LD - next weekend

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 11:26
ThreadID: 10892 Views:1986 Replies:9 FollowUps:22

just a quick post about next weekend. If anyone wants to stay in the Dimboola Caravan Park email me at grierson@hotkey.net.au.. asap - the owners are accommodating us all in a group, and I've already given them some numbers, so if you want to be in the one area let me know. If you want to camp out in the LD then I think people are camping at Horseshoe Bend. I believe that some people are getting there on Thurs, and Glenn is planning on getting there on Friday sometime to try and organise some spots, but it'll be best in best dressed there I guess. Not sure what UHF station people will be on, so shall post that later on. Otherwise click on my rig and you'll get my mobile.

LynLife, live it, love it

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 11:41

Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 11:41
Hmmmm....can't see you driving through all that desert mallee scrub. You might scratch her?him? So it will be a see Dimboola Caravan Park weekend..hahahaha.

I'll be camping out in the scrub somewhere....Horseshoe Bend will probably look like the Myer Bowl on concert night. Will be coming in from the west through the middle of LD and will check out other camp sites. Should get there by Friday morning.

Cheers,Willem
Little Dip Cons Park S.A.
AnswerID: 48633

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 12:09

Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 12:09
hahaha...we will have to be careful won't we...Life, live it, love it

FollowupID: 310450

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 12:10

Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 12:10
Hi Lyn
as Willem said about the mallee scrub, some tracks out there you would scratch a VW beetle and the 100 is wide than the old 80 series.

Still hope to call by sometime.

CheersPrado TD Auto
Little Desert 11/03
Only a lady driver would do that
AnswerID: 48639

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 12:14

Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 12:14
Bernie...If Mr. Al has any doubts...[which he probably will...lol] then he won't take it..and his Mrs. might jump in someone else's car for a drive....but we'll see...knowing Mr. Al, he will be just as happy sitting around with the kids...Life, live it, love it

FollowupID: 310451

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 14:59

Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 14:59
OK, some of us are stuck and can't go anywhere let alone LD and I haven't been able to find anything about it in my research books (I did find it on the map) so how about a word picture about what you are going to see and do please? Lucky things - I'll just have to spend the weekend fishing and unloading the supply truck.These are Diamantina Barra (Yellowbelly)
GO HARD OR GO HOME
AnswerID: 48649

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 16:06

Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 16:06
goodday ruth have been following your posts very interesting this supply truck is it the one full of liquid refreshement for the area .we went to ld last year very sandy lot of mallee trees etc easy to get bogged in some areas, time may be better spent unloading the truck .
mind you ld is a pretty area but was very dry due to drought but golf links were green they were beside the river

steveimagine a 03 gu 4.2tdin the picture
as i am having trouble sizing the picture
FollowupID: 310460

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 17:41

Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 17:41
oh thanks for that guys. I don't know whether there has been rain in that area this year - when you get in there what do you see (apart from mallee trees - they are beautiful when in flower though)?These are Diamantina Barra (Yellowbelly)
GO HARD OR GO HOME
FollowupID: 310471

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 22:29

Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 22:29
Now Ruth and Ian
I have been on the travelmate site and found that it is only 1775km from Birdsville to Dimboola. It estimates that it would take 23.37 hours to get there, so how about it!!! A bit of a drive, I admit, but you would love it. Might teach you how to fish and catch some yabbies - that sort of stuff. We are now going to Dimboola and making the big effort to get there on the Friday. Would love to see you there - now common - no excuses please!! See ya there, right? Don't worry about the supply truck - the guy will unload it himself! Ha ha ha
Andrew and Jen2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
FollowupID: 310622

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 11:35

Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 11:35
You are really cruel - I've just read through all these posts - you are going to have such fun (keep an eye on Mr Toonfish, bit worried about him) and I'll be here in glorious downtown Tirdsville (sorry, typo there) - not even going to be in Adelaide this weekend for the 21st (sorry Willem, won't be able to have cuppa tea with you) - just playing tennis (only 35, quite windy) going to Happy Hour, have to wash the 100 series,
look at pictures of new boat, now trying to decide where to put the GPS - but after recent posts think I'll put it on the door pillar on passenger side (of Ian's new Toyota Ute) and get second mount for on the boat. Failing that, I'll be entertaining all the hordes of visitors - we actually had one car load yesterday - nice couple can't remember where they live in WA they've been travelling for so long, two large Rotties in a cage in the Nissan, KK and boat. Came from Innamincka and heading north, and saw another strange car this morning. Things are looking up.
This weekend we'll really be going fishing - once the truck has been unloaded - as the driver will be Unk Bill Wilson so will be forced to drink copious bottles of v. good red and fish. Guess it will be a bit like your weekend? Have a good time everyone - don't let Mrs Al scratch/dent the car. Is Mr Al going along to polish it?These are Diamantina Barra (Yellowbelly)
GO HARD OR GO HOME
FollowupID: 310665

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 14:11

Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 14:11
Ruth,

Apparently Mr Al only has the option of "polishing it" nowadays. . . . . or so he tells me!"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 310695

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 17:11

Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 17:11
Due to other commitments I won't be able to make it until the Friday arvo.

Does anyone know where the nearest fuel is to Horseshoe Bend? I haven't been out that way before so have no idea of the "lay of the land". Instructions on best way of getting there??

See ya all for a sixpack or seven LOL.

AnswerID: 48660

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 19:11

Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 19:11
Hi Gary
There was fuel at Dimboola a few years ago
& Dimboola is only 31Klm past Horsham.

CheersPrado TD Auto
Little Desert 11/03
FollowupID: 310476

Follow Up By: Mad Dog Morgan (Geelong) - Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 20:26

Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 20:26
Gary, from the main drag in Dimboola head westish along Wimmera Street, over the bridge across the river then turn left, carry on and turn right onto horseshoe bend rd, carry on and turn right at the T intersection which is still horseshoebend rd then carry on to horseshoe bend. If you want a 1:25k map email me, if you run oziexplorer I can send the .map file also BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
FollowupID: 310481

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 20:35

Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 20:35
plenty of fuel in dimboola a couple of servos in town we found the one to the west( RACV servo ) along main st to be very helpful
Ruth on wild Australasia tonight showed the malle fowl they have a breeding program out from nhill in the desert
steveheading north 2003 devils marblesin the work car
FollowupID: 310482

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 19:21

Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 19:21
Thanks everyone. See you Friday....

UHF channel 10 from Friday ~ 2 pm.
FollowupID: 310585

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 11:40

Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 11:40
GOB and Denny - saw that about the mallee fowl. Gosh that's a great program - I'm waiting on the DVD (Arkay told us about it on recent post).Bet you lot won't be looking at mallee fowl - fowl around the campfire later. Remember - Channel 10 in the SD as well! those mallee fowl parents have got the right idea - just bury the eggs, make sure the temps right and get back to business, chick hatches out, eats straight away and flies the next day - no parental supervision, just straight into life. Have fun.These are Diamantina Barra (Yellowbelly)
GO HARD OR GO HOME
FollowupID: 310666

Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 22:54

Sunday, Feb 29, 2004 at 22:54
Hi Lyn, Just reading through a post or two regarding LD and thoughts turned to communications. I suggest we use UHF Ch 10 as a call channel. It is a recognised 4WD channel and if we all keep tuned to it, we should be able to be contacted OK.
cya thereI'd rather have my bum on a beach in Broome
Than be stuck here in this damn room.
AnswerID: 48702

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 07:34

Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 07:34
ok Des, sounds good to me...Life, live it, love it

FollowupID: 310513

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 19:45

Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 19:45
The other 400,000 4wds will also be on Channel 10 so how about calling EIEIO...WHO'S DAT first to make contact...hahahahahaWillem
FollowupID: 310589

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 23:16

Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 23:16
with a quack quack here and a quack quack there.
old mac heyF.DICK there is no substitute
At least not for 7 months lol
do not buy these knives (they are mine)!
FollowupID: 310638

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 13:23

Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 13:23
Willem, are you just horsing around. Neigh I think

Toonfish, Long live the Duck RIPI'd rather have my bum on a beach in Broome
Than be stuck here in this damn room.
FollowupID: 310678

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 11:59

Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 11:59
I have a few maps with me from last time.
Willem i know i nice free place in solitude at Wail State park on the wimmera river.
let me know.
cya all soonF.DICK there is no substitute
At least not for 7 months lol
do not buy these knives (they are mine)!
AnswerID: 48734

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 19:42

Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 19:42
Sounds good Toonfish. Will make contact when in the vicinity.

Cheers,Willem
FollowupID: 310588

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 18:18

Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 18:18
Is that next weekend? Oh I havent a thing to wear!Life ISN'T like a box of chocolates...it's more like a jar of jalapenos.
What you do today, might burn your bum tomorrow."
AnswerID: 48773

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 18:24

Monday, Mar 01, 2004 at 18:24
yes this weekend coming..and I wouldn't worry about it, it's going to be hot, you could just be a nature boy....I know someone who's bound to be a nature boy as well so you needn't be on your own....lol...Life, live it, love it

FollowupID: 310580

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 01:45

Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 01:45
Hi Lyn
New pic new bar & aerial ( wheres the 240 lightforce spotties?)
well if u can't drive in the desert at least u will be able to talk to those who do LOL

CheersPrado TD Auto
Little Desert 11/03
AnswerID: 48835

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 07:21

Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 07:21
The lightforce are coming Bernie, but maybe not for this weekend. yeah I'll be able to talk to people...hahhaha....Life, live it, love it

FollowupID: 310646

Reply By: Member - Peter [SA] - Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 02:04

Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 02:04

About 95% sure me and my wife will be there, friday arvo. Havent been to Horseshoe Bend before so will be good to see some different scenery. Are the people camping, planning on camping in one general area or is that not possible. Are people in Dimboola C/Park and people camping going to get together some time.
Cheers Peter
AnswerID: 48836

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 07:22

Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 07:22
Hi Peter,

yes we are planning to get together...not sure when as nothing is planned but I'm sure it'll get worked out.

lynLife, live it, love it

FollowupID: 310647

Follow Up By: John - Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 11:54

Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 11:54
Might it be a good idea to describe what vehicle we are all in.

I can just imagine how much fun it will be walking around Horseshoe Bend asking 400,000 other 4by owners if you are with the Explore OZ group.

I will be there later on Friday Arvo in a 78 Series white Troopy with all the crap hanging of it. I will also moniter channel 10 on the UHF.

It might be nice if we could try and camp in a loose group if thats what each vehicle want to do.
As I guesss the point of the excersise was to meet and get to know others from this forum.
Maybe Mrs Al would like to start another thread asking what vehicles and where you intend to go and what time each is expected to arrive at either the CP or The Bend.
Just a thought, if nobody agrees with me then thats fine to.

FollowupID: 310668

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 12:15

Tuesday, Mar 02, 2004 at 12:15
Hi Good idea John

Still not sure if We will get there yet. ( 14 Vehicles TLC on UHF15)
Scotty has them at Horseshoe Bend for Sunday night ..... he might
have to look else where.
ExplorOz sticker front & rear on our "silver 90series Prado TD"

CheersPrado TD Auto
Little Desert 11/03
FollowupID: 310672