Oziexplorer - what to buy?

Hi guys,
I am quite new to the whole GPS navigation scheme :-) and bought a Eonon (chinese) headunit for my Patrol. Now I got iGo Primo installed (unfortunately couldn't seem to find an up to date Australian version and no source to buy it) and a Demo of Ozi Explorer.

I got the Ozi Explorer to run and although it looks pretty rough on the edges, I would go with the recommendation of everyone and buy it for offroad navigation. Now I am unsure what I need.

From what I understand you run OziExplorerCE on the headunit (40 AUD) and OziExplorer on your PC (130 AUD) for route planning? You need the PC programm because the Windows CE version doesn't make a detailled planning possible?

Now there is an offer with the Hema 4WD Raster Map Collection (and even Australia Topo Maps). Do you need those because the OziExplorer doesn't have its own maps? Does that mean if I don't buy those Hema maps I would have a navigation programm but nothing "to plan on"?

Sorry I am a bit confused and maybe asking really stupid questions...

Philipp
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member-George (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 23:40

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 23:40
Hi Phillip, Questions are not stupid but you are well off the track in your thinking. Not sure where you are located but it would be best if someone can sit with you and guide you through the processes. What region/city do you live in ?
AnswerID: 537295

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 07:32

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 07:32
I think you are somewhat on the right track.

You need either Android or windows CE as your operating system.

The head unit probably has Android.

Then you need mapping software such as Oziexplorer CE or Android on the device and then you need maps such as Hema or Oztopo or both.