Water supply in Coober Pedy

Submitted: Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 15:00
ThreadID: 108190 Views:2121 Replies:9 FollowUps:25
Good afternoon all. In a few short weeks we'll be heading off for the Simpson. By the time we reach CP I'd more than likely want/need to fill my water tank. Problem is it is under my Troopy's false floor and filling is usually via a hose that I can control the flow of.

I have previously read that water is available via a coin operated 'bowser', (for want of the proper word). If this is the case how much control do I have or does the water keep flowing unabated until my money runs out? Is it volume or timer regulated for your dollar?

Controlled volume would be much better as I can decant into buckets and then pump via my bilge pump into my tank if need be. If I can attach my usual hose then all the better?

Thanks to those who know.

Reply By: Turbo 1 - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 15:10

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 15:10
20c for 30L.
Haven't used it but have looked at it so I suppose it just stops.
Some one will know.
AnswerID: 534076

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:42

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:42
Thanks Turbo re the cost. Very cheap for one of life's essentials.

FollowupID: 817624

Reply By: Les PK Ranger - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 15:13

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 15:13
Is it at the servo or cara park ?
Might pay to just give them a call and ask.
AnswerID: 534077

Follow Up By: Member - PhilD_NT - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 16:23

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 16:23
It's opposite the Shell Roadhouse as a stand alone facility. Don't know who controls it.
FollowupID: 817593

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 16:55

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 16:55
Hmm, might be council then ?

Bit of conflicting info, one says 20c for 30lt, other use full bore best as it's timed . . .

If you do use your own hose, don't use typical garden hose, as PVC type use lead asa stabilisier, and they contain free carcinogens (apparently why many dogs get cancer, and why people shouldn't drink from their garden hose).

You can but same dia clear food grade hose (I got 10m) and fit normal fittings to it.
Get the tap connect that has removable fitting that gives you both small and large dia tap threads, AND get a 4 way security tap key to fit the most popular tap patterns, as many councils use these security taps so vandals don't leave them on (hmm, ok, and perhaps stop people accessing water foc).
FollowupID: 817596

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 16:58

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 16:58
Sorry, meant to advise I got the food grade clear hose (13mm) from Bunnings, also used 10mm dia for the water tank plumbing.
FollowupID: 817598

Follow Up By: Member - PhilD_NT - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 17:49

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 17:49
When we were there in August last year it was 20c per xx litres but we didn't use it ourselves but some friends were. From what we saw it seemed that you just shut it off yourself when you have what you wanted. Not sure what happened to unused portion.
FollowupID: 817608

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 18:29

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 18:29
Les, my day job involved measurement of fluid flow. Believe me, it is not volume measured, it is timed. Reason being that timing is easier than volume measurement.

FollowupID: 817617

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:44

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:44
Thanks all. I do use a water grade hose. Any idea how close I can get to the tap no sense in carting a 30m length of hose if not needed.

Dunc.

FollowupID: 817625

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:52

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:52
The tap is at the kerb Dunc.

FollowupID: 817631

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 20:04

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 20:04
Excellent and the inlet is on my passenger side as well. Bonus.

FollowupID: 817636

Follow Up By: Member - PhilD_NT - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 22:35

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 22:35
Didn't have fancy kerbing last August.
FollowupID: 817656

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 10:38

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 10:38
Phil, by "kerb" I meant "edge of bitumen".
But by you photo, the water station has been considerably upgraded and it would seem, relocated. So some of my comments no longer apply. Thanks.

FollowupID: 817668

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 11:11

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 11:11
Always used this one ....

FollowupID: 817669

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 11:17

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 11:17
That's the one I remembered Scott.

FollowupID: 817671

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 19:42

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 19:42
My wife remembers that one. I didn't. We didn't avail ourselves of the service when last in CP in 2006.

FollowupID: 817712

Reply By: guy007 - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 16:15

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 16:15
Hi Duncan,
You have to use your own garden type hose and the fittings to attach it to a standard tap. You can control the pressure and flow to suit yourself. There can be a long queue and time wasting could be be a problem so be prepared before getting in the queue.
Guy
AnswerID: 534079

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:46

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:46
Thanks Guy. Appreciate the advice regarding the hose, fittings & the wait.

FollowupID: 817626

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 16:34

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 16:34
When I last used it the operation was by a timer. So to get your money's worth you need to run it at full-bore. Run it at half-speed and you will get half the quantity for your fee.

Even if you can take it at full-bore, do not put your money in until you have the hose in position as the timer is running.

AnswerID: 534081

Follow Up By: Honky - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 17:58

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 17:58
20 cents? How many litres does one carry? running flat out saves you 10 cents?

Honky
FollowupID: 817612

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 18:22

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 18:22
Nuthin to do with saving 10 cents Honky......... more to do with running out of 20 cent pieces.

FollowupID: 817615

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:48

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:48
Thanks Allan, will stock up on my 20c pieces, suspected it would be on a timer but at 20c a go it's dirt cheap.

Dunc.

FollowupID: 817628

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 12:36

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 12:36
gotta save those 20c pieces - never know when you will find some old donkey kong machine tucked up the back of some old pub :)
FollowupID: 817678

Reply By: RobAck - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 18:24

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 18:24
The water quality from the public supply at Coober Pedy is excellent. The Council provides excellent water to the town. If you want specific advice I suggest a call or email to the Council or the helpful folk at the Big4 in the town itself

Always use food grade hose and connections or you will get a plastic taint

Rob
AnswerID: 534088

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 18:27

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 18:27
Besides the plastic taint, don't forget normal garden hose has lead and free carcinogens leeching from them !! :)
FollowupID: 817616

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:50

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:50
Thanks Rob I might just give then a call tomorrow.

FollowupID: 817629

Reply By: steamfire01 - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:30

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:30
Talk about turning a simple operation into rocket science !
There's a 20c in the slot facility in the first caravan park on the right, the Top Tourist park.
Put your coin in the slot, get the water, simple !! When your money runs out the water
stops.
By the way, this caravan park if preferable to the one further up the road in town, the one in town was a bit noisy from the locals when I was in town last year.
AnswerID: 534093

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:55

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 19:55
Just wait till an electrical question comes up.lol. Bob.
FollowupID: 817632

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 20:02

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 at 20:02
Thanks for the advice Steamfire01 regarding the van parks, think we may opt for a motel room though after the corrugations of the ABH.

No not rocket science and I can see that you would think like dher turn water on, turn water off, but in my particular case filling my 125L water tank is a bit messy. Dead easy in the comfort of home but I need to know what I need to pack in the car. We aren't towing so space and weight is an issue for me. One person told me that the last time they used it, the outlet was not garden hose friendly hence the reason for the post. Also I need to regulate the flow so that I don't blow the tank up as I need to let the air escape out of the connection I fit when filling. Too fast a flow causes a vortex in the hose and no air escapes. Hope that makes a bit more sense.

FollowupID: 817635

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 21:39

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 21:39
G`day Dunc,
Apparently the charge is to help cover the cost of pumping the water from a bore 70 klm or more away.

Besides that if they didn`t have some kind of regulated shut off device some fool would leave it running. LOL.

Best water in OZ I reckon.

Scrubby.
AnswerID: 534157

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 23:16

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2014 at 23:16
Thanks Scrubby looking forward to the taste of it. Everybody who's commented reckons it's good stuff.

FollowupID: 817730

Reply By: Les PK Ranger - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2014 at 09:13

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2014 at 09:13
Was interested, so had a Google.
Coober Pedy water supply

It is artesian water from 25km NE on the Ood Tk, ~ 100m below the surface, quite saline.
Also info about the 1967 - 85 solar desal, and the post reverse osmosis treatment in this link . . .
AnswerID: 534166

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2014 at 09:15

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2014 at 09:15
Note pricing in that first link . . . roughly double Adelaide metro charges.
FollowupID: 817743

Reply By: snapper49 - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2014 at 20:00

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2014 at 20:00
Pretty sure there is 2 water points as I was told about the one in the main street but I used the one at the caravan park which is also coin operated as well as the showers
water is of excellent quality
AnswerID: 534203