Cape York 28June-28July2004?

Submitted: Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 19:15
ThreadID: 11465 Views:1956 Replies:7 FollowUps:6

I will be doing a trip to Cape York from 28 June to 28 July and was wondering if anyone would like to join us on the trip as company. I have LC100 4.2 Diesel, recovery gear and sattelite phone.

Tom

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 19:57

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 19:57
Hi Tom

Not looking good at the mo. Do you have the luxury of postponing for a while if necessary. I was talking to a mate this afternoon who has spent years up in that neck of the woods.

We were planning on July/August but may have to rethink departure dates.

All depends on this "late" wet and of course depends on where you were intending to travel.

Just a thought ... unless you like mud.

AnswerID: 51455

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 20:33

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 20:33
Rosco I was talking to peter this arfternoon and the cape has had plenty of rain. He is saying that its a similar season to 96 witch was a ripper.
We start one trip on the 28th june for 18 days and another sarting on the 26th july they should be fun .

FollowupID: 313182

Follow Up By: Midge - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 22:39

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 22:39
We will also be doing a similar trip leaving Cairns 5th June , already travelling with 4 vehicles I reckon we will meet up with some of you on the track somewhere.
FollowupID: 313608

Reply By: Aussieducker - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:59

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:59
Hi Tom, i'm also planning to go around those dates also, hopefully things will have dried out a little.
I'll be up in Cairns from the 27th of June.
Where r u starting from?
AnswerID: 51490

Follow Up By: JohnZA - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 19:54

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 19:54
Aussieducker:Thank you for your reply. I'm from melbourne and leaving on the 26th of June and arriving in Cairns around the 29th. I'm travelling with my wife and 12 year old son. My trip will probably go this way from Cairns but am open to other suggestions (everything is dependant on the weather and condition of tracks):

Cairns
Mossman
Daintree
Wujai Wujai
Cooktown
Laura
Coen
Weipa
Bamaga
The Top.

At this point the some of the above stops will be approx 2-3 day stays in a tent.

Tom

ps. you may have noticed that the logon name i'm using on this is JohnZA, he is a friend of mine that is letting me use it.

FollowupID: 313570

Reply By: Seto - Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 22:19

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 22:19
I will also be doing a trip to the Cape leaving Cairns 16 June with a group of 6 vehicles. Have heard it may be damper than average. May catch you on the road - also in a LC105 4.2.

AnswerID: 51679

Reply By: boggedathome - Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 23:37

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 23:37
Hi Tom,

We are in the final stages of planning our trip and our dates are fairly close, so we might be interested.

Whereabouts are you travelling from & more importantly, when will you be leaving Cairns?

Be warned we are travelling with three kids under the age of eleven!!

Cheers for now....
AnswerID: 51700

Follow Up By: mark - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 00:32

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 00:32
Hey Tom,
I am leaving Bisbane 19th June. i have 2 kids under 9. Want to join up andform a new kindergarten.
i thought i was the only madman to take 2 kids away in acar for 5 weeks.
FollowupID: 313453

Follow Up By: JohnZA - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 19:48

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 19:48
boggedathome.-->

Thank you for your reply. I'm from melbourne and leaving on the 26th of June and arriving in Cairns around the 29th. I'm travelling with my wife and 12 year old son. My trip will probably go this way from Cairns but am open to other suggestions (everything is dependant on the weather and condition of tracks):

Cairns
Mossman
Daintree
Wujai Wujai
Cooktown
Laura
Coen
Weipa
Bamaga
The Top.

At this point the some of the above stops will be approx 2-3 day stays in a tent.

Tom

ps. you may have noticed that the logon name i'm using on this is JohnZA, he is a friend of mine that is letting me use it.
FollowupID: 313569

Reply By: JohnZA - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 19:50

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 19:50
Mark -->

The above reply is for you as well but I can only go from the 26th of June from Melbourne as that is when the school holidays start.
AnswerID: 51829

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 23:11

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2004 at 23:11
Eric from Cape York Connections and Seto - Seto I see you are in a convoy of 6 and I'm assuming that Eric also has larger groups as well - I will be leaving Canberra with 7 vehicles (me plus 6) 3xGU Patrols, 2xdiscos, 1xPrado, and 1xRodeo (all diesels). We will have 3 with offroad trailers and the rest will be tenting it. One of my concerns is the size of bush campsites along the way - are we likely to strike much trouble if we travel early and stop early - setting up camp at say 1500 or thereabouts? We depart Canberra 25 July with the intention of travelling via Bourke, Longreach, Hughenden, The Lynd, Chillagoe (cross country from the Lava Tubes), Wrotham Park, Coen, The Tip (up and back on the OTL- the corrugations of the bypass roads in 2001 got the better of me and I've decided to take the slow but scienic route both ways), Weipa (via Batavia Downs), Cooktown (via Lakefield) and then to Mossman (via Trib or the CREB). What's your view on the camping dilemma?
Pete
AnswerID: 51868

Reply By: boggedathome - Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 12:41

Thursday, Mar 25, 2004 at 12:41
Tom,

Have done a bit more planning and we intend to leave Cairns on Thursday 1 July, after travelling through from Darwin.

If there is some way you could get me you email address I could send you our itinerary and see if we can work something out.

AnswerID: 51909

Follow Up By: JohnZA - Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 19:06

Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 19:06
boggedathome:

Yes, I'm very interested. I'll be in Cairns around the 30th of June. Below is my wifes email (work) :

renata.kostecki@mh.org.au

If possible, send all future correspondance to the above email.

FollowupID: 314255