In car mount for <span class="highlight">samsung</span> gallaxy 10.1

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 11:40
ThreadID: 108620 Views:3346 Replies:13 FollowUps:10
After recommendations for a mount for our samsung gallaxy 10.1. Havent actually seen one mounted in a car and just use ours sitting between the seats which is not the best option for viewing. Have a hilux.
Cheers Graeme.

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 12:25

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 12:25
Have a mate who has one and just did a 9000km trip with it sucked onto the windscreen.
He never lost it from there and we went from Roper Bar to Normanton and Highway 1 is still dirt road for quite away.

Don't know what brand it is but just looks like an oversize phone mount.
PS The 10.1 was superb for mapping

AnswerID: 535519

Follow Up By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 13:35

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 13:35
Hi Alan. Any chance you can find out what brand. Being so big would not like to purchase anything to hold it unless some one had used one.
cheers Graeme.
FollowupID: 819387

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 16:02

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 16:02
I've just bought one of these and being technically challenged am wondering if it's the built in maps you use while travelling or can it be plugged into the Hema and get all the info from that?
AlanH.
FollowupID: 819402

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 16:14

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 16:14
Alan, If you are staying on main roads just use the Hema.
But if you want the off-road tracks you can't do much better than EOTopo run on a tablet or laptop.
At the top of this page, on the blue bar, click on EOTopo for full information.

FollowupID: 819404

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 16:18

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 16:18
Cheers Allan......blimey there's a lot of us about now!
AlanH.
FollowupID: 819405

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 12:26

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 12:26
Graeme, My mount for the Galaxy 10.1 was solved simply as you can see from the photo below. Just lucky that the Troopy had a handrail of exactly the right size. It is held in place by a plastic clip and elastic cord.

AnswerID: 535520

Reply By: Sigmund - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 13:40

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 13:40
Just a heads-up about keeping any additions away from the route an air bag is going to take if activated.
AnswerID: 535529

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 13:50

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 13:50
It appears that with some of the tablet & laptop mounts that have been shown here, some people have scant regard for the safety of their front seat passenger in the event of an accident!

FollowupID: 819388

Reply By: Tony F8 - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 14:39

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 14:39
Graeme.
Bought one off fleabay, initially sceptical, but did the old coach road from Laura to Maytown (approx. 8 hrs for 48 klms), also the station tracks through Inkerman and Dunbar stations, Samsung tab 10.1 stayed where it was. Cost $15 and fixes to the air vent with spring loaded clip, and the aircon keeps the unit cool when its sitting in the sun most of the day. Suits the rectangular style vents rather than the round.
Tony F8.
AnswerID: 535535

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 14:43

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 14:43
A smear of spit on the rim of the suction cup works wonders.
FollowupID: 819392

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 14:45

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 14:45
... On windscreen mounts that is!
FollowupID: 819393

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 14:41

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 14:41
Graeme,

The solution I arrived at is the ClickOn Active Holder and mount from Holdmyphone.

For the Holder, you select the brand and model of tablet you have and it will show you the correct holder to buy. The Active holder allows you to power the tablet from a cable that plugs into the cigarette lighter socket

For the Mount, you select your vehicle brand and model and it will show you the available mounting options, either dashboard mount or suction mount.

I selected the dashboard mount. No screws or glue used. It is inserted between the facia panels using a spreader to insert.
A great solution.

http://www.holdmyphone.com.au/holders/tablets/samsung/galaxy-tab-2-10-1.html

AnswerID: 535536

Reply By: Sludgie W.A - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 17:09

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 17:09
Hello Graeme, I have a galaxy note 8" and use a Ramm mount on the windscreen next to the A pillar on the drivers side. Just finished a few weeks of Kimberley tracks etc and the mount did not move and there was minimal movement on corrugated roads. You can get different lengths to position the screen to suit your needs.
I purchased mine from Autotainment (I think that is the right name) in Victoria park where they helped me pick the right pieces for my ute.Cost was about $90.00 .

Sludgie
AnswerID: 535550

Reply By: Member - Nolo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 18:31

Sunday, Jul 06, 2014 at 18:31
See thread 108211 for similar question and picture of my tablet on my 79 series dash. Ebay special economical and effective.
AnswerID: 535553

Reply By: Stone Stomper - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 08:32

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 08:32
Hi Graeme,

We have just bought a Ram Mount suction cup to the windscreen and it worked well on our last trip.

Christian

[img]
[/img]
AnswerID: 535576

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 09:04

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 09:04
The mount my mate uses is from Jaycar Cat No HS9036 Tablet Holder with Heavy duty suction Mount……..$29.95.

As I said before it worked very well on extended dirt roads (Nathan River) and around the gulf to Normanton. Also did 400km of dirt on round trip to Gilberton.

Trust you find one to suit your requirements

AnswerID: 535578

Reply By: Bludge - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 11:14

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 11:14
Graeme,

I am in my 2nd year with the Exomount. I have a Toyota 100 series and once the Tablet is in place it doesn't move.

I am extremely happy with it.

Exomount web page.
AnswerID: 535586

Follow Up By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2014 at 21:17

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2014 at 21:17
Hi Guys. Thanks everyone for the replies. Ended up ordering the exomount today, they have an ausi outlet now. Liked the ram mount that bolted to the seat bracket as well but have no where to brace it on my hilux. Im sure the other mounts would be fine but I like the position the tablet is in with the exomount being below the windscreen and for around $70 posted should be good value as well.
cheers Graeme.
FollowupID: 819679

Reply By: River Swaggie - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 15:06

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 15:06
I use one of these Ram Mounts to the seat bolt, it's great on rocky areas too, they come with a lifetime warranty... Around 80 bucks..

AnswerID: 535597

Follow Up By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 18:45

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 18:45
Hi River Swaggie .Could you let me know the model number or where you purchased the mount. Does it move around much with rough going.
Cheers Graeme.
FollowupID: 819487

Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2014 at 14:16

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2014 at 14:16
Yeah no worries Graeme.. It's P. I Plus mobile:1300 747 587

There's a number of different holders for the tablet itself , that's not mine in the picture I should of mentioned that, I use another that holds the tablet each end and you slide it to remove it, the one in the pic is a lot dearer, the one I have stays in the holder even at home.. A mate thought it would bounce everywhere in The High Country..

Was he surprised it was quite solid even on rocky /Shaley areas..

Goodluck
FollowupID: 819647

Reply By: Old 55 - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2014 at 09:08

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2014 at 09:08
Got the same setup on my Prado and I just use a couple of big rubber bands from the seat belt stalk around the Ram Mount and it doesn't move. can be viewed by both driver and passenger easily.
Rod
AnswerID: 535646

Reply By: Li X - Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 09:37

Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 09:37
Another vote for RAM mounts. We've had them for years in our mapping vehicle, which does thousands of KMs offroad every year. Very high quality product, study and never had problems.

RAM have so many solutions but I'd recommend the seat bolt option mentioned above or the windscreen mount option.

This one is suitable for any 7-9 inch tablet

and this one for tablets larger than 9 inch

If you run an iPad like us, RAM have iPad specific options too.
AnswerID: 535859