Fridge article with pics

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 10, 2004 at 03:53
ThreadID: 11132 Views:1906 Replies:5 FollowUps:1
Hello all,

A while ago, I posted on the forum asking for some ideas about mounting a fridge in a Toyota Tacoma x-cab. Well, I accomplished the task and have been using it on trips for awhile now. It's great! I just finished an article on my website with some pics and info...
[ View Image]
Here is the Toyota that it is mounted in...
[ View Image]

Reply By: Brian - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2004 at 07:48

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2004 at 07:48
BajaTaco
Good site with very informative article on your fridge system mate! Gives you a real sense of achievement when you custom build something doesn't it??
AnswerID: 49737

Reply By: Well 55 - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2004 at 07:49

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2004 at 07:49
Mate thats the neat'est packed fridge I've ever seen.

Well done a great report/article.
AnswerID: 49738

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Mar 10, 2004 at 10:57

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2004 at 10:57
Also congrats, top work there, love the magnet to hold the lid. one thought, how about using some long seat tracks (or similar) to move the fridge sideways and allow it to lock in any position. wouldn't want that great fridge damaged in a prang !! Again, top job, must have taken quite a while, and a lot of stress.. Cheers, Brad. (isuzu trooper driver, aka jackaroo)
AnswerID: 49756

Reply By: BajaTaco - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2004 at 15:30

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2004 at 15:30
Thanks for the replies! Brad, that is an excellent idea. I will give it some consideration. Although, I cannot raise the fridge much more, if at all (the lid will hit the ceiling when opened) - so the rails would have to be extremely low profile. The cam system works pretty well - but I am not crazy about the looks - so I am considering some kind of third track that will have a sliding bracket of sorts - that can be slid and locked into place, and brace up against the side of the fridge to prevent movement.
AnswerID: 49795

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Mar 10, 2004 at 20:17

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2004 at 20:17
i was thinking about the seat tracks from a 'space cab' or 'extra cab' ute like yours, as they have heaps of travel compared to normal seats. Most seat tracks can be removed from the mounting feet so they have a fairly low profile, and they are built to hold 200 pound plus, and withstand shock loads(accidents) with minimal slop. You could probably just use the ratchet side track in the middle of the roller tracks you have now, or at the front. Let me know how you go, yarda_will@yahoo.com.au Cheers, Brad.
FollowupID: 311631

Reply By: BajaTaco - Thursday, Mar 11, 2004 at 01:29

Thursday, Mar 11, 2004 at 01:29
Thanka again Brad - good thinking! I will investigate this.
AnswerID: 49889