Windorah-Cooper creek

Submitted: Monday, Nov 10, 2014 at 12:48
ThreadID: 110098 Views:4114 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
Hey guys, Im planning a trip up to Windorah with my miss for a great adventure in January. We will be driving from Sydney, yes It is a long drive but I got some question to ask?

How long does it take to get there from Sydney?

Whats the roads like since im in a sedan?

Is the fishing good up that way?

Is there water there?

Can we catch yabbies there too?

I'm a newbie to this type of adventure and would like to explore more of this great country but first would like professional assistance from users who have been there and can shred some light.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Nov 10, 2014 at 13:15

Monday, Nov 10, 2014 at 13:15
Michael,

It is close to 1700km from Sydney to Windorah via sealed roads.

Fishing is dependent on the amount of water in the Cooper Creek, most months that contain an "R" are good times to get yabbies' as well.

Cheers Kev

Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 541497

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Monday, Nov 10, 2014 at 14:11

Monday, Nov 10, 2014 at 14:11
Hi Michael,
You could do it in 2 long days driving but 3 day makes it easy.Bourke the first day then an easy drive to Charleville then Windorah.
Cheers Andy

Lifetime Member
My Profile  Send Message

AnswerID: 541508

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Nov 10, 2014 at 16:39

Monday, Nov 10, 2014 at 16:39
There should be plenty of camping spots for you out there. It's too hot for most of us in January Wikndorah Climate
PeterD
Retired radio and electronics technician

Lifetime Member
My Profile  Send Message

AnswerID: 541516

Reply By: Steve - Monday, Nov 10, 2014 at 17:24

Monday, Nov 10, 2014 at 17:24