who needs a snorkel !!!

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 18, 2004 at 11:54
ThreadID: 11353 Views:2187 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Just thought you all may like to see what the creek at my place looks like at the moment, this is the start of the Marybrynong river, the pic is in the creekbed about 100 meters up from the normal crossing. The normal water level is about 3 feet above the roof of the work ute, the last flood left a lot of debris in the trees ( circled in red ) this is about 14 feet above the creekbed. So who needs a snorkel when you have a drought ! ( in Vic anyway ). Any beginners want to practice creek crossings.............

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 18, 2004 at 12:09

Thursday, Mar 18, 2004 at 12:09
Hiya Brad

it's dry as a chip [as my dad would say] got a bloke here building a shed, when he got the holes dug for the foundations he said he's never seen it so dry...absolutely no moisture at all...the creek up the back is dry...where abouts is the pic....and is it Deep Creek?

Lyn
AnswerID: 50836

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Mar 18, 2004 at 12:55

Thursday, Mar 18, 2004 at 12:55
Well hello there Lyn, yep she sure is dry, at least we've got a nice drinking quality bore yeilding about 200 gallon an hour, so no worries for the house and garden and stock... The picture is just east of the old school, just downstream of where deep creek joins in. the creek starts just north of where you cross over it on the romsey / wallan road ( near the darraweit turn ) .. at least deep creek to the west has some very nice spring holes ( good swimming ) not far from the town. Our spring up the paddock is well and truly bone dry. I had to dig a trench for some electric fence cable the other week, i'm still hurting !! very slow going with the big crowbar :-(

Not sure of my movements around the coming get together, gota go to sa next week ( might have to re-stock on the gruppa while there :-)) ) but i shall keep my eye on the forum when i can, and might see you there. Cheers Brad..
FollowupID: 312599

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 18, 2004 at 15:06

Thursday, Mar 18, 2004 at 15:06
Hiya Brad...

haven't been along the Wallan Rd for a while..but may go and check out some of the creeks....just crossed a few out Riddell way and no water at all...I've told Al we should think about sinking a bore, the golf club just have...and for sure we'd get some down the back..the creek is dry but the grass is green so there's water somewhere... :))) I bet it was slow going with a crowbar, it looked slow going here with that drill digger thing they use [that's the technical term :))]

Hope to catch up soon..

Lyn
FollowupID: 312624

Reply By: flashnick - Thursday, Mar 18, 2004 at 23:42

Thursday, Mar 18, 2004 at 23:42
I have (non digital) photos and video of Springvale Homestead just past Katherine on the Katherine River (NT) .

A Screwdriver some of the staff hammered into a tree branch 45 feet above the ground, 50 m from the river bank 15 years ago - pales into insignificance alongside the tree trunks sitting a bit higher from the last BIG flood a few years ago. Totally eclipsed the previous record.

What one has to comprehend is that the river bed is about 80 - 90 feet below this screwdriver however the fact that you are on a broad plain and not in a valley - just makes you shake your head- thats a lot of water.

By the way they claim that they had 4,200 mm of rain over 96 hours for that flood.

Im sure somebody on the forum will have photos of the trees left stuck on the trees.
If anybody knows Werner - from Travel North - he would be able to give exact details - as Im sure its a real attraction there now.

Flashnick
AnswerID: 50997

Follow Up By: Diesel 1 - Friday, Mar 19, 2004 at 08:56

Friday, Mar 19, 2004 at 08:56
G'day Flashnick,

....4,200 mm of rain over 96 hours....????

Try 420 mm - 4,200 is more than two and a half times the entire average wet season rainfall up here.

The met bureau put the figure for the 98 Katherine floods at between 400 to 500 mm over a 3 day period - whoever gave you the figure of 4,200 had obviously forgotten to empty the rain guage for a few years or it sits low enough for a dog to take advantage of.

Diesel 1
FollowupID: 312782

Reply By: Topend - Friday, Mar 19, 2004 at 08:31

Friday, Mar 19, 2004 at 08:31
I lived in Katherine during the flood. To put it in perspective, enough water flowed through Katherine to fill Sydney Harbour in 9 hours and Manton Dam (70km south of Darwin) in 15 minutes. Impressive.

I swore I would be elsewhere at the first sign of another flood. The cleanup was discusting and it's not something I want to go through again.

Topend
AnswerID: 51021

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Mar 19, 2004 at 10:31

Friday, Mar 19, 2004 at 10:31
yeah i thought i might get some northeners rubbing it in !! my sister is in Toowoomba and telling me it is pelting down again at the moment. Gota love the 'tropical' downpours up north, i can't remember the last time i heard heavy pelting rain down here, at least my house gutters won't rust . :-)
AnswerID: 51035