what was your fuel usage crossing the Plenty hwy

Hi we are looking for info on fuel use of vehicles while crossing the planty hwy from Gem tree to boulia .to give us some indication of how much extra we should carry there 3 other vehicles travelling with us all are diesel dual cabs with canopies and fully loaded close to our GVM.
We know that if needed we can get fuel along it our last fill up well be gem tree and hope with 3 jerry cans full in each vehicle to make it through.
So well we have enough ?? or to much the vehicles are
1x 2011 colardo auto 2x 2012 tritons 1 auto 1 manual and 1x 2013 px ranger auto

Looking forward to you experiences and ideas
Cheers wayne

Reply By: mikehzz - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:56

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:56
My car gets around 800km out of a tank under normal driving. I filled up at Boulia and had to put some fuel in 20kms short of Alice from a jerry can I had. To me that means the economy on the Plenty is not that much different than normal driving. The road was dry but had a lot of corrugations in many places. It would be different if the conditions changed I reckon.
AnswerID: 537103

Follow Up By: Member - DickyBeach - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 19:21

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 19:21
But how big is your tank? 100L or 200L
FollowupID: 821342

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 19:49

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 19:49
My tank is 65 litres
FollowupID: 821344

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 19:34

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 19:34
The road is fairly straight forward in dry conditions. Add 15% to your normal usage and I suspect that will be a good guide.

We have a Toyota 79 Series Dual Cab weighing in sat 3,500 GVM (With TVAN in tow). The V8 Diesel came in at 16.9 litres/100 covering 9,000 kilometres of travel, including the Plenty Highway, in July.

Noting, we drive for range...

Mind you, the Plenty has a couple of fuel options including Gem Tree, Harts Range, Jervois.

Enjoy...

Baz - The Landy
AnswerID: 537106

Reply By: gbc - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 20:12

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 20:12
My 2008 Colorado auto diesel did boulia to Alice easy with the same fuel you are carrying - tank plus 3 jerrys.
The ranger will use heaps less - 10-11 per hundred. Dunno about tritons.
AnswerID: 537111

Reply By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2014 at 16:52

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2014 at 16:52
Also fuel at Tobermorey Station and a camping ground with good amenities.

About mid-June I towed my Coromal 526 off road with my Mitsubishi Challenger V6 3 litre petrol and got about the same l/100 as towing on sealed roads. There is not much sand. It is mostly hard packed dirt and gravel with some good sections of sealed road between Boulia and the NT border. Graders were working eastward not far east of Jervois producing wide firm superhighway as they went. Road was roughest Harts Range to start of tar near Gemtree.

Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

AnswerID: 537205

Reply By: Member - Sanantone - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 06:28

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 06:28
This might be helpful?

Outback way
Tony
"For the Rover's life has pleasures, that the townsfolk will never know" - sort of from Banjo Paterson

AnswerID: 537225

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 12:00

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 12:00
Wayne,

In 2011, we fuelled up at Boulia one afternoon, camped overnight at Bengeacca Creek, and got to Gem Tree the next arvo, about 4.45pm. Topped up with 60L there, which gave us heaps to get to the Alice.

In a Landcruiser 79 seies ute. Travelled at 80-90 clicks on Donohue, and 90-100 on Plenty. Moderate load on board.

AnswerID: 537245

Reply By: Barty - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 07:51

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 07:51
Thanks for the replys sounds like travelling wiyth the 3 jerry cans should be enough for the trip. any feed back on tyre pressure loaded on this road ???

Cheers wayne
AnswerID: 537412

Reply By: cvhq - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 14:20

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 14:20
completed trip 4 weeks ago average fuel consumption was 13 ltr/100 fully loader 2010 landrover defender.Their are options for fuel along way tobermoray,jervious.Had tyres at 30 psi traveling before school holiday on un graded road extremely rough big bull dust holes around jervious. on way home after school holidays road graded was like a highway.Big nasty rocks on road destroying tyres sugest taking 2 spares.Although mine tyres handled trip neened to be replaced once trip was over
AnswerID: 537434