Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 10:31

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 10:31
What size is your schooner?
It's a generic name for a number of sizes depending on which state you are in.
In the good old days in WA before metrication a schooner and a "pint" were much the same thing.
Others I remember were "Pony, Glass, Middy, Pot, but it's been that long since I drank in a Pub that I could be wrong with them too.

Disco.
AnswerID: 535583

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 10:35

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 10:35
Schooner = 425ml, Middy = 275ml.

Don't know what those Mexican sizes are... ;)

FollowupID: 819460

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 11:27

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 11:27
Yes that is the problem in that corner country region as to drink sizes
I find it easier to just ask for a large beer to save all the confusion. LOL
FollowupID: 819462

Follow Up By: Member - Allan L2 - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 12:52

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 12:52
Mexican beer glass sizes, Pot = 285 ml = 10 oz , Schooner = 425 ml = 15 oz
FollowupID: 819464

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 16:02

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 16:02
Here is a list of Australian glass sizes.

FollowupID: 819472

Follow Up By: bruce b2 - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 16:02

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 16:02
Member - Allan L2 posted:
Mexican beer glass sizes, Pot = 285 ml = 10 oz , Schooner = 425 ml = 15 oz

a south australian interpretation.....our "schooner" = 285ml, our "pint" = 425 ml. and i am sure that they do have "Coopers" on tap, was there a couple of weeks ago, but i drink stubbies which was from memory about $6 or $7. And it was a Coopers Pale Ale.
not sure about the reference to mexicans, i presume allan was talking about those infernal victorians that seem to infiltrate our state.
(tongue in cheek before any mexican victorian gets too precious)
cheers - bb
FollowupID: 819473

Reply By: gbc - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 10:36

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 10:36
I recall drinking stubbies there. Do they even have tap beer there? Either way you've got to have a coopers on the cooper.
AnswerID: 535584

Reply By: Chris (Qld) - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 11:24

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 11:24
Hi pepper
Was there a couple of months ago, no idea on the cost of a scooner but stubbies were $7.50 and a carton was $70.

Coddiwomple (v.) To travel purposefully towards a vague destination.

Classifieds: Codan Envoy HF Radio X1 for sale

AnswerID: 535587

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 11:41

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 11:41
Depends on which size schooner you are referring to and also what beer but it is up around that price.
You just cop it sweet and enjoy the place, no different to getting hit up at the footy or a fancy resturant.

My mate just returned from the Cape and a carton of Cruisers was about $160 at Bamaga
AnswerID: 535590

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 11:55

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 11:55
well, I suppose you always have the option of going and sitting in your camp being miserable and drinking water ... you can pay $10 or more for a beer in Kalgoorlie...

Al
AnswerID: 535592

Follow Up By: MactrolPod - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 19:41

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 19:41
When we were there we really enjoyed the town, shower, camp, pub and a few frosties, didn't give a whatsee what the cost, I wasn't going to get back out there any time soon!

They all need to make a profit to stay there and be ready for the next customer!

Thanks to them for looking after us.
FollowupID: 819493

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 20:45

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 20:45
They must love it when you show up in kal...
Last time I spent a week there I was enjoying imperial pints of coopers for $6
Doesnt matter where you are usually theres beer on special.
You just have to ask
FollowupID: 819509

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 23:44

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 23:44
so getoutmore, you missed the part where I said "you CAN pay $10 or more in Kal.."
FollowupID: 819525

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2014 at 08:44

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2014 at 08:44
you "can" pay more than that most places
$11.50 for a pint of 150 lashes at a perth waterfront hotel
or $8 for the same drink at Gullivers tavern Kununurra
- so whats your point?
FollowupID: 819543

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2014 at 10:59

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2014 at 10:59
you made it for me .. thank you.
Why complain about the price at a remote place when you can pay more in the big smoke?
FollowupID: 819550

Reply By: The Greta Bunyip - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 11:59

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 11:59
Charged $6.20 for a stubby of Carlton Draught in October 2012.
Given the fridge was playing up & it was 35c in the shade, it was well worth the investment!!
AnswerID: 535593

Reply By: JohnnyC - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 13:33

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 13:33
Try buying a schooner in places like Karratha, Hedland or Broome, you will be lucky to get one for less than $10
For us oldies a schooner over here is 15oz and a pint is 20oz.
AnswerID: 535596

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 15:48

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 15:48
Try buying a beer or meal in Newman - mine prices......
FollowupID: 819470

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 15:55

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 15:55
A Pony = 5oz
A Beer = 7oz
A Middie =10 oz = A Pot
A Pot =10oz = A Middie
A Schooner = 15oz except SA where 15oz is a pint
A Pint = 20oz except SA where it is 15 oz

By rights the larger the glass , cheaper the beer price by the oz /ml ,or thats how it used to be due to less glasses needing washing = wages.
AnswerID: 535600

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 20:49

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 20:49
Yes and no with the SA pint.
They also have real pints but you specify imperial. Also they often have imperial pint specials. Once again they specify.
It seems increasingly they are adopting the imperial pint as a real pint
FollowupID: 819510

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 18:47

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 18:47
Last time I was up there, the pub only sold beer by the bottle or can.

AnswerID: 535613

Follow Up By: tommo05 - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 21:22

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 21:22
Been a while then eh? I haven't been there for 3 years but I was drinking off the tap back then

FollowupID: 819514

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2014 at 06:40

Tuesday, Jul 08, 2014 at 06:40
After you have fuelled up there the price of the beer will become insignificant hahaha
AnswerID: 535640

Reply By: Garry E1 - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 00:23

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 00:23
Perhaps Tony has put up the tax

Garry
AnswerID: 535764

Reply By: Member - G.T. - Monday, Jul 14, 2014 at 18:48

Monday, Jul 14, 2014 at 18:48
Regardless of price, size etc, you never buy beer, you only rent it. Cheers! G.T.
AnswerID: 536056