Recovery hitch for Hayman Reece

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 11:59
ThreadID: 10809 Views:3800 Replies:11 FollowUps:22
On this most glorious day I have one simple question for the forum - Towards the end of last year Truckster's mate Luke posted about a recoery hitch which inserted into the Hayman Reece hitch receiver. I have searched the archives but can't find the relevant post. My question is: Where can I purchase one of these, how much I should expect to pay, and how good/safe are they? I am based north of Melbourne.

Thanks in advance"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat

Reply By: Grinner - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 12:09

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 12:09
I've seen them at the TJM in Sydney Rd in Coburg.
AnswerID: 48195

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 14:19

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 14:19
Thanks Grinner - shall try there."Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 310096

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 12:13

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 12:13
i'd like to know how safe the entire unit is?
seems like a lot of extra weight that the towbar was not designed for?I am human ...I think?
Must be....make too many mistakes!
AnswerID: 48198

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 14:20

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 14:20
I believe they're about the same weight as the normal hitch with treg coupling on it Nudey."Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 310097

Follow Up By: Member - Eskimo - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 17:07

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 17:07
No Wombat , I was meaning, Can the towbar take the extra pulling weight that would be applied when acting as the platform for the recovery hitchWow, am I cute! The extra long legs are built-in prevention against ducks disease. Great looks and a real goer. Doesnt waddle along like some.
FollowupID: 310120

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 17:30

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 17:30
Yours is one of the questions which I was hoping would be answered"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 310127

Follow Up By: Member - Eskimo - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 17:47

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 17:47
Hayman Reece should be able to advise ? should'nt they?Wow, am I cute! The extra long legs are built-in prevention against ducks disease. Great looks and a real goer. Doesnt waddle along like some.
FollowupID: 310129

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 12:23

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 12:23
What happened to your photo wombat?Regards Bob
Where to next
AnswerID: 48199

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 14:21

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 14:21
It seems like there are a lot of photos deleted today Bob! Must be some sort of silent protest!!!!!"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 310098

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 14:26

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 14:26
. . . . . or my Special K might just be out enjoying her birthday!

Wish I was there."Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 310102

Follow Up By: Member - Eskimo - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 17:08

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 17:08
Shhh!Wow, am I cute! The extra long legs are built-in prevention against ducks disease. Great looks and a real goer. Doesnt waddle along like some.
FollowupID: 310123

Reply By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 13:09

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 13:09
Wombat,
I picked one up from TJM last week for $70. It comes with a rated D shac, and slides into the Hitch.
Haven't had a chance (or Need) to try it out yet
Vince
AnswerID: 48205

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 14:22

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 14:22
Vince - you legend. 70 bucks is better than I had hoped."Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 310099

Reply By: Leroy - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 13:43

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 13:43
Save your money wombat. One of the driver trainers at our club had some tests done and the force that was needed to bend the standard pin in a hitch was manytimes more than the rating of the snatch strap. I also saw 2 of the hitches with the pin slightly bent in one hitch. But like i said it bent at many times the snatch strap rating.

Leroy
AnswerID: 48207

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 14:25

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 14:25
G'day Leigh,

My pin is a Tallon locking one and being rather expensive I would rather not risk bending it. I had entertained the thought of utilising it but at $70 the recovery hitch sounds a better option.

Oh yeah, the battery pack is working perfectly. Thanks for the email."Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 310101

Follow Up By: jeff-wa - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 16:05

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 16:05
Wombat I have the same kind of pin as you and find the simple solution is to keep a spare "cheapie" standard pin in my recovery bag. :-)
FollowupID: 310111

Follow Up By: IT Doctor - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 16:55

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 16:55
Jeff

I think the problem is if you bend the cheapy pin while it is in the hitch it becomes almost impossible to get it out. Fine unless you are towing as well.

I have been told by many that the pin alone is OK by many experts but if you need to tow after the recovery then I'd err on the side of caution and get a hitch.

FollowupID: 310118

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 17:07

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 17:07
Hi Wombat,
I was going to sugest the cheapie pin also but Jeff beat me to it. Glad to hear the batt pack is fine. I was surprised!
The Rodeo goes next week, to make way for a new GU (3.0 but don't tell anyone) hehe

Leroy
FollowupID: 310121

Reply By: Roachie - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 20:31

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 20:31
Is there any reason why you don't feel confident enough to use the Hayman Reece tongue with towball removed? You can stick a bow shackle through the hole, no worries.
I'm also not convinced that using a towball (as long as it's in excellent nick) to attach a snatch strap is the wrong thing to do. It depends on the individual circumstances IMHO.
For example, if you are trying to recover a vehicle bogged to the belly in black mud, you wouldn't use a towball. However, I would feel okay about using it if the stuck truck is just in a shallow sand trap etc......much less stresses involved.
However, back to using the Hayman Reece ex-towball....it's not going to be any less well engineered than the $70- heavy replacement tongue you're going to buy from TJM. The weakest part of either of these choices would be the weld joint onto the box section. Wouldn't it be easier and nearly as quick to use your spanner to unblot the towball?
AnswerID: 48258

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 22:40

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 22:40
Roachie,

If using a snatch strap over the tow ball, what stops the strap from jumping off. The tow ball is made with all rounded edges. The bow shackle through the hole of the tounge is a good idea, how ever some tow tounges have a long drop. Hilux's are a good example. Doing a snatch recovery from this type of trailer tounge could put a lot of strain on the tow tounge.

The weakest part of the tow bar is the pin. All tow bars are robot welded, and use ths same steel as the 1500kg rated tow bars for 2wd utes up to the 4000kg tow bar for the Discovery.

Wayne Always Out'N About
FollowupID: 310164

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 08:20

Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 08:20
Roachie,

I've got my treg coupling spot welded to the tongue in an effort to dissuade light fingers. This precludes me from using a shackle through the hole."Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 310185

Reply By: John - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 21:20

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 21:20
Hi Wombat
I saw a product the other week at the Toyota Landcruiser Club meeting called the Bush Hook.
It was manufactured by a fellow club member named John Whimpey Ph 0402 267 571.
The unit fits into any RHS tow bar and has been tested by a NATA Lab to destruction.
It has a rating of 10,000LB and is being used by the Toyota Landcruiser club at this years Crusierarma event for vehicle recovery.
I forgot how much it was but it's not very expensive.
Might be worth a call for some info.

I personally have a Kaymar twin wheel carrier rear bar and one of their centre point recovery hitches, Check their web site for details, anyway I spoke to Kaymar personally about the use of this system as a snatch point and they told me it has been specificly engineerd for recoverys as the bar is better mounted than most tow bars.

AnswerID: 48265

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 22:24

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 22:24
John,

There is a hook that has been on the market for years. Local Council trucks use them, the Army use them and they are available from big tow bar outlets. They come in two ratings 5ton and 10 ton. The best way to discribe them is, the bottom half is a hook, about 40mm dia. The top half is another half hook which can be lifted up so that the ring of the trailer, or a snatch strap can be slipped over the bottom hook. The top half is then pushed down and the bottom and top hooks then form a complete ring. The top hook is locked in this postion and a lever must be pulled up to release the top hook. I have always known them as Pintle Hook.

Wayne Always Out'N About
FollowupID: 310157

Follow Up By: John - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 22:31

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 22:31
Yeah Wayne I know the hook but this is simpler and probably cheaper.
FollowupID: 310158

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 23:52

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 23:52
Hi John
Dave W had 1 the last trip & I think it was a rated hook with a spring type closer on a solid piece of steel about 150mm long was that it ?

CheersPrado TD Auto
FollowupID: 310172

Follow Up By: John - Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 00:00

Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 00:00
Hi Bernie
How you going ?
Yeah it was the RHS with a recovery hook mounted on it.
The difference being that John Whimpey has had it tested and rated properly so it has at least got some proper engineering support to go with it.
If people make there own and cut a few corners with say the tensile rating of the bolts or say the thickness of the RHS then they possibly compromise the safe working limit of the device.
By the way John W was the guy I was talking to at the bar when you finally arrived.
Catch you soon.

Kind Regards
FollowupID: 310173

Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 23:06

Thursday, Feb 26, 2004 at 23:06
Wombie, going back to the pin idea, If you bought a High Tensile bolt of the same diameter as the pin, the shear factor and bending factor of the bolt would be many times higher than breaking point of the snatch strap.
Personally, I still use my pin.
Alternatively, you could buy a section of RHS (about 250mm long) the same size as your Towbar Tongue and bolt a rated recovery hook to the extension using high tensile bolts.
Do not use the towball under any circumstances. You would need it xrayed to be sure it was sound.
I'd rather have my bum on a beach in Broome
Than be stuck here in this damn room.
AnswerID: 48294

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 00:03

Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 00:03
Your right about the towball Des
but I'm not sure you could trust any old bit of RHS either.

CheersPrado TD Auto
FollowupID: 310174

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 00:28

Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 00:28
Hi Wombat
I have seen one around a few places maybe ARB Northern
from memory like a square shaft with a heavy tongue that takes a shackle,
however I would have a good look at John's post re Whimpey's rated recovery hook
as apposed to using the shackle, I think he comes from Werribee area

CheersPrado TD Auto
AnswerID: 48313

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 08:00

Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 08:00
Hi again
John Whimpey is at St Albans 0402 267 571 " Bush Hook" cost $60.00
tell him I sent you he may do better, I might call past & get mine today.

CheersPrado TD Auto
AnswerID: 48320

Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 08:39

Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 08:39
Bernie, guess this is them:

Bush Hook - $60
~
FollowupID: 310188

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2004 at 00:35

Saturday, Feb 28, 2004 at 00:35
Hi Wazza
Looking at your rig pic i don't think u need one LOL

yes thats the "Bush Hook" they & some of the other gear is made by John Whimpey but he trades as "Out Back Ideas" & he also offers welding services.

CheersPrado TD Auto
FollowupID: 310318

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 13:38

Friday, Feb 27, 2004 at 13:38
Mate i just use the hayman hitch, if the drop is a problem then just spin it around, with the hole for the towball de-burred and a rated shackle fitted. my spare hitch just happened to be forgotten when the last work ute went back to the lease co. :-)

The bush hooks look alright, but check a wrecker cause you might pick up a hayman hitch cheap.. then again $60 is pretty fair.Just killin time till easter...............go and play in the dirt, instead of workin in it......
AnswerID: 48380