Cape York in July 2014

Submitted: Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 14:36
ThreadID: 107815 Views:1682 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
G'day all, just a little note to let those interested know that I'm off to the Cape this year.
I'm going on my own as everyone seems to be busy or financially challenged.
I'll be leaving Daintree on the 8/7/14 going up to Cooktown via the CREB track or Bloomfield if the weather is bad.
I'll know closer to the date.
Then on to Lakefield National Park via Battle Camp Track and on to the PDR and up to Chili Beach.
My trip continues on the Frenchmans Track and the Telegraph Road to Bramwell Junction.
From then on it's the OTT as far as I can go, on to the Jardine River Ferry and up to the tip!
Sounds easy doesn't it!
I'm not going to be setting any land speed records, as I like to see the scenery and not just a green blur.
I thought that a couple of vehicles would be better than one, so I'll see you up there!

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 17:54

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 17:54
We will be up there then also Jim, probably leaving Cooktown on the 11th July, I will lookout for the EO stickers mate

AnswerID: 532645

Follow Up By: JimHJ47 - Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 05:08

Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 05:08
Cheers Bonz,
I'll be driving a green HJ47 ute, I hope that you have a ball up there!
FollowupID: 815944

Reply By: D-Max Dave - Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 17:55

Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 17:55
Hi JimHJ47
I am taking the family family up to the tip traveling pretty much the same way as you, we are heading off two weeks before you.
As far as I know battle camp rd is currently closed but should be well and truly open by the time you go.
Not sure how much of the Ott we will tackle as I dont want to stuff the new car on its maiden voyage.
Will will be doing a blog as we go if we have coverage, hopefully we can help others with some road conditions.
We have 4 weeks, traveling from Ipswich area to the tip and back, should be enough time not to rush too much.
AnswerID: 532647

Follow Up By: JimHJ47 - Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 05:13

Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 05:13
G'day D-Max Dave,
That's not a bad trip for your first run, and not a bad rig to be taking up for that matter.
I'm sure that you'll have a great trip, and i'll see you up there.
FollowupID: 815945

Reply By: bockstar1 - Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 21:19

Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 21:19
Almost the exact same itinerary we have however we depart Sydney on 21st June. Safe travels.
AnswerID: 532719

Follow Up By: JimHJ47 - Monday, May 19, 2014 at 07:52

Monday, May 19, 2014 at 07:52
G'day Bockstar,
I hope that the creeks are low and the tracks are dry and your trip is trouble free.
I look forward to reading your posts as you go along, if you have time or when you get back!
FollowupID: 816038