camping. She cannot understand us leaving the caravan behind and tenting it in the bush. I met a traveller at Darwin in 05 who told me that his mate an him travelling in their vehicles had to come up with $2000 cash for fuel at one stop. Happy travels.
AnswerID: 532638

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 21:42

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 21:42
We are seasoned out of the way travellers. Just haven't stopped at Bililluna before. When you need to get 200+ litres of fuel on several occasions on the one trip that's a lot of cash to carry for Kunawaratjii. $2.60 isn't so bad.
FollowupID: 815928

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 18:43

Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 18:43
G'day,

fuel at Kunawarritji was $3.60 a litre when we passed through in 2012.

Hoo roo,
FollowupID: 816002

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 21:17

Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 21:17
I think I saw it reported at $3.80 so am planning on $4.00. Just another cost of where we go. If you don't like it then don't go!!

FollowupID: 816013

Reply By: Idler Chris - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 17:19

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 17:19
By now Phil will be a happy chappy, don't celebrate too much. Been to Billiluna twice and took credit cards both times. That said with these communities it is very casual and they can be closed for any reason or there can be a different person there who can't work the EFTPOS machine etc. IMHO have a plan B and carry cash just in case.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 532641

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 21:48

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 21:48
I just got home from a thrashing of the Dragons. 36-0 Luckily Bengi is not in "tune" with them yet. A great afternoons footy and nice relaxed, foggy drive home.

Hi Chris

The worst we had in a similar situation was in New Zealand. Rocked up to a place to see the wales and everything was closed for a WHOLE WEEK. Luckily I have never met that in Australia. But I am not holding my breath. We will carry all modes of purchasing fuel.

I thank you all and sorry to jump up with the "dont tell me someone "is my friend". Idon't have friends. I have mates and then are the leftovers.

Catchya - GO PARRA.

FollowupID: 815929

Reply By: Member - PhilD_NT - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 23:12

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 23:12
Not related directly to this location but the advice of many here to carry multiple forms of payment is wise advice. Back in a past life of employment it was common for our Staff to carry up to 3 different Fuel Cards (Shell, BP & Mobil at that time) plus 2 types of company purchase orders, if necessary a Petty Cash advance and finally their own cash or card. There were a few petrol stations where they were refusing to accept their own branded Fuel Card and the backups were necessary. Apparently they were being credited from the head office for the quantity of fuel, not the total sale price, so therefore they were basically out of pocket on Fuel Card purchases. If there is still any of this going on be aware that a branded Fuel Card isn't a guarantee of acceptance.
AnswerID: 532661

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 07:17

Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 07:17
Thanks Phil

Good advice mate and I would also say the same except we never carry fuel cards ar company invoices. We mainly do cash and a debit card. But when travelling remote areas, we take what we can get from where we can get it. May even load up with those with ethanol derivatives in it if that's all that is available.

Personally I was just wondering how the actual system wortks at a particular place. On the next trip we can't just go past and stop at a company with the "right" fuel cards.

You have a good day mate. I am going to.

FollowupID: 815947

Reply By: Gaynor - Thursday, Jun 19, 2014 at 04:23

Thursday, Jun 19, 2014 at 04:23
The www.billiluna.org.au website is up and sort of running again.

Looks like the previous CEO's, Trudy and Arthur Rosenwald of 2009-2011 are taking it over and promise to update soon. It has had some bandwidth issues due to its popularity.
AnswerID: 534609

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Thursday, Jun 19, 2014 at 08:46

Thursday, Jun 19, 2014 at 08:46
Hi Gaynor

Their site was running quite quickly just now. And you wouldn't believe it. Another different phone number to ring ahead to check fual availability. Ahhh The accuracy of the internet.

Timely post mate. Thanks

FollowupID: 818325

Reply By: beamer - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2014 at 14:51

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2014 at 14:51
The deal with the fuel is cash or eftpos or credit cards. You purchase a fuel card at the store. Open 8am to 11am & 2pm to 4pm Mon-Fri and 8am to 10.30 am on Sat closed on Sun. After hours fuel is available from the community CEO. Fuel is $2.60lt with a $5 deposit on the fuel card refundable when you return the card to the store during business hours.
While there the store sells almost all things you might need. From frozen meat & bread to fresh fruit & veg (keeping in mind fortnightly delivery so stock may be low if you are the off week) A great host of general groceries, ice creams, cold drinks & chips as well as a range of automotive goods.
You can contact the shop on 08 9168 8076.

Cheers from the store manager
AnswerID: 535739

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Friday, Jul 25, 2014 at 13:30

Friday, Jul 25, 2014 at 13:30
It is actually dead easy. Estimate how much fuel you need and go to the shop which is right next to the bowser. They will sell you a card for that fuel plus a margin for error. You then go and fill up and return to the shop with the card. They then give you a refund of any extra left on the card. They do pout a deposit on the actual card which they refund when you return the card.

Excellent help and good service. The shop isn't too bad either.
FollowupID: 820727