Toyota Troopy Bushcamper Fridge Electrical Problem

Submitted: Friday, Dec 26, 2014 at 13:35
ThreadID: 110521 Views:1733 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
Is there a Bushcamper owner out there who can advise me on an electrical problem?
I'm new to the vehicle, My vehicle has the dual batteries, and provides battery or mains operation of the fridge. However, I'm unable to operate the fridge or striplights on battery power. Is there an isolation switch or fuse that needs resetting? The batteries having recently been replaced.
Many Thanks

98, 75 Series Hitop Bushcamper
Back Expand Un-Read 1 Moderator

Reply By: Gnomey - Friday, Dec 26, 2014 at 17:08

Friday, Dec 26, 2014 at 17:08
G'day Steve
None of the guys with electrical expertise have jumped in yet but as the owner of 2002 (ex hitop) bushcamper here's the best I can offer.

1. Mine has a circuit breaker in the line from the aux battery to the fridge/lights inside. It's on the ridge at the top of the firewall. I'd check for similar and test on both sides for voltage with a multimeter or just a test light will do it at a pinch.

2. On the inside, under where my fridge is mounted, is a cupboard and the door of it opens to floor level. Inside are the electrical connections for 12v and from memory a fuse. Second place I would look. Of course if it is the fuse there is always the question of why it blew.

3. Behind my fridge, and you have to remove the fridge to find this, is the 12v earth which consists of a terminal under a bolt to the body - vaguely recall it also holds down a metal bracket. (Not ideal. Complete earth return would be better.) Twice I have found the bolt loose so the second time I added a lock washer. No earth = no 12v power. Third thing I would look at.