tool/spares kit for the big trip?

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 08:27
ThreadID: 108616 Views:5881 Replies:14 FollowUps:26
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all. I'm a new member and an absolute newbie to the 4x4 world. We've decided to sell up everything and do the big trip around our great land next year in a 200 Land cruiser GXL towing a camper trailer. My initial and most vexing question, the first of many I'm sure, is what tools and spares should I take on this trip? I have trawled this forum and a few others and have found lists a long as what our trip will be next year. Do I have to take everything or are there the essentials I should take?

I'm just worried about the space factor. I am planning on traveling some remote areas and tracks too.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 08:41

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 08:41
Gday Craig
If you have a new car i don't think you will need much , maybe spare belts, maybe radiator hoses,a few nuts and bolts with spanners to fit,cable ties and 100mph tape, but there are some who will say you need to take enough to build another car if the first one breaks. Don't overload and take it easy.

Muzbry
Great place to be Mt Blue Rag 27/12/2012

Lifetime Member
My Profile  Send Message

AnswerID: 535499

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 10:14

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 10:14
Hi Craig,

Generally I agree with Muzbry, but from your profile description I see it is a 2008 vehicle, not brand new. So I would definitely be doing some preventative maintenance before leaving. I think this far more important than carrying a whole workshop with you.