The ticking time bomb

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 11:11
ThreadID: 11284 Views:1727 Replies:12 FollowUps:16

I'm very pleased to say, against recommendations such as Truckster (long live the 4.2 lol) that there is a new addition to the family.... a Nissan Patrol 3.0TD. Took delivery last Friday with a few extras including getting the tyres changed to 285*75 BFG muddies but the rest of the goodies (bar, snorkle and lift) will be put on later in the week. Yippee

Leroy

Reply By: Member - Tony G (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 11:33

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 11:33
Hi Leroy,

Glad to here your happy with the purchase.

I pick up my 3.0TD tomorrow.

Long live the 3.0TD (lol)

Tony G
AnswerID: 50517

Reply By: joshinthecity - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 14:38

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 14:38
You'll love it Leroy.

40,000 klm on mine , and going like a Swis watch. After a LOT of off road.
I love it.
Josh.

AnswerID: 50530

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 15:08

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 15:08
Welcolme to the "club". I reckon the Nissan Patrol GU with the 3.0TD series 3 is a great motor now and all the doomsday toothsayers are just jealous ;-)
AnswerID: 50532

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 15:26

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 15:26
jealous of what???????

I am DEFINITELY not looking to swap my "old reliable" 4.2 TD for any 3litre whatsit!!

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 312341

Follow Up By: Roachie - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 16:46

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 16:46
G'day Ed.C.
I too have a 4.2T/D and love it.
But, I freely acknowledge that there are a lot of satisfied 3.0lt owners out there.....You and I will never be among their number, but I don't begrudge them their slush boxes (if that's what they've chosen) and electronic chips (I prefer my chips to be made out of spuds and with heaps of salt on them!!!).
Horses for courses and I wish the new owners every happiness......at least they didn't buy a ...................................(fill in whatever you like in that spot!!!)
FollowupID: 312346

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 16:49

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 16:49
Glad you are happy with your 4.2, same as I am with my 3.0TD. I drove both, plus cruisers, and made my decision. And I am very happy with my decision (and an ex-cruiser owner now).

Check out just how many happy 3.0TD owners have already responded to this thread. Funny how other vehicle types just don't seem to get their owners pasionate about them. Must be something about us "crazy" 3.0TD owners.

FollowupID: 312347

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 16:58

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 16:58
I just didn't think it was worth spending the extra $7500 which pays for lots of accessories!

Leroy
FollowupID: 312349

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 01:27

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 01:27
G'day all,
just to make my intentions clear...
My initial (follow-up) post was intended as a "TIC" response to the (yeah, I know, "TIC") suggestion that we "non 3.0TD owners" are jealous...
Just lettin' y'all know that I ain't jealous, OK??

I have never "bagged" anyone elses' choice of vehicle, and if you 3.0TD owners are happy with your purchase(s), then I'm happy that you're happy (that make sense??), and I sincerely hope it continues to be so...

As for the $7500 price difference between 4.2 & 3.0TD, there's no way in the wide world that anybody will convince me that a whizz-bang computerised high-tech gizmo costs less to produce than the "old tech" 4.2.. In fact, the tooling for this engine (4.2) should have paid for itself many times over, + I'm not aware of any 4.2 engines having been replaced under warranty....
Nissans' marketing strategy is obviously to "push" the 3.0TD at the expense of the 4.2... My guess is that they want to retire "old faithful" (undoubtedly due to upcoming emission regulations), and when the time inevitably comes, their excuse will be "We aren't selling enough 4.2's for them to remain viable"...
In their shoes, I'd be doing the opposite.. Get as many 4.2's as possible out there while the reg's allow it, fewer warranty problems "down the track" IMO....

As an aside... Leroy, if the price difference (between 3L & 4.2) had been negligible, might your choice have been different??
(Not being a smart-a$$, just interested to know)...

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 312411

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 10:53

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 10:53
Ed.

I drove both and there wasn't anything in it really. I prob would of gone the 4.2 if there was nothing in the price. If i felt the probs with the 3.0 hadn't been sorted out then I would of looked at a 2nd hand 4.2. A number of friends have bought the 3.0 and put them through their paces and I have been very pleased with what i saw hence my decision.

Leroy
FollowupID: 312437

Reply By: Member -ace ( SA ) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 15:34

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 15:34
GO LEROY, WELL DONE,another happy nissan customer.
AnswerID: 50535

Reply By: Matt14 - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 16:10

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 16:10
Leroy

Well done. Ive got one with 70K on the clock (25K of which is offroad) and no problems. The only fault is that every where i go i get swamped by other 3.0TD owners wanting to swap stories of what a great vehicle they are.
AnswerID: 50539

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 16:34

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 16:34
Well that's exactly what's happening here!

Leroy
FollowupID: 312345

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 17:03

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 17:03
Gee no one has bitten yet except us HAPPY owners
FollowupID: 312350

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 20:29

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 20:29
hey bob its a nissan does it matter whether its driven by a rubber band or a 9l its a nissan!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 312376

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 11:00

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 11:00
Bob, I was flicking out my best fly as well!!

Leroy
FollowupID: 312438

Reply By: Member - Andrew (Bris) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 17:01

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 17:01
CONGRATULATIONS

I'm another 3.0TD owner, but not entirely happy. I have had a few problems, but so far they've all been fixed under warranty by Nissan. At least they haven't left me stranded in the middle of nowhere.

Just for the record, my vehicle is 15 months old with 63000k on the clock.
So far I've had - oil leak from transfer case, broken radio (took four weeks to replace), EGR valve gone bingo (needed to be towed from the centre of Brisbane in peak hour) and last week an oil leak from the turbo.

I look at it this way - at least I know that all these parts are now functioning perfectly.

Sorry to put a dampener on your thread, but beware of what can happen.
AnswerID: 50546

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 11:06

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 11:06
Andrew,

I bought a new VT Commodore years ago and had nine months of problems. After all the probs it has been a relatively good reliable car 5 years down the track and 140k kms. Just cause you buy new doesn't mean you have no probs! Things can go wrong and I bought a new Patrol so I have the full 3yrs warranty and I can extend for another 2 if need be or buy that time it might be time for a trade and they hold their valuse quite well.

Leroy
FollowupID: 312440

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 17:36

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 17:36
And just for the record I would assume that having two less cylinders in your motor wouldn't have stopped your radio from working... ;-)
AnswerID: 50550

Reply By: Billy - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 17:49

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 17:49
Well, how could I not possibly join in this group hug...ahhh.

Likewise a happy camper with the 3.0Di.

It's a curious quirk of human nature how some on this list just can't help having a dig at us suppose'd "technophiles" while singing the praises of thier own, undoubtedly good vehicles. We can be proud of our 3.0Di's without bagging what others are driving.

I've had a niggle with the fuel lift pump (replaced under warranty) but otherwise trouble free. I've never owned a completely trouble free vehicle, and suspect most others have not either, regardless of what is posted.
AnswerID: 50552

Reply By: rolande- Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 18:16

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 18:16
Lots of proud 4X4 owners too scared to admit their vehicles have problems, at least 3.0TD owners own up to problems and help each other out. If poor build quality was a large selling factor Land Rover / Range Rover would not have sold a vehicle between 1974 and 1996 or thereabouts when Ford took over.
Rolande
AnswerID: 50557

Follow Up By: Member - Alan- Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 18:45

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 18:45
And Ford haven't managed to improve things much as yet. Not on Defenders anyway.
But I still like mine and so does the cook!
FollowupID: 312364

Follow Up By: rolande- Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 19:17

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 19:17
Alan,
May not seem like it on the outside, but I think you would find the number of warranty claims per thousand vehicles, which Ford use as a measure of build quality, would be much lower than prior to Ford taking over
Rolande
FollowupID: 312366

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 20:54

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 20:54
If Land Rover are hoping Ford will improve quality control, there really dreaming !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOOK bottom left of post see I know.

Baz !
FollowupID: 312380

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 20:49

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 20:49
in a couple of yrs you'd' wished you'd got a landcruiser hehehe
ps no offence meant Leroy...i'm sure you'll enjoy it
AnswerID: 50584

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 22:55

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2004 at 22:55
Congratulations Leroy..... and it doesn't really matter what others may think, it's your truck and if you're happy with it..... that's all that matters!!!
AnswerID: 50619

Reply By: Member - StevenL - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 00:02

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 00:02
I'm still waiting to see Truckster's "Pearls of Wisdom" reply to this thread!

If I understand the history correctly, if you buy a NEW 3.0ltr then you'll be a happy camper as there have been some substantial upgrades. If you buy one that is around 2 years old then you may as well call the bomb squad as may be ticking down to disaster! Go for the extended warranty!!!!

I am not actually having a dig here. I considered this model against the Prado but settled for the Prado on size considerations. Patrol was a bit too big for me.

StevenL

AnswerID: 50634

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 11:16

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 11:16
It's a tongue in cheek ticking bomb thread. As you pointed out there have been substantial upgrades. The Patrol is a bit big but I was after that solid front axle also.
My neighbor just bought a Prado earlier in the week and picks his up on friday. You shouldn't have to wait so long!

Leroy
FollowupID: 312441

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 14:35

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2004 at 14:35
Thanks Leroy

Maybe I was having a dig after all!

I am waiting a while for my Prado as I wanted a particular model. The colour/engine/tranny combo I wanted was not in stock anywhere so it is coming as a factory order. Many people just walk in to a dealer and see what is in stock and say"I'll have that one thanks". My dealer said that if any of his stock was suitable then I could be driving it inside a week but they all seem to have only Silver Petrol Autos in stock.

I am sure it will be worth the wait.

StevenL
FollowupID: 312474