Buying a SWB / MWB Landcruiser

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 09, 2004 at 11:41
ThreadID: 11115 Views:19991 Replies:7 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
Hey all

I'm after a late 80's SWB or Mid WB Landcruiser. I am keen on the Turbo Diesel, but am currently looking at a SWB 2.4l Petrol. I have had Landrovers before but know nothing about Toyota's (I am new to Oz).

Use is basically weekend trips aorund Sydney in the near future, followed by a trip round Oz in 2005. Main concerns are:
- Fuel econ vs Power (I had a Defender 110 with a 4cyl D which was gutless in Sand)
- SWB for round the city for the next yr
- Only 2 of us travelling and we travel light
- Thinking of roof tent

Keen for any suggestions or thoughts around the merits of the Petrol vs Diesel, and the SWB vs Mid

Thanks
John
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: ross - Tuesday, Mar 09, 2004 at 12:57

Tuesday, Mar 09, 2004 at 12:57
John the landcruiser you are looking at is probably a LJ/KZJ70 Bundeera if it has a 2.4 petrol and is known in some countries as a Landcruiser ll or Prado (it was the 1st prado in Japan).Its also possibly a import from Japan and is a litle more difficult for body parts.These are a light duty version mainly welded where as the FJ,BJ 70,73,74 series are more a bolt togetherjob. The bundeera/prado use Hilux diffs,gearbox,motor.They also tend to be bit underpowered and a bit small in the rear even for 2 people.Still if you look back at the competition when released new they were still streets ahead and very capable offroad.