Walkers Crossing road

Just wondering if anyone can give an update on the conditions of this road. We could travel between Bville and Strez tracks later this month. Prado with good offroad trailer but travelling on our own. How log would the trip take and what's the road currently like?

Many thanks

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 06:32

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 06:32
This route is generally in good condition and we travelled it in July. We took our time and covered the 340 kilometres in around 5 1/2 hours.

There are plenty of oil/gas tracks in the area, but the route is easy to follow and fairly well marked. There are some patches of bull dust and closer to the Innamincka Regional Reserve.

No issues for the set-up you describe.

Cheers, Baz - The Landy

AnswerID: 537226

Reply By: craigandej - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 19:15

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 19:15

We did the track about 3 weeks ago in our troopy. If you get away from Birdsville after brekky you will be at Innamincka mid arvo with a few stops. The first part of the track is open gibber country then you run parallel through some small dunes before you get to the channel country. A few twists and turns towards the last hour or so, as tracks head off to oil/gas fields. A GPS with mapping is handy here.

If the track is dry, you wont need 4wd at all.

A great alternate route.

Craig & EJ
AnswerID: 537266

Reply By: bob&loz - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 21:43

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 21:43
Towed a 20' van through there a couple of weeks ago on our own so you should have no worries
AnswerID: 537402