Gold Panning Ballarat

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 14:25
ThreadID: 111272 Views:1871 Replies:3 FollowUps:8
G'day!

I bought a gold pan a while back and haven't used it yet. I've watched a few gold panning videos on Youtube and that's about the limit of my experience.

Next week we'll be staying with my mother-in-law in Ballarat. The house overlooks a gully with a creek. Way up the top of the hill across the creek is a large, working gold mine.

Now, I don't expect to make my fortune between breakfast and lunch time, if at all, but a speck or two of gold would be nice.

NOTE: I'm thinking of panning in the creek, not confronting the guard at the mine with a sawn off shotgun.

1) Is it worth my while giving it a go?

2) Any tips?

Laurie.

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 14:54

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 14:54
1) Yes

2) Watch those videos, and copy the actions of the demonstrator.

Seriously, it is a bit of fun, and you will most likely find some colour.
You can usually get little glass vials with a plastic lid from places that sell gold panning gear.
These are only small, around 30mm to 40mm long, and 5mm or 6mm dia.
Around Ballarat you should find one or two small prospecting shops or disposal places.

3/4 fill the vial with clean water, when you find your spek(s) in the pan, touch with you finger to get it on thre, place over open vial edge, and swish it into the vial.
After a few hours you should have a little collection you can see.

You should be able to start planning your retirement about 3pm I reckon :D

We used to take the kids paning in the Ovens River at Bright when we'd stay there overnight, going or leaving the snowfields.
Heaps of fun for all ages.

Next, you'll be looking to get a Minelab GPX5000 !!!!
AnswerID: 546729

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 15:00

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 15:00
OK, thanks Les! I'll take the pan and give it a go, without too high expectations.
FollowupID: 834491

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 23:09

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 23:09
G`day,

All what Les said above and to add a bit more.
If you can find a spot in the bottom of the creek on the inside of a small bend, imagine if the water was running that there would be a "backwater"in the flow,that would where any gold that was being washed downstream would fall to the bottom, it may be stuck to the clay bottom or be under/behind a stone/rock. It wont be within the sand or gravel until right on the clay.
If you remove the sand and gravel so that there is only a small layer (about an inch or so) of sand left you can then shovel the top of the clay along with this sand into your pan.
Now, if you have clay in the pan the gold will stay stuck in it so you work it by hand until it is all dissolved into a slurry, after the washing process there may be a speck in the pan.
To pick the speck up, turn the pan so the speck is on the high side out of any water, dry your finger on your trousers, touch it to your tongue, then dab it on the speck then into the vial as Les said.
After you have worn your finger nails away, call Armour Guard but change locations first.

Be careful it`s easy to become addicted.

Good luck,

Scrubby.
FollowupID: 834531

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 15:31

Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 15:31
Thanks Scrubby!

I likely won't worry about Amour Guard though. I'll hide it down my undies and sneak back to Mum's through the trees.
FollowupID: 834655

Reply By: Member - mike g2 - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 18:16

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 18:16
Hi Bega, just check with mine or mines dept or visitor centre on rules for fossicking, property ownership etc... best of luck- we've tried this and got the smallest of specks for 1 hrs work! you can also use a detector. ideally plan to allocate more time to it.
MG
AnswerID: 546742

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 21:11

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 21:11
Yes, people who go gold fossicking make it an all consuming hobby. I think I'm more likely to give it a rather unsuccessful try and give up.
FollowupID: 834523

Reply By: member - mazcan - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 19:22

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 19:22
well if you don't find any gold you could always use it to fry eggs and bacon/sausages
good luck
AnswerID: 546744

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 21:07

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 21:07
Salad bowl maybe. It's plastic.
FollowupID: 834522

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 23:32

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 23:32
Ha ha, yeah mine are plastic too :)
Funny, our little vial, used maybe 4 or 5 years had, I dunno, maybe 4mm to 6mm of specks in the bottom.
Not sure where that is now, maybe in the shed with some of my walking gear.
FollowupID: 834533

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Sunday, Mar 01, 2015 at 22:45

Sunday, Mar 01, 2015 at 22:45
well they used to metal
FollowupID: 834615

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 15:33

Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 15:33
That's Fellas, that's all encouraging.
FollowupID: 834657