Kidson Track Permits

A permit is being introduced for using the Kidson Track.

The Kidson Track permit system will come into effect on 1st March 2015 with the cost being $50.00. Travellers will be able to exit or enter from the Canning Stock Route as well as from near 80 Mile Beach. The permit covers approximately 315 kms from the 80 Mile Beach end. The last approximately 60 kms to Well 33 on the CSR is under a different Native Title and permits and fees are not required at this stage.

Permits can be obtained online through the Australian National 4Wdrive council – they issue the CSR permits.

While 1 March is only a few days away and nothing seems to be in place – the 1 March 2015 date is the official start up day.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

Back Expand Un-Read 2 Moderator

Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 07:55

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 07:55
Thanks for the information Phil. This should make things a lot easier for people wishing to drive the Kidson/WAPET.

I've copied your advice into a comment on the Kidson Trek notes as well.

AnswerID: 546707

Follow Up By: Phil B (WA) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 17:42

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 17:42
They will offer as part of the permit a 'lengthy' side track that takes in some different country around the old Callawa Station area.

Sorry I don't have any other details at this stage; I'll advise when I know more.

FollowupID: 834509

Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 23:40

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 23:40
Phil,

Hope you don't mind but I thought I would post the link to the Story of Edward Kidson and why the track was named after him.

Remembering our explorers - Edward Kidson (as in the Kidson Track)

Always important to remember these achievements I reckon.

Mick

AnswerID: 546751

Follow Up By: Phil B (WA) - Sunday, Mar 01, 2015 at 00:09

Sunday, Mar 01, 2015 at 00:09
No worries Mick - anything that spreads the historical record has got to be good

ATB

FollowupID: 834537

Reply By: Member - Nutta - Sunday, Mar 01, 2015 at 16:59

Sunday, Mar 01, 2015 at 16:59
Why is there a charge for this track, whats makes it special??
AnswerID: 546784

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Mar 01, 2015 at 17:42

Sunday, Mar 01, 2015 at 17:42
Have a read of this Nutta.

http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/cases/cth/FCA/2009/654.html

Nyangumarta Determination

FollowupID: 834584

Follow Up By: Member - Nutta - Sunday, Mar 01, 2015 at 18:05

Sunday, Mar 01, 2015 at 18:05
Thanks, I won't read the whole lot, I only had to see the native title bit.

So when do we charge the indigenous for driving on our Aussie tax payed roads?

I suppose this makes me racist too?
FollowupID: 834588

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 20:28

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 20:28
Special? Have alook at the map of Australia and tell me this track doesn't beckon you.

I'd looked at it for years, and then finally in 2004 left the bitumen at Marla on the Stuart Hwy and drove to 80 mile beach with my mate Damo, our various sons and other mates.

Arriving at the Indian Ocean after that trip is one of the greatest travel moments I've had.

Sadly, Damo dropped dead at 53 a few years ago. So the trip has a very special place.

If the 50 bucks keeps a few ratbags out I don't mind stumping up.

FollowupID: 834765

Follow Up By: Member - Nutta - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2015 at 18:31

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2015 at 18:31
Your post doesn't justify what the fee is for, why do we have to pay to use it? Because it belongs to the aboriginals?

We'll see what you think when all the outback tracks have a fee or they're shut down to keep all the ratbags out, you and me!
FollowupID: 834817