Colorado LTZ, what would your choice of seat covers be?

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 16:47
ThreadID: 109813 Views:4469 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
G'day all

I have recently bought a MY14 Colorado dual cab and I've started to add the required fruit to it.

Seat covers have got me a little stumped. Should I hock the house to get black duck canvas covers, (Best price about $660) or is there an alternative.

I like black duck, but $360 for the back seat and $300 for the front seats seems a little high.

Maybe I need to loosen the purse strings a bit more. LOL.

Reply By: tazbaz - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 17:29

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 17:29
G'day Boo Boo
Don't know about the seat covers but am on the verge of buying the same as you. Are you happy with it so far? Ok for towing a two ton van? Any comments would be appreciated.
AnswerID: 540348

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 17:52

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 17:52
Baz

Go for a drive in one, the acceleration is incredible.

I've only had it for 2 weeks and 2400km, and I am very happy so far.

Comfortable, good fuel economy, Best for 500km is 7.8ltr/100km, worst is 9.1ltr/100 km.

FollowupID: 826171

Follow Up By: Con_Qld - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 22:05

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 22:05
tazbaz, I bought the 2013 lx colorado and tow a manhattan ATM 3.0ton. It tows very well. I was up to 3 ton van and 3 ton ute = 6 tons.
I left the van at Mt Carbide and took the ute stock standard up to Cape York without any problems. Lots of power and plenty torque.
A suspension upgrade to give 40-50mm lift would be good and AT tyres.
I did 10,000kms from Gold coast to the Cape & return with no problems except lots of red dust...Great car. Go for it.
FollowupID: 826187

Reply By: Axle - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 17:33

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 17:33
For a Colorado!, Hock the house and do it ,......Hmmm the DMax off the scene?.

AnswerID: 540349

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 17:55

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 17:55
G'day Axle

Yep Dmax is being sold. It seems the grandchild is going to stay with us now and again and we needed the extra seats.

I suggested she play inside the canopy on the way home, but that went down like a lead balloon. LOL

Yeah, I lean towards the black duck.

FollowupID: 826172

Reply By: Slow one - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 18:28

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 18:28
Boo Boo,
I have a set of these on my current vehicle and my previous one and they have been very good with no problems.

Here is the site and you can get a price instantly to compare with others.

MSA seat covers.
AnswerID: 540355

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 18:33

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 18:33
Boo Boo,

I've had set of Black Duck covers in my Landcruiser ute for over 10 years.

Looking their age now but no rips or tears..........just covered in dog hair. :-)

Cheap buying if they last that long?

AnswerID: 540356

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 18:33

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 18:33
Booboo I have a set of Supafit seat covers after being recommended to me in the grey denim and are very impressed with the fit and finish, they do canvas as well if you prefer
Just ordered online and had them posted to me, might be worth checking them out as a comparison
AnswerID: 540357

Reply By: Member - Peter G20 - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 19:32

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2014 at 19:32
Hi there Boo Boo.
I used to buy seat covers and realised there is no need to if you buy I a couple of cans of 3m Scotch Guard fabric protector.
Over the years I have used the product on 4 new vehicles with outstanding results!
For example my Patrol when I bought it brand new in 1998 on my way home my first stop was at the super market to buy the Shotch Guard.
When home I sprayed every seat and fitting inside the Patrol that was covered in a fabric.
It works so well as we have traveled many trips bush towong the camper with 2 kids sitting in the back. Today my vehicle has covered 353000 ks and people when they ride inside swear the vehicle has just left the showroom!
The fabric has only been sprayed once when new and it's still water proof. Apart from that you can't really tell it's been treated!
Nil stains, nil marks and even the red bull dust doesn't stick!

I first used the product in the 1980's while in the Army as we were issued the dark green winter jumpers and combat smocks for a 2 week fully tactiical exercise in the WA South West in the winter grrrrr
The combat smocks were next to useless for keeping you warm and dry but the jumpers being thick wool were perfect to keep you warm, so I sprayed mine with an entire can of Scotch Guard which water proofed it.
Whilst my colleagues got wet and froze, I remained warm and dry and it worked so well that at the end of the exercise when everybody was filthy I looked like I'd had just arrived!
Not a trace of dirt on my jumper anywhere! So much so our Sgt. Major accused me of being a bludger and couldn't have pulled my weight as I was in pristine condition!!!!M

Pete
AnswerID: 540361

Reply By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2014 at 09:38

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2014 at 09:38
The question is do you want stain resistance, wear resistance, water resistance or comfort.

Black Duck are a great product and are great if your using them in a work vehicle or you do fishing or playing in the mud.

We ended up with custom made lambswool seat covers front and rear, very comfortable, wera very well and has made the vehicle interia a lot more quieter...... These were more important to use then water resistance and ease of cleaning as we don't get the inside very dirt whilst using the vehicle.
AnswerID: 540383

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2014 at 10:48

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2014 at 10:48
Thanks for all the replies Gentlemen,..... you to Axle. lol

I like the idea of lambs wool covers. Had them on one of our cars along time ago and they last well and were very comfortable but, we are now on 10 acres and use the 4b to do things around the block and unfortunately the car seats do get a bit grubby.

Also grand children tend to make mistakes in cars.

So I,m going to order black duck covers in a few minutes.

FollowupID: 826221

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2014 at 10:54

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2014 at 10:54
Forgot to mention that some of the sites recommended don't seem to have seat covers for this years model.
FollowupID: 826222